We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian experience”
Review of Assaggi Osteria

Assaggi Osteria
Reserve with OpenTable
Assaggi Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 140 Restaurants in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Holmes Place
Transit: Bus line 23A or C (direction Langley) from Ballston Metro on the Orange line.
Description: Domenico Cornacchia, chef/proprietor of Assaggi Osteria, taps into ages of ancestral Italian cooking each time he steps into his kitchen and brings a rich love of the cuisine that he so skillfully nurtured through the years. “Assaggi means tastings in Italian,” explains Domenico, “The concept of my menu is based on a variety of items that may be ordered in smaller portions.” Before deciding to pursue his dream of operating his own restaurant, Domenico was corporate executive chef and partner at Café Milano, for more than 15 years. His culinary umbrella also covered Café Milano’s two sister restaurants, Sette Bello in Clarendon, VA., and Sette Osteria in Dupont Circle.  For those who love Italian cuisine, Assaggi Osteria features homemade pasta’s, fresh seafood, veal and scrumptious beef. Assaggi Osteria sources whole fresh fish from worldwide sustainable sources,offering the finest bounty the sea has to offer. Produce is purchased from Amish farms and all desserts are homemade.
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you haven't tried Assaggi in a while, you will be pleasantly surprised by the focus on genuine, creative dishes. the wine list has some real gems as well

Buon appetito

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miniamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    41
    21
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still good but something was missing”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Descided to stop in and enjoy a dinner Sunday night at Assaggi Osteria. We did not have reservations so, when asked, we said no. He then decided to sit us at the first table for two right near the door. My husband asked to have a different place and was rebuffed in our request despite a not crowded restaurant. So, we were seated at a table for two and were crowded from the get go. Not a big issue because the wait staff were very prompt at clearing. We ordered a great chianti from Italy and shared a mussles appetizer. Both were excellent. So, things are looking great. Then our main courses came - duck and a lobster with spaghetti. The only complaint was the chicken lobster had been overcooked. Since it was not expected to be big anyway, it was not a big issue. But we tried to tell the maitre - d it had been overcooked and all he did was proceed to "help" me get it out of the shell. I had already done one side but, he insisted and got the other one pulled out. But, because it had been overcooked, the lobster did not come out, it disintegrated. And he put mostly gill on my plate. A little frustrating despite his good intentions. Next we ordered the housemade ice cream. I expected it to be very rich and "pop" with flavor. Only the chocolate did that - it was very rich. The butter pecan did not pop and neither did the vanilla. Though good; they did not have intense vanilla flavor or butter pecan. So, it was a mixed bag for this trip. Maybe next time things will go better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita of the River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Meh...”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lovely ambiance, hostess did not speak a word to us when we entered. Kale salad meh ( I make these at home and they are much better!), bean soup too Tarragonny (is that a word?), pea and prosciutto gnocchi gummy, bronzino pretty bland. Pumpkin creme brulee out of this world!!

We were in Italy this summer eating AMAZING food but I will have to keep looking for good Italian close to home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcknightma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Food - Like Homemade”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Atmosphere - white table cloths, but not too fancy. Food - amazingly fresh and authentic. Felt like it was made to order. Service - They made you feel at home. This place is 15 miles from home and I know we'll go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Make Your Special Occasion Memorable”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This Italian restaurant in "downtown" McLean, Virginia is a gem of a restaurant that is top of our list when we are celebrating anniversaries and birthdays. The food is excellent and the service impeccable. I especially enjoyed the veal stuffed homemade ravioli and the desserts are worth the calories!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Len J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggi Osteria also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
McLean, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Assaggi Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing