We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, savory dishes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assaggi Osteria

Assaggi Osteria
Ranked #16 of 137 Restaurants in McLean
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Holmes Place
Transit: Bus line 23A or C (direction Langley) from Ballston Metro on the Orange line.
Description: Domenico Cornacchia, chef/proprietor of Assaggi Osteria, taps into ages of ancestral Italian cooking each time he steps into his kitchen and brings a rich love of the cuisine that he so skillfully nurtured through the years. “Assaggi means tastings in Italian,” explains Domenico, “The concept of my menu is based on a variety of items that may be ordered in smaller portions.” Before deciding to pursue his dream of operating his own restaurant, Domenico was corporate executive chef and partner at Café Milano, for more than 15 years. His culinary umbrella also covered Café Milano’s two sister restaurants, Sette Bello in Clarendon, VA., and Sette Osteria in Dupont Circle.  For those who love Italian cuisine, Assaggi Osteria features homemade pasta’s, fresh seafood, veal and scrumptious beef. Assaggi Osteria sources whole fresh fish from worldwide sustainable sources,offering the finest bounty the sea has to offer. Produce is purchased from Amish farms and all desserts are homemade.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, savory dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I visited Assaggi Osteria for a wine dinner event. The pace of the event was surprisingly frenetic and a bit disorganized, but the dishes were savory and filling . I'd like to visit again and see what's on the menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    41
    21
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah Valley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We just had a our fourth visit to this restaurant. It was a fabulous experience. The menu is as good as any you would find in Italy and the quality of food and service is excellent. We had the $34 "Prix-Fixe Special" and found it to be amazing value. All of our fish dishes were delicious and the steak dish also.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nicest upscale restaurant in McLean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely atmosphere, very knowledgable staff, great and varied menu. We have dined there regularly (including Christmas Eve and other special occasions) and are partial to the fish and salads, but honestly cannot recall an unsatisfactory experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Upscale, creative Italian has become a regular for us! A pause at the small bar a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great favors, responsive kitchen, elegant atmosphere! From greeting to cuisine, a nice experience! A pause at the small bar a must!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank scotelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Each time I go to Assaggi Osteria I like it more than the last time! Tasty food, nice atmosphere and attentive staff. The only reason I do not give it five stars is due to a reservation mixup. Despite the problem, the management did everything in their power to make it up to us. A great little local find!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggi Osteria also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Assaggi Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing