We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY, THEY DON'T CARE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY, THEY DON'T CARE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

I booked this hotel well in advance, knowing the week-end would be crowded. Enroute to the hotel, I received two e-mails saying that they were looking forward to my up-coming stay. However, when I tried to check-in, I was told that our reservation was cancelled and there were no rooms available in town! My credit card company had changed my number so did not approve the charge. Rather than calling me and getting a new number, the hotel gave away our room! The manager actually told me that it was the credit card company's fault. Nice passing the buck! Really POOR customer service. Best Western corporate told me that this in an independently owned hotel so they can do as they please. It is a poor representation for BW. This turned into a very bad situation for us, when a simple phone call or e-mail would have been a simple fix.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetotravlColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Review at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
The hotel is familiar with this guest concern. Our hotel requires a valid credit card to guarantee ALL room reservations. Unfortunately, hotel does not have any knowledge on reasons behind a "declined' credit card, so from time to time, hotel must make the tough judgment to release reservation without a valid credit card number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    377
    205
    74
    43
See reviews for
324
443
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

The BW Greenwell Inn looks like your typical motor lodge, with two floors, outside corridors, and windows only on the side of the corridor. But as other reviwers have remarked, the interior of the rooms is above the usual motor lodge standards. Not particularly modern or any great luxury, but decent funiture and warm colours and carpeting. The bathroom on the other side differs in nothing from what you would find in the average motor lodge: small and basic. The location in central Moab is a definate plus, and so is the fact that the hotel is perpendicular to the road which leads to very quiet rooms. Beds were of good quality, and aircon not too noisy (although it does blow into your face, but this can be remedied by organising the furniture in a clever way). This hotel seemed one of the better option to me in Moab.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2009
Thank you for your posting. We appreciate your review of our hotel. Our entire staff place much emphasis on quality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. We appreciate your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is a tourist town with older hotels. This hotel has been updated (probably many times). The lobby is nice but not indicative of the rooms. The beds were comfortable, bathroom was small. Flat screen tv so it has been updated recently. Good location to Arches park and right downtown near restaurants and activities. Room was quiet. A bit high in price but I was there in peak season and there isn't much around except for the hotels in Moab. The only complaint we had was the toilet was very slow draining and filling. We did not see any breakfast available in the hotel.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fakeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
Thank you for your posting. Our staff works very hard to maintain a high quality and clean hotel. We are glad you have recognized our efforts. We have found that many hotels, though advertise "free breakfast" to guests, but they have built the additional hidden costs into their room rates. We chose to pass breakfast savings to our guests and allow our guests to choose whether they want to have breakfast or keep the savings and go to a super market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, MI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

I recently stayed at The Best Western, Greenwell Inn in Moab Utah on a business trip. The rooms were nice, but we had a terrible experience when checking out. When checking out, the young lady behind the counter refused to give us receipts for our stay. We had no idea how much we were being charged for our stay! She took our email addresses and told us that the manager would email our receipts to us the following Monday. Of course, this did not happen. This is totally unnacceptable. I do not understand their rationale. This is like going to a restaurant, giving them your credit card and them not telling you how much your meal cost. You are supposed to just leave no knowing what you spent??? There is another Best Western right across the street called "Canyonlands Inn". Go there instead, I have had much better experiences there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noturns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
Thank you for your posting. I have researched your posting question and found out that you had purchased your reservation via a third party website package rate. According to the hotel's terms with the 3rd party website, the guest is to receive his/her receipt from the online booking and not from the hotel, because the hotel is being paid by the website company and not directly by the guest.
Thank you for your understanding in the matter. I appreciate the opportunity to answer your question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel is easy to spot on the road with it's eye-catching waterfall. From most of the outside, though, this hotel is not very enticing...it's exterior is old & dingy, although it does have a good amount of shade for parking. The rooms, though, are a pleasant surprise. Very nice remodeled furnishings & ample space...we have multiple choices of where to put our pack-n-play. The bathroom area is roomy, too. There is also a good deal of storage space in case you are planning to stay multiple nights. Beds were comfortable & there is a nice TV and a refridgerator. We used the pool during our stay & it was great...pool towels are already out there. Location is right on the main drive, so you can walk to many dining and shopping options. We ate at Zax across the street & were pleased...lots of pizza choices and good dessert! We made the mistake, though, of eating breakfast at the "American Breakfast Buffet" at the Chinese restaurant next door...don't do it! It was definitely against our better judgement, but it was easy, so we tried it. It was overpriced & the food was dried out, flavorless, and just plain bad. There are plenty of good breakfast places in Moab, so avoid this one! It might be good for Chinese food...we didn't try it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redshoetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2009
Thank you for your post. Our staff works hard to provide a high quality overnight experience to our guests. Thank you for recognizing our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Recently stayed at the Greenwell Inn for three nights. The property is very clean, the rooms seem recently remodeled and are well appointed for a seemingly older motor lodge. The pool was very nice and a huge hit with my kids. They have a well equiped fitness room if you don't get enough exercise hiking and biking in the amazing national parks. Within walking distance of many dining and shopping options. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
We are so happy to hear you had a good stay with us. It's very rewarding for our hardworking staff to hear their attention to details are being recognized by our customers. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

I was a bit taken aback when I saw the exterior of the hotel. Very 50ish, although a neat and pleasant appearance. The front office staff was friendly and helpful. When I got to the room I was pleasantly surprised. While not overly spacious, it was very nicely decorated in a sort of south-western motif with bold, yet homey colors and attractive carpeting; everything designed to match nicely. Comfortable beds, good wifi, and flat screen television ! Another great feature -- it's on the main street in the heart of Moab, so you can walk to most of the restaurants in the village...and there are plenty!

The only downside...once the people upstairs began moving around, there was no more sleeping due to the creaking floors. But, then again, I wanted to get up early to go out hiking, so this was a natural alarm clock. :-)

That being said, I really liked this hotel. It had personality and it shows that despite the norm, older hotel properties can be maintained. I really enjoyed its charm and would probably stay here again if visiting Moab.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Thank you so much for your positive review. We pride ourselves to provide a clean and comfortable place for our guests. I will share your good experience with our staff. They will appreciate your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Address: 105 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Moab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully Italian Mediterranean architecture hotel in the hub of downtown Moab. We offer a relaxing and comfortable oasis stay in Downtown Moab. Hotel sits quietly along Moab's Mill Creek parkway. Moab's only hotel with in/out creek Trail access. We are in town center within easy walking minutes to Moab's many dining, shopping, and cultural places. Hotel features a large heated pool (seasonal) and hot tub, Free Wi-Fi, guest coin-up laundry, and a fitness room. Our guest rooms are professionally designed with either 1 King or 2 Queen beds (some with French door open out balcony). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Greenwell Hotel Moab
Best Western Greenwell Hotel
Best Western Moab
Moab Best Western
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing