We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, partially functioning, unaesthetic, clean, cheap(er), good location”
Review of Rustic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rustic Inn
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Old, partially functioning, unaesthetic, clean, cheap(er), good location”
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Our family of three stayed here in the one-bedroom apartment. My overall perception of the Rustic Inn is that it may be a good value for some wishing to find a cheap, clean place to sleep. The staff was friendly. However, we won't book this hotel again.

The old room was clean, but the aesthetics were missing. For example, the screen on the window left giant gaps that bugs came in. None of the doors (inside or out) could be closed without pushing hard. The toilet seat slipped, and there was no operating fan in the bathroom (there was a fan - we could unfortunately see it by a bare light bulb). The tv was placed on top of the full size refrigerator. The sofa bed was the least cushioned I've ever seen (our daughter had to sleep on top of pillows so the bed wouldn't hurt her back). Paint was sloppily sprayed partially across the entry door on the inside. And, it felt quite dark (only the front door and the poorly screened window in one bedroom could be opened). My wife commented that "this is like camping - only with an oven" (later she mentioned something about camping next time instead).

In terms of noise, every flush in the rooms above us went down through pipes immediately behind the headboard of our bed (i.e. it wasn't quiet so we didn't sleep well). Frankly the "apartment" felt like an extra area that was converted into rental space - except without adequate utinsels (three motley spoons?).

The pool was still quite cold (even in mid May) and clearly not heated. However, it was nice to have it to ourselves. The area around the pool was a bit like our room - some places there was only a foot or two space between the pool and the fence to get by, with a wall/building cobbled together as the back wall. One of the two lights in the pool was burned out. However, the pool was quite clean. The location of the Rustic Inn is excellent for walking to downtown. And, as mentioned, the staff is quite friendly.

If you're looking for old, partially functioning, clean, and cheap, this might be an ok choice. But based on the overall value and functionality, it's our opinion that there are better places to stay in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live4VacationTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    249
    75
    27
    11
See reviews for
116
221
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We chose to stay here mostly because of price as we just needed beds/bathrooms to sleep at night. However, after we arrived, we found out that the rooms are very large, got a fridge and microwave, with a counter too. Its also got Wi-fi, which they didn't advertise on their websit efor some reason. At night, its very quiet as its 1 block away from the Main Street. Staff was helpful as well. While its not the best looking hotel at Moab, it served its purpose for us.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

The Rustic Inn is older and not so appealing from the outside; however, the rooms are clean and large with some recent renovations. Our room (2 queen) had a larger refrigerator and microwave and new flooring and kitchen area. The room was very quiet - we could not hear any other guests during our stay. The room is nothing extravagant but it worked for us as we were only there to sleep.

The location is great - it is off of Main Street so a little quieter, but still close enough to walk to the restaurants and shops. The front desk was very helpful in recommending restaurants and making sure we had what we needed.

The pool is not heated and was too cold for us (mid-April) so beware if you are traveling with kids who need a pool to have fun.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS84081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

It looks like a cheap dumpy hotel from the outside. Inside, it's a cheap dumpy hotel that has been renovated (new cheap instead of old cheap). They put in new cabinets, new tile floors around the bathroom, new paint, new carpet, but it's poorly done. They didn't replace the toilet (have to jiggle the handle to make the water stop), and they didn't replace the windows. Our window had no screen, no latches, no locks and anyone could just slide it open and climb into our room. Eeek! We told the front desk and they gave us some clamp on locks, but the windows still pushed in (not enough from someone to climb in, but certainly enough for big bugs). There's only one sink, in the kitchenette. Seems strange to have to brush your teeth next to your dishes in the sink.

The beds were comfortable enough, the walls are apparently thick so you can't hear the people in the next room talking (although you can hear doors slamming and people at the pool), the room was clean, everything except the windows worked ok and it's cheap. The room had a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, but no clock, phone or hair dryer.

It's not the Best Western, but it costs half as much.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tally4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, SC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Our camping group was forced to book rooms due to a snowy sandstorm last week and we found value in the Rustic Inn. It was recommended by the Moab Information Center. We were a somewhat turned off when we drove up but the rooms were clean, though very basic. Since clean sheets and a shower was our main goal, this was perfectly adequate. I would not book this place if I was planning on spending quality time in a hotel, but the staff was nice and attentive to the small problems we found in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contessabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

I stayed at the Rustic for the entire week I was vacationing in the Moab area, and had a very positive experience. It served as an excellent basecamp for my various adventures. Everything downtown, and on the main drag, the scenic trail through town, all was within very convenient walking distance. It wasnt so close to it all that it too loud or bright though, just far enough to be quite the opposite. All the staff were very personable, and in the know about anything you were looking for, and all manner of activities. In fact they have all the maps and information you could ever want to know in print, as well. I learned that the hotel gives back to the community quite a bit, from giving rooms to women when there is overflow at the local shelter, to donating rooms to different races, causes, and events coming through town. Very cool. Apparently, they just did big renovations, and as far as I can tell it turned out great. Overall was nice, new, and clean, with a nice aesthetic feel. I liked having that full size fridge so I could cook some, and for guests, too.

This is the only photo I had of inside, figured I could upload it...

  • Liked — Very nice for a good value too
  • Disliked — Although they have free wireless internet, they dont have a hot tub, but they did indicate they were installing one soon...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pathfinder_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2008

My sister and I stayed at the Rustic Inn . We had traveled from Denver and on our way to Vancouver B.C. Canada. The Rustic Inn was perfect. We stayed for 2 nights and quickly decided to stay a third night. It was the best place - so clean .......the staff are so friendly and helpful. It was quiet too. For young people...it's a good place to stay because heck, you'll be hiking all day in the mountains anyway... cos really, you're there in Moab for the ' outdoors. ' The price is really great ... . patronize the Rustic Inn... those " other " chain hotels and motels just don't cut it !!

Ciau
J

  • Liked — great locatioin
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HikerVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
816 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Inn

Property: Rustic Inn
Address: 120 E 100 S, Moab, UT 84532-2642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rustic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rustic Inn is one block east of downtown Moab but walking distance to the most popular bars, restaurants and shopping. The rooms are quiet and large with a few family units. A heated pool, with picnic cabana is available. Coffee pots, microwaves, and refrigerators in every room. The Inn is adjacent to the Mill Creek Parkway for shaded walking with or without your pet. Pet rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Rustic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Hotel Moab
Rustic Motel Moab
Rustic Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing