We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Base Camp Adventure Lodge
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had an amazing time at Base Camp. The setting is remote, bizarre, beautiful, and quiet. Tom is a great host - eager to help and keep you safe in this weird environment, full of stories, and not too much in your face when you want privacy. Free use of kayaks, ATVs, etc. Can't wait to go back.

If you want a resort, you should look elsewhere. But Base Camp is a great place for people who are adventurous, like things that are out of the ordinary, and want to rough it a bit without having to camp.

Next time we'll take the boat to get there or ask Tom to pick us up in Moab. When the weather is good the road is hair-raising - lots of big rocks, some quick blind turns, lots of narrow spaces with cliffs and drop-offs on either side, and frequent damage from flooding and rockslides. When a storm blows in unexpectedly it could be deadly - no joke. We almost got stuck there because of flash floods, and were grateful we didn't actually get caught in the storm.

Room Tip: We had the room at the back closest to the river, and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of the most beautiful places on earth, had a awesome time hunting for fossils, visiting with chipmunks, birds, lizards, squirrels and the resident animal guests Kobae the tortoise, What's Up & Little Up, the lizard pair, exploring the hills hiking and riding to various locations on the ATV's. Tom, the host, could not be more welcoming, a real down to earth person with a very honest and free spirit. There is noting that he can not help you with, explain to you, educate you about, teach you or arrange for you to make your stay the BEST ever. My husband and I are still talking about this vacation months later. WE WILL BE BACK, several times I'm sure. What an amazing time!

Room Tip: I brought my own pillow....glad I did. Please remember this is one step up from camping as far as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelinrose521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent 2 days at Base Camp with Tom, his animal buddies, and two other fellow travelers. Tom made us feel right at home and extended every possible courtesy. When I asked if he rented out his pair of ATV's for trips into the countryside, he replied "Nah- just go ahead and use them- Ill show you where to go on a map". We took one out near Chicken Corners to the most fantastic viewpoints of the Colorado River I've ever seen. Tom encourages fossill hunting plus he's got a world class disc golf course. LOVED IT.
Caveat here: The road to get to base camp is more easily traveled in a 4wd vehicle, has a couple rough spots and ledges. We made it in a 2wd Jeep Patriot but if you don't drive off-road at all you may get the willies occasionally.
I can't WAIT to return

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rossman1rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you like waking up in the redrock desert on the banks of the Colorado, views of Deadhorse Pt., ATVs at the ready, kayaks waiting for launch, 100 lb tortoise to spend quality time with on the porch when you are not feeding a lizard on the wall, stargazing, and playing a killer disc golf course, then this is your destination.... Thanks to Tom for an awesome time. Can't wait for the next!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EliseHMillValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Had an awesome time, can't wait to go back. Tom & Kobae are real characters, we had a great time kayaking, 4 wheeling and hiking. Tom is a great guide and has some good stories. bring extra food and be prepared to extend your stay because you don't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank readyLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We've just gotten back from an unforgettable weekend at Base Camp, and are already trying to figure out how and when we can go back. From the breathtaking scenery, to the comfortable accommodations, to Tom's enthusiastic hosting, it was a complete success. In a day and a half we went on a guided hike, played disc golf on the incredible course (officially the 3rd most extreme in the world), went mountain biking, kayaking, and just wandered around enjoying the place. Our dog had a great time, too!
A couple of tips for the perfect Base Camp stay: 1) plan on departing Moab for Base Camp at least an hour and a half before sunset. A 4x4 would be ideal, as the climb and descent from the pass is pretty rough on cars with less than 6 inches of clearance. We're also thinking that coming down the river might be the way to go. 2) Check the hours of the local supermarket if you're not arriving in Moab fully provisioned. We arrived partially provisioned and were shut out at the supermarket in town; Tom made sure we didn't go hungry, but it's always nice to arrive prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cath84098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Tom was a gracious host amusing my boys with petting lizards and tortoise feedings. The 4-wheelers. The wind caves. The drive there! The biking up Hurrah pass on cool mornings. Great destination!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank obfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
18.1 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,958 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 37 in Moab
759 reviews
8.7 mi away
Westside Flats
Westside Flats
#1 of 33 in Moab
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Moab Springs Ranch
Moab Springs Ranch
#11 of 33 in Moab
54 reviews
14.1 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
14.9 mi away
Under Canvas Moab
Under Canvas Moab
#3 of 33 in Moab
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Camp Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Camp Adventure Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 37, 1010 Hurrah Pass Road, Moab, UT 84532-0037
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 miles west of Moab on Colorado River. Don't need four wheel drive but should have some ground clearance to get here. Seven bedrooms in lodge, $135 a night, two night minimum. Two 2 bedroom houses $370 per night, two night minimum. Two sweet Navajo hogans, $135 per night, two night minimum. Also have camping. $5 per night, per person. Have three side by sides you may use, six kayaks, lot of hiking, climbing, fossils, dinosaur tracks, wicked disc golf course, lots and lots, I probably can't say lots enough times to describe how many wild critters live here. Most of the time a beach, except during snow melt, incredible views and stunning night skies. A few miles from Dead Horse Point, in between Arches and Canyonlands, not far from Bears Ears, without the crowds. I've lived here ten years plus and not a day goes by I don't wake up and be incredibly thankful for where I live. Worry about other parts of your trip, but not this one, I'll take good care of you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Base Camp Adventure Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing