We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cowboy Grill at Red Cliffs Lodge, Moab, Utah”

The Cowboy Grill Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 87 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: After a full day of adventure and exploration, nothing soothes the soul like a hearty meal in an intimate setting. Our terraced dining room ensures every guest has a magnificent view of the Colorado River, the Fisher Towers, and the towering red rock cliffs surrounding the Lodge. Shaded patios and decks offer cool dining in a natural setting any time of year. Our menu captures traditional Western favorites like Ranch Grilled Steak, Smoked Barbequed Pork Ribs and Wild Alaskan Salmon. Our prime rib is a Red Cliffs specialty, and every menu item pairs perfectly with, our onsite winery Castle Creek Winery, featuring award-winning choices available by glass or bottle. The Cowboy Grill makes every effort to insure that the prices and items listed on our menus are up to date and correct. However, the prices and items listed on our website menus are NOT guaranteed, and are subject to change without notice. We are not responsible for menu prices posted on other websites.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The service was excellent and the people so friendly. (Chad was great!) You can't beat the location or the view. It is clean and comfortable with great atmosphere.

The food there is always good and beautifully presented. I recommend the elk. They also make their own wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 335 of 627 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Forget about just eating here, stay here too! Wonderful and very accommodating. Sunsets don't get any better and the perfect spot for taking pictures.

Thank rbsandusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy D, Manager at The Cowboy Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment on our property and we hope you come back to visit us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

When we checked in we were told reservations were required to eat at the Cowboy Grill. No need as barely half the tables were filled at 7:00. First off the service was dismal. Our waiter took our drink and dinner requests, returned shortly with the drinks. The was the last that we saw of him for awhile. He showed back 40 minutes later and asked us if we would like more rolls. " What rolls would that be?" I asked. Our waiter then continued to avoid us, sheepishly peering around a corner trying to engage us in small talk. Not once did he offer an apology. As to the meal, it was below average to average. My wife, daughter and I ordered the special, big mistake...dry pork chops and very poor plating. On the other hand the bacon wrapped steaks were passable. Be warned this is a very expensive restaurant. Everything is a la carte. I have no problem paying a premium if the meal and service is worth it as demonstrated by my prior reviews. This establishment is not worth it. Did I mention the view? Spectacular!! Unfortunately this will be the only positive memory of this visit which was to celebrate my daughter's birthday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SeaDwellerF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy D, Manager at The Cowboy Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

First and foremost, we want to apologize for not providing you and your family with a great dining experience. It is our goal, every day, to be the best we can be. If we fall short of that, we understand that it is not only disappointment to our guests but also a letdown to ourselves and our standard of service. We take comments about food quality and service very seriously and are continually learning from our customers to be better at what we do. We will be better because of constructive criticism like this. Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. However, to be clear to others, our pricing is on the low side of comparable establishments. We want to be affordable to any one hoping to enjoy a unique experience at our property. All of our menu entrees come with matched sides they are not a la carte and the portions are very generous. We always give complimentary dessert for birthdays and special occasions. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments and please consider giving us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The food here was excellent and the service was as well. We ate here twice for dinner and once for breakfast. Each time the food was consistently good. I would recommend.

Thank Dagney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy D, Manager at The Cowboy Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review. We do the best we can. I hope you can come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge and ate here twice. The service was fabulous and the food was too. We had a filet mignon, BBQ ribs, and lamb chops. It was all very good. The baked potatoes were also very good. I don't recommend the deserts they were good, but on the small side if you plan on sharing.

Thank Cbug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy D, Manager at The Cowboy Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and 5 stars. It always nice to hear that people were pleased with us. Also thank you for bringing up the desert issue. Some of them are on the small side. We are changing our menu for the season and I always appreciate feed back that I can work with. If you make it back to dine with us I would love to hear what you think. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cowboy Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing