We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great natural attraction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Falls Park

Great Falls Park
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 800 acre park located just off the Potomac river.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great natural attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

we visited the Virginia side.the view from overlook 1 was somehow difficult as the rocks are not perfectly arranged.we visited there twice,the first day it was rainy..so we couldn't enjoy properly.and found that place really dangerous in a rainy day as the rocks were so slippery.but the next day,we visited,it was sunny and the place was just glowing..it was just more than awesome..the green mountain,white falls and fully sunny blue sky made my day the great one.Enjoyed a lot!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sadia_roti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    242
    32
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a wonderful gem just outside DC. The river is spectacular and you can choose between walking a little or a lot. Great Falls Park is a very pleasant diversion from the hectic pace of the city!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigold252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great falls
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This park is wonderful for family visits, hiking, running, bird watching and wildlife watching. The park rangers are always helpful. The falls are beautiful to see and photograph. The trails are well kept and you can hike for miles in either direction from the main park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lstimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Get outside DC and enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a park that's a bit outside DC but it is fascinating because it offers a bit of nature to counter balance all the amazing architecture that DC is famous for. Trust me, it's worth the challenge of getting there. If you go, take a picnic and comfortable shoes. Last time I did a hike here it was on a day trip I organized with colleagues. It was on a weekday and so relaxing! Weekends are more busy so keep that in mind.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank trinigirlmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
318 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Visit the Maryland side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited the Maryland side and had a great view of the falls, and saw several kayakers navigate the rapids. By visiting the Maryland side, we were able to walk along side the C&O (Chesapeake and Ohio) Canal. You are able to view locks 18 and 19. There is a small snack bar near the parking lot. The day we arrived, they were not collecting fees.

Be sure to watch out for geese droppings!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Falls Park also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Great Falls Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing