We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place.”
Review of Rustic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rustic Inn
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Dumpy, no internet, bait and switch room rates. Not recommended. Almost any place in Moab is going to be better.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Notlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab_Rustic_Inn, Manager at Rustic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2008

We purchased this property in mid June 2007 as you can see it was very neglected. We closed the doors and stripped the rooms down to the cement. It has taken nearly 7 months to remodel however as you can see it was well worth the investment. If any of you have had a negative experience with the Moab rustic inn. Please contact me and I am certain you won't be disappointed. Office@moabrusticinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Rustic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2005

I have stayed here twice. The owners are nice and friendly. It is in walking distance of the main street. But something about it was depressing. Maybe it was the moldy grout in the shower, or the 1960's ambience, or the stained dark carpet.

I won't tell you not to stay here. But I won't go back to it myself. There are newer motels in town, and I think this one is one of those dying breed of independent motels that hasn't kept up with the times.

If everything else in town is too expensive or full, and you just need a clean bed to sleep in, then this place is good for you.

There is no wireless Internet service, but I picked up a hotspot on the curb that apparently was coming from a printing business across the street.

4  Thank kerchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2005

Don't be fooled by the Rustic Inn's web site with the soothing music and the chirping birds...this is easily the worst place I've ever stayed.
We knew it was trouble when we pulled in and saw the dilapidated Rustic Inn sign and the retro design. Older motels can be fine if they have been properly maintained and cleaned over the years, but this one hadn't.
When we walked in the office to check in, we were greeted at the desk and told to hang on for a minute while the clerk and a co-worker (wife?) finished their conversation that was peppered with profanity. He was friendly with us, but the first impression was not professional.
When we got to our "deluxe" room (deluxe includes fridge and microwave), we were greeted with a musty stank and an unclean feeling. The furniture was outdated and appeared to be a collection of pieces discarded from a college dormitory. The microwave was operational but dirty. The ancient fridge did not stay very cold and the freezer was frosted over.
The baby blue carpet was tracked brown and had a lot of spot stains. I did not feel comfortable letting my bare feet touch it.
The vanity was ok until I looked closely and saw the scum build-up on the faucet and sink bowl, which told me that neither had been cleaned or even wiped down for days or possibly weeks.
In the bathroom, I was welcomed by a plush layer of short, dark, curly hairs on the floor. I have no proof that the toilet had not been cleaned, but on the positive side, it had at least been flushed. The shower had the requisite layer of scum and a garnishing of mildew. The industrial shower curtain was dirty and had some fresh looking muddy handprints.
There were two beds. I think the sheets were clean. The comforter was about as dirty as my dog’s blanky gets before it’s monthly washing. While moving it to the floor in order to store it as far away from the bed that I could, I noticed a large, disturbing stain on the underside of it. I keep telling myself it was chocolate pudding.
There was a pool, but I didn’t use it and I didn’t see anyone else in it.
The house cleaning staff twice tried to barge into my room, starting at 8:15 AM, despite the do not disturb sign. That may have had something to do with the sign, which was built into the door lock, being permanently stuck on “do not disturb”. Both times, I asked them to stay away until after I checked out.
The two or three times I went to the office for something in the morning, I had to wait for the young clerk to stop chain smoking outside the door and come help me.
I chose this place based on the price, AAA approval, and the web site that made it look decent. When staying there, I kept thinking to myself that I need to warn others about this place. If I’m in Moab again, I’ll definitely spend the extra $20 a night and stay somewhere I can trust.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank HikeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab_Rustic_Inn, Manager at Rustic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2008

We purchased this property in mid June 2007 as you can see it was very neglected. We closed the doors and stripped the rooms down to the cement. It has taken nearly 7 months to remodel however as you can see it was well worth the investment. If any of you have had a negative experience with the Moab rustic inn. Please contact me and I am certain you won't be disappointed. Office@moabrusticinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: silencioso
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vascomcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Manager at Rustic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Manager at Rustic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank verob50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Manager at Rustic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Manager at Rustic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
838 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#27 of 35 in Moab
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Inn

Address: 120 E 100 S, Moab, UT 84532-2642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $90 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rustic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rustic Inn is one block east of downtown Moab but walking distance to the most popular bars, restaurants and shopping. The rooms are quiet and large with a few family units. A heated pool, with picnic cabana is available. Coffee pots, microwaves, and refrigerators in every room. The Inn is adjacent to the Mill Creek Parkway for shaded walking with or without your pet. Pet rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rustic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Hotel Moab
Rustic Motel Moab
Rustic Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing