We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and at times offensive”

Canyonlands by Night and Day
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Moab Dinner Cruise with Sound and Light Show
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When coming to such a beautiful area it's hard to choose a tour company because there are so many companies offering so many things. At Canyonlands By Night and Day, we pride ourselves in giving you the ultimate vacation by matching your needs with an excellent tour. You are the most important person in our world and we strive to make sure you have the best time. Your experience begins with our Customer Service Representative taking the time to match your needs to the best possible tour. We have the newest, best equipment in the area and our guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. Your guide will entertain, explain and show-off the beautiful area from trip beginning to end.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive and at times offensive”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Food was decent but the evening boat show is super cheesy and at times pretty offensive. Be prepared for lots of sexist jokes, a lot of religion (not just in recounting the history which would be one thing but throughout the narrative) and a pretty biased telling of history where the Indians are the only ones who ever killed anyone. The "show" is a truck with floodlights driving alongside the boat. A pretty expensive night of entertainment for what it is.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ErinR1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    149
    51
    39
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for small children and retired!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We chose to do the Sunset night/light tour. We got to the main building early and had dinner. It was typical buffet type fare with a variety of barb-b-que meats, nothing special, but it helped being served family style and added to the ambiance of the meal. The dessert was probably the most disappointing part of the dinner so chow down on the other food if you're hungry. This tour is geared more for small children and retired groups. It is a quiet, lazy trip down the river at dusk and dark. You learn some of the area history and the guide points out some interesting shapes on the faces of the mountain. They begin the light show on the return which is kind of a funny sight. They use a truck with a bright light mounted into the truck-bed and then this truck traverses down the road that follows the river. It lost some of it's pizzazz especially to our sophisticated, tech-savvy kids. BUT the highlight of the trip was the view of the stars even for our kids!! It was great to hear them point out satellites and shooting stars. When there was not a light in sight we caught some majestic views of the stars. That is the one memory that will stick out in my mind.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank murph1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I really liked this as a night-time activity. We did the sunset tour. The views were good, but after a whole day of arches and canyon land already parts of it I felt like I had already seen! The tour guide was well informed and energetic! The dinner after words was simple and well done! The one negative thing I have to say is that we never really saw the sun set on the sunset tour!

Helpful?
Thank VAwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Had a fun time”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We chose the sunset cruise. The light show cruise didn't appeal to us because we lived in Florida for several years and haven't seen a better light show than Disney produces. The boat ride was a gentle cruise about 22 miles down the Colorado river. Photographers, it doesn't matter which side of the boat you sit on because the guide turns the boat so you can get good shots. Andrew, our guide/pilot, was just great. He was not only informative, but quite entertaining. We had just been to Arches NP and were happy to sit awhile. The tour was $70 each, including the dutch oven dinner afterward. You can opt out of the dinner ($10 each). We stayed for dinner and it was not bad. It's all-you-can-eat buffet, so if you're expecting fine dining, go elsewhere. I tried all the meats. As reported in another review, the BBQ'd meats are strongly sauced. Don found the spicy pork upset his stomach. I thought it tasted tangy, but wasn't bad. I liked best the meat that wasn't soaked in sauce (beef, pork). The salad bar was limited but fresh. There was also a little desert cobbler, which I didn't try because I was stuffed full of meat. BTW, look on the web for discount coupons. I found one for 10% off and our RV park was offering 5% off. Anyway, it was a lovely time and I will remember it fondly.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank NVJudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definitely go on the morning tour, NOT the night tour - definitely.”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We went on both the morning and night tours. The morning tour was amazing! It was definitely worth the cost. We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful, extraordinary scenery.

The night tour, on the other hand, was disappointing. The food was standard, not special. The tour was something out of the 1960s. It was dated and plain. Invest your time and money elsewhere.

Moab is a wonderful place.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeFromKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyonlands by Night and Day also viewed

 

Been to Canyonlands by Night and Day? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing