We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If these tables could talk”

Mclean Family Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 139 Restaurants in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
265 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If these tables could talk”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This is great local family restaurant/diner. I have had many good breakfasts and lunches here. Always consistent and good. The service staff works hard and do a great job. They recognize and get to know you. You never know who you will see here. With its proximity to the Washington DC power base and info base...if these tables could talk.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scissorkickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We go here every Sunday”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My elderly mom and I go to this restaurant for brunch every Sunday. She is in LOVE with their cheese blintzes. My order varies, but it is always plentiful and well-prepared. I have to disagree with an earlier reviewer who felt the food was not good. We have never had a bad meal.

This place is a marvel. You get there and there's a line out the door, and you're tempted to forget it. But they move people through so efficiently...but you never feel rushed. We are always greeted warmly, and they will give mom a seat if the line is too long, as she cannot stand for a long time.

It's diner food, served just as you would expect. Definitely a neighborhood place--we see the same folks we know every week. We love it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lectrongrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“busy restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Went for breakfast on a Saturday. Accommodated 11 of us quickly. Fast service, old-fashioned serving dishes (like a plate under your bowl), good food, reasonable prices. Great selection for breakfast.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank shnicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Food is good with good portions. American food with good traditional Greek offerings. Service was very good and efficient. Brought us the bill and take home containers at same time without having to ask for either and we were not rushed out. At least one person constantly watching over operations. a busy place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Want a good family restaurant”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Not at all fancy, but the food and prices are great. You can expect to feel like you are in a family dining room where every one knows every one. If you have kids you can expect to have someone tell you they are cute. For this you get great food and friendly exceptional service.. I had liver and onions (which I seldom order in a restaurant) and the meal was tremendous. The liver was not over cooked and there was plenty of it. The waitress suggested that I try the pecan pie for desert so I did. It was home made like mom used to make. I would go here again if I am in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sebjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mclean Family Restaurant also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Mclean Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing