We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Once in a life-time experience.”
Review of Base Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Base Camp
Ranked #22 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Once in a life-time experience.”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Tom was a gracious host amusing my boys with petting lizards and tortoise feedings. The 4-wheelers. The wind caves. The drive there! The biking up Hurrah pass on cool mornings. Great destination!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lazear, CO
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Great hosting, whether you are staying in the lodge or a hogan. You can do as much or as little as you wish. Definitely a great experience for people that want an adventure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We stayed overnight at the Camelot Lodge... a group of four fun-loving, adventurous, low maintenance women. We were very surprised to be treated rather poorly.

Marcy is not longer at the lodge and there are no more gourmet meals. Amy gets into the kitchen and bangs and clangs on pots and pans sounding like construction work is going on through the paper thin walls... only to produce the most mediocre meals with much resentment and hostility.

While checkout time is at noon, when we returned from a hike at 10:30 a.m. we found all of our stuff dumped onto the bedroom floors, beds striped and towels removed from bathrooms. Don't people usually like to shower after a hike? We felt like a major inconvenience during our entire stay which resulted in our leaving early; canceling our camel ride and lunch.

I sent an e-mail to Terry Moore owner/operator about our treatment. He wrote back saying sorry I did not enjoy my stay and ... tough beans! He excused Amy's surly attitude as being "corporate". If she is so corporate what is she doing in the hospitialty industry?

The lodge's setting is fabulous as is the idea of an adventure lodge . Go there for a day trip and enjoy camel rides and frisbee golf. Save some money and return to Moab to spend the night [--] and dine at a good restaurant as they need to brush up on their customer service skills at Camelot.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
46 Thank foxtrotfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Base Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
I don't deserve this review. It was a different business, different name, different owners, two years before I bought the place, and there are not any camels. I don't deserve the good one before it either. The last three, I deserve.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 3, 2005

My husband and I took a camel trek at the lodge and have to say that we had a blast. The lodge is actually a bed and breakfast that serves lunch and dinner. We only went for the camel rides but we looked at the rooms and they are very nice with their own entrance and bathroom. Terry and Marcy are the couple that own it and are so fun. Terry picked us up in town and drove us back because it takes a 4 wheel drive pick up and an hour and a half to go 18 miles. The drive could be scarey for people who don't drive it regulary so I DO recommend that they pick you up for a 50.00 fee. The place is in the middle of the mountains by the Colorado river and it is just breath taking. The ride itself was so much fun and the camels (Bill and Clyde) were gentle giants. Terry also built a frisbee golf course out there which we tried for awhile. I wish we had booked with them and we will next time. It was a wonderful and unique experience which I recommend to everyone!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Base Camp, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Please get rid of the bottom two, one good, one bad. It's a different business, different owners, different purpose and it's been six years. I've been the owner here for five years and you still keep those two reviews on there and neither has anything to do with me or this business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.6 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 34 in Moab
1,294 reviews
18.1 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
2,768 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
9.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Camp

Property: Base Camp
Address: P.O. Box 37, Moab, UT 84532-0037
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 miles west of Moab on Colorado River. Big horn, deer, fox, eagle, blue heron, hawk, falcon, duck, geese, wind caves, arrowhead sites, dinosaur footprints, Indian dwelling, petroglyphs, numerous trails/climbs, Navajo hogans, fossils, petrified wood, Milky Way, large telescope, kayaks, beach most of the time, fire pit, famous disc golf course, porch lizards, fishing, 100 pound tortoise might take you for a hike (frequently all day), and good stories. Have a beach most of the time, but it's up to the river. You have mini fridge and microwave, but most use the main kitchen. housands of acres right outside your door. Hiking, climbing, ATV's, jeep........ ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Base Camp Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing