We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morris' Last Resort
Ranked #10 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Fantastic little cabin with all the amenities you need...just like at home. Bed on upper floor was a little small and too soft however the cabin was very nice and the outdoor veranda a great way to enjoy the sun setting. Although it is 8 km from Moab itself, certainly worth the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DBaretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

stayed in pioneer 2 cabin for 4 nights in early September 2013. The cabin is awesome a true home from home. After spending 2 days at Arches National park and 2 days at Canyonlands, coming "home" each night was a real pleasure. We have nothing bad to say about this cabin everything was as we could have wished for and more!!! So peaceful. so serene and waking up in the morning with the mountain view from our bedroom window as we had our first morning cup of tea was so special. Thanks for a truly magical 4 nights stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestMidlandsHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week at sunset cabin and a week at vista cabin up in the la sal mountains. We loved them both. We were initially surprised to find that the sunset cabin was a trailer, but once inside and settled in we really loved it there. It's spacious and well equipped and def had the better views of both cabins. We loved to lay in bed at night and look at the millions of stars which we can't see at home in the city. We enjoyed the sunrises as much as the sunsets - again, watching the cliffs light up in the morning as we lay in bed was really quite special and we missed that at vista (you can see it, just not from your bed). We even had a bear cub visit us which we weren't expecting in utah!

Vista cabin is newer and more modern and just beautiful. The vaulted pine ceilings are a nice touch and lots of windows give almost panoramic views. The Murphy beds were super comfy. The only downside for us after having come from the sunset cabin was the lack of storage - we made it work by using cupboards, but a chest of drawers to unpack your clothes in would be a great addition to the space.

The cabins are a little far from town and the bike trails which got tiring, but after arriving home and settling back into the peace and quiet we were happy we chose here as home. Such a break from the hustle and bustle of busy downtown and noisy highway 191. (Which the valley cabins are on - we were originally going to book sunrise cabin and after seeing its location we are so thankful to be up here). It was awesome to have laundry and all the comforts of home after a hard day on the trails.

I cannot say enough good about this lovely place and its owners who were so kind and helpful. We'd love to return someday!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank newfiegal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Vista Cabin and loved every minute of it. It is off the beaten path so for those wanting nightlife in Moab I would have second thoughts. But, if you want the most lovely, well equipped cabin (even had a washer and dryer), to begin and end your day at, this might be for you. We enjoyed sunrises and sunsets, grilled dinners looking out over the mountains, and a flock of wild turkeys that came by at all times of day and night. Moab was our last stop before heading home, and in spite of the national parks being closed, and the fact that we had been there before, we wished we had planned for more time. Our last afternoon, rather guiltily, instead of doing any more hiking we decided to stick around and read on the back porch. It was delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sasfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Pioneer 2 Cabin, up the LaSal Mountain road from Moab. What a beautiful cabin - so nicely furnished, super-clean, really comfortable and HUGE! The views of the mountains at sunrise plus all the stars overhead at night couldn't be better. And what a surprise for 2 Texans to wake up to snow outside on our last morning there (cabin stayed nice and warm, though, and we made good use of the extra throw blankets)! Although the cabin was a 25 minute drive from town, it was easy to find and the road was good (with great views around each bend); plus we really liked being so secluded and away from noise and traffic in town. We would leave at breakfast for a day of hiking and touring around, coming back each night after dinner. It was the perfect way to set up a home base in the area. Lots of brochures and activity info available in the living area. Two bedrooms, two living areas - lots of room to spread out if you want it. Loved the upstairs loft/den. Southwest & western artwork around the house was a nice touch. The large size washer & dryer came in handy, too! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I just spent 6 nights in the Sunrise Cabin. We were visiting Moab from Florida. We had a great stay and would stay there again. The cabin was very clean, well stocked and comfortable. The bed was very comfy. It is only a few minutes to the grocery store and other shopping. The back porch was my favorite place to sit and enjoy the mountain views. We also really enjoyed the La Sal Loop drive. Overall, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights ...we loved it ...it is located on a busy highway...but Beth told us this up front ...they do have cabins further in the back ...but we were there to hike & enjoy Arches & Canyon Lands...not to hang out in a room all day ...
The cabin was super clean ...equipped with frig, mini kitchen, even stocked if you wanted to cook or grill . ...it was like staying in a studio apartment .
Shower was great .... linens were great ..
Would highly recommend this place ...less than 10 mins from downtown...very convenient... Price was right for us thrifty travelers ..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaniceWriterAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
13.4 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,938 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
756 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
10.0 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
7.2 mi away
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris' Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris' Last Resort

Address: 5501 S Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range: $49 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Morris' Last Resort Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing