We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good neighborhood tavern”
Review of Lost Dog Cafe

Lost Dog Cafe
Ranked #29 of 140 Restaurants in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: The Lost Dog Café has been serving up great pizza, hot sandwiches and beer from around the world in Arlington's Westover neighborhood since 1985. Well known as a place to get great food at a great price, the café also serves up a hefty slice of compassion with each pizza. Café owners Ross Underwood and Pam McAlwee have been rescuing stray dogs and cats almost as long as they have been in business and the effort continues. Since 2001, Lost Dog and Cat Rescue Foundation has saved the lives of over 18,000 dogs and cats, helping them connect with loving families and forever homes. In May 2009, long time employees of the original Westover location, Jim and Mike Barnes, Wes Clough and Michael Danner opened additional locations South Arlington, Virginia in May 2009, Mclean, Virginia in January 2011 and Dunn Loring, Virginia in the summer of 2012. The latest addition to the Lost Dog Café franchise family is Alexandria, Virginia (opened in December 2015), owned and operated by franchise owner Pam McAlwee's cousin Matt Sisk, also a past employee at the original Westover location.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have been a few times, with and without our children. The selection of beers is outstanding and the food pretty good. Our kids love their pizzas. The service is always quick and friendly. Nice to have something a little off the beaten path.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neslunja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Lost Dog Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 88 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

Lunched here today for the third time. Pizzas are delicious combinations, generously topped. The corn chowder and chili are excellent. The dog murals and decor are fun and there is a wide selection of beers.

Thank kswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

What it is: a neighborhood tavern. Really.

Where: Next to Safeway in a small strip mall. Hard to find, but very worthwhile.

What we ate: Barbecue sandwich and Ham & Cheese sandwich, "dog collars" (onion rings) and Italian Fries, NOTHING ON THE MENU IS FRIED. Sandwiches are BIG (and difficult to eat.) We saw some of the specialty pizzas at neighboring tables and they looked very yummy. The sandwich menu is very extensive and some of the selections sound like we should go back and try them soon! The salads also sound fabulous. We stuck with hot food because it was very cold outside the day we visited.

When: Saturday, lunch. The place filled up very quickly; we were the second party in when they opened.

Why you should go: Amazing beer selections and hard cider and root beer on tap. Nice menu. Good prices. Fabulous music: Janis Joplin and Little Feat while we were eating...how cool is that?!

They have a separate room that can be used for larger groups/parties.

15% of the proceeds go to animal rescue organizations (see their website www.lostdogcafe.com).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LovesHippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We lived in Italy for 5.5 years and this is the best local pizza that compares with our Italian experience. The beer list is enormous and represents an international offering as well as local craft beers.

Thank DickM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Great place for sandwiches and beer. I don't drink, so that part is not very inticing to me, but the sandwiches are excellent. Pizza is ok, had better. My kids keep requesting burgers and fries, not an option, but maybe if we request enough, it will be someday :)
Would recommend for lunch, and a quick bite to eat. Great service, great atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank budapest64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lost Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing