We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful relaxing location great pool and hot tub”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the Cabins for 2 nights. The cabins are 17 miles outside of Moab in the mountains which was beautiful and relaxing but about a 25 minute trip into town. The lodges are in town but cabins are out of town. There are no TVs in the cabin but that was not an issue for us. The owners came and talked to us and were very nice and friendly. The cabin had plenty of room small kitchen area with the basics available. The hot tub was huge and the pool was very nice and relaxing. It was too cold for us to swim but nice to sit by.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spedler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelgirl028, Owner at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Pack Creek Ranch cabins. The ranch is a special place and we are pleased that it fulfilled your needs. Come see us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Kokopelli Lodge & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 538 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visit Moab at least once a year. We don't have high expectations because we go for the outdoor activities, not to spend time in the motel room. Our only requirement is that it is clean. At first glance, the 2 bedroom kokopelli suite was nicely decorated and painted with bright colors. There was plenty of space for our family of 4. We were disappointed that there was only a swamp cooler as it was nearly 100 degrees and swamp coolers can only cool so much and leave things feeling damp. Plus it was very loud and you had to leave some windows open, which just doesn't sit well with me. Better than nothing though. The disappointment continued when I walked into the bathrooms. They both smelled like mildew and there was black mold and mildew in both bathtubs. I absolutely would not bathe my children in them and I even considered wearing flip flops when I took a shower. The towels seemed nice and fluffy and new. But they all smelled like mildew so badly we could not use them. Luckily there were some beach towels in the closets that didn't smell as bad so we used them instead. These were relatively minor issues we could have looked past (well, maybe not the black mold) and still have been fairly happy with the rental. But things just kept adding up. We found ants in the kitchen in the morning when we went to make breakfast. The second night we were there I turned the swamp cooler off so we could sleep. But then I heard something skittering around in the ceiling above our bedroom and had to turn the swamp cooler back on just to block out the sound of the animal above me. Didn't get much sleep that night. There were other little inconveniences like having to go out and buy coffee filters because there were none, only having a bottle of hand soap in the shower, and the exposed tack strip between the carpet and the kitchen floor (very painful on bare feet). Just a real disappointment considering it was such a nice sized place and was away from the main road in a quiet part of town. Wish it could have been our go to place in Moab.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a small 9 room property which was very cozy. The staff was VERY friendly and the rooms were decent size. The WIFI, TV, and the bed were all great. The shower was the best part, the bathroom was very clean, full size towels and just great shower. The only downside was the stained carpet and a weak air conditioning. Over night it was very cold, but during the day the heat was beating the AC>

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap123Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I understand that destinations with a relatively short season need to have higher prices, but after staying in much-less-expensive, yet acceptable accommodations almost every night from LA to here, I was a little frustrated that we still had to pay close to $100 for the least expensive place in town. I sometimes wondered whetbher there was some kind of price fixing going on in a town like this. All idle speculation, but just wondering...

All that said, management was very friendly here, and our room was mostly cozy and clean. The bathroom area in our room was oddly tight, with barely enough space for my knees when doing you know what. Also, the floor in our room was sagging noticeably at one corner.

We also enjoyed the spa tub behind the main office after dark.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurelPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had confidence in the reviews but when we showed up the cabins were filthy and it was obvious that they had not been cleaned porperly in a long time. They gave us a hard time about coming out to have to clean up the mouse droppings and then didn't even clean them all. I read some reviews in which they found the filter still in the coffee maker....funny we found a filter in our coffee maker too. It is obvious that the cleaning crew comes out, makes coffee, changes the sheet and doesn't do anything else. The mouse dropping, 50 dead flies, spider webs and layers of dust were evidence of that. Their definition of clean is extremely different then my own. They were gracious enough to let us out of our remaining night. We ended up staying at the Ramada which was the exact same cost, had a great pool, was upgraded, and was CLEAN.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want to have your children sleeping in a clean environment.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjosysko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have been repeatedly staying at the Kokopelli, for their kind accommodation of pets, environmentally friendly soap and recycling of trash. Their prices -if you go off-season- are great, and overpriced -when you go during holidays-. All rooms are old motor-home style, small with brightly-colored linen, and very clean. During two of our stays there we had to park by the curb, as there were not enough car spaces for all guests. '
This time, we called to change our reservation, from 4 nights to 3 nights (for the Labor weekend holiday). My husband was informed that we never made a reservation to begin with, and later on the confusion proved to be over the reservation having been under my husband's name, and not mine.
Nevertheless, the lady that spoke with my husband on the phone, manager of the Kokopelli and part-owner, hang up on him once, was curiously aggressive -as she was never provoked in any way-, and finally told the receptionist (who, on the other hand, was polite and very nice) to let us know that we are no longer welcome at the motel.
Very poor and quite unfortunate attitude, lack of professionalism, and an opportunity for us (that visit Moab 2-3 times a year, for many years now) to stay at a different establishment, much cheaper, and much closer to the fantastic Moab Music Festival venues. Amen!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Was more than we expected even after reading the great reviews. pros: not like a regular motel more like home. exceptionally clean and well kept, outside yard to sit in at cool hours. Kitchen supplied with everything we needed to cook with. would stay here again. Cons: "swamp cooler" , the evaporative cooling system is loud but effective. In cooler months this should not be a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moabinnkeeper, Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for such a positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to enhance every guest travel experience with value and genuine hospitality and it looks as if we have done so. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#21 of 35 in Moab
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Lodge & Suites

Address: 72 S 100 E, Moab, UT 84532-2638
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Moab
#2 Best Value Hotel in Moab
#7 Family Hotel in Moab
#12 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $31 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopelli Lodge - 9 unique & colorful rooms with small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Full bath. 1 block off the highway at the center of town. Kokopelli Inn Towner - 4 apartment style units with full kitchens. Fenced front yard. Located 1/2 block from Main street at the center of town. Kokopelli 100 West - 10 modern style cabins surrounding a courtyard. Extended kitchenettes, shared hot tub and BBQ grill. 1 block off Main St. Meadow House at historic Pack Creek Ranch - sleeps 5 people. Full kitchens. Seasonal, community swimming pool. At the foot of the La Sal mountains about 20 minutes from Moab. A beautiful year-round cabin. All properties have onsite recycling, Wi-Fi , green cleaning, shared hot tub and are pet friendly. Our mission: "To enhance every guest's travel experience with value and genuine hospitality." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Lodge And Suites
Kokopelli Hotel Moab
Kokopelli Motel Moab
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing