We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well maintained campground” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portal RV Resort / Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portal RV Resort / Campground
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Draper, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well maintained campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

My Family just returned to Salt Lake after having a wonderful time staying at the Portal RV in Moab Utah. As a seasoned veteran when it comes to camping in the great state of Utah I have to say that Portal RV has done an amazing job with the upkeep of their "World Class Resort." As others have stated there are definitely two sides to the park... The owners section as well as the regular campground. Both sides are fantastic and well maintained, probably one of the cleanest campgrounds I have ever stayed at. If you want to use the pool definitely pay a little more and stay on the owners side, but you're in Moab... go out and enjoy the beautiful red rocks, awesome jeep trails, and if you need to get wet...kayak the river!!
P.S. I had my two small dachshunds with me on the trip as well and we did not encounter one goathead thorn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    13
    5
    19
See reviews for
57
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

This RV park is one of most laughable I've ever seen in all my years of RV camping. Their website touts it as "world class" but the stalls are tiny with tiny trees between them, goathead spikes everywhere, and what they call a spacious enclosed dog park is not even big enough for a chihuahua! The "enclosed" dog yard is no bigger than a triangle 20' long by 12' feet wide! Nowhere near enough for any small dog, let alone medium sized dog, to do anything more than maybe consider taking a dump in. They don't offer water or dump facilities unless you pay their full exhorbitant $34+++ per night fees. They are close to town and surrounded by large lots of weeds - NO scenery! I found many other MUCH nicer RV parks in Moab, at both ends of town. This place is a DUMP! Can't even see the gorgeous Moab mountains from their part due to its lousy positioning near town entrance.

Not professionally maintained, no separate services. What they call a "pond" for the dogs to play in (on their website) is this tiny mosquito infested 2 feet deep 25 x 15 foot pond that is so shallow I wouldn't let my dogs near it for the parasites you could see percolating in the fuzzy growth on top and edges of the pond.

Drive by this place, DON"T stop, there are quite a few RV parks in Moab, both edges of the city, I'd suggest the far end of town. This Portal RV website should be considered FRAUDULENT as their hype doesn't even live up to 10% of their claims!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thomas e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portal1261, General Manager at Portal RV Resort / Campground, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
I Am not sure what to say to this review. Our rv sites in our North/rental section range from 65 ft to 75 ft in length. We are located at a "world class" destination (Moab) we accommodate Big Rig's ranging from 41-45ft + which is why having large tree's would be a problem. The Majority of our customers would rather have views and satellite reception. We have realised that the Goat heads have become an increasingly large problem in the past year and we are doing everything we can to reduce and eliminate them entirely; including adding fabrics to the ground, and installing new sod on the sites. We are one of the most pet friendly rv parks in the country, we not only have two off leash dog parks, but a section deticated to over 1 acre of grass and water for your pets to be off leash. We are a private resort, and our facilities are, and will always be for the resorts customers only. 90% of our sites are full hook up. We do have water and electric sites with a dump station at no extra charge for the guests that stay at our resort. As far as views go, we guarentee that you will not be dissapointed. We are off the highway and we have views ranging from the La Sal mountains to Moab's famous red rock. We are sorry this gentleman didn't have a pleasnt stay in Moab but his false claims on Portal Rv Resort were uncalled for and inncorrect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it, except for the goatheads that were between the rv campsites. I would strongly recommend staying in the private owners section. Large RV sites with concrete pads large enough to park your jeep, trailer, bikes and RV with room to spare! The pool/spa/bathrooms were absolutely beautiful! They have a really nice off leash dog area and 2 ponds, one used as a swimming hole and the other for the dogs to swim in. My Labs loved it and the water was actually clean! My one and only complaint, would be lack of landscaping between the sites. But these lots are for sale after all. The sites that are owned are landscaped, but many are not. My dogs had goatheads stuck to their paws and my boys had them stuck to the bottom of there shoes...nasty weeds! Very quite and beautiful place to stay. Worth the extra money I say!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reneelyn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougMoab, Owner at Portal RV Resort / Campground, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. This winter we have made major changes to the campground section. Portal has remodeled all the sites in the campground and installed fabric to remove the nasty goathead. Also added concrete patios to all campground sites. We have built a new dog park and added a sand beach and sand volleyball and a concert stage. Portal is excited about the improvements made and look foward to your next goathead free stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed in the south side at one of the owner sites. Beautiful landscaping, loved the concrete pad. Greatest dog park. We would have even stayed at the north side. Sites were large and not too close together. Owner and staff very friendly, helpful. They were always working to keep things clean and neat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Living the Life S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

It is hard to find parks that are truly "Big Rig" accessible. We have been to more than a few that advertise that they can accommodate a big rig, but actually they cannot. The Portal has large streets and large sites on the south side that easily accommodated our rig and we did not have to drop the trailer. The park was very clean and up to date. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful with directions. We would definitely stay there again. The only downside was the goat-head thorns on the northside, they are NOT bicycle tire friendly.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here one night and it was the worst RV park I've ever been in and not cheap either. For $40 a night I expected to use the pool they have pictured in their website. Instead
we were directed to this disgusting pond that was filled with mosquitos. The pool and nicer area are reserved for owners only. The mosquitos were so bad that we couldn't sit outside for even 5 minutes. Just walking the dog for a few minutes and my husband and I were covered in bites. It's very obvious that they don't spray (we didn't have a mosquito problem at any other of the 6 parks we stayed in Utah) even though they have a West Nile Virus warning posted in the office. The showers were not very clean and we had spiders crawling on our shoes when we stepped out of the shower. The WIFI was very weak. Overall, I thought this place was a rip off.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank repsol_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

After reading a few mixed reviews, It was not logical. So we made reservations and showed up! This place is well done, with sites large enough for the Biggest of Big Rigs!! Great hook-up, Clean electricity, and high water pressure. Pool area is clean with nice showers and HOT SPA. Some sites for sale. Currently under construction the largest Coach Homes I have ever seen...The owner is well versed in local outings, including maybe the best Rock Crawling in the World!!. This place is professionally staffed and maintained.
Disregard any other reviews stating otherwise....... Less than 2 miles from the Arches National Park this is a "Must Stay Place" I have stayed at many Parks from coast to coast and border to border. This Park rates a true 8 out of 10.
FOR REAL!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjr1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
0.5 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
2.1 mi away
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
8.8 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portal RV Resort / Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal RV Resort / Campground

Property: Portal RV Resort / Campground
Address: 1261 N Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-2046
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portal RV Resort and campground. Our resort section offers high end large RV lots or vacation home rentals. (restrictions do apply) Our campground was completely remodeled this winter including a sand beach, new dog park, concrete patios on every lot. Concert stage and sand volleyball. The campground is open to all RV types. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portal Rv Park Hotel Moab
Portal RV Resort / Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing