We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Grill

Sunset Grill
Ranked #15 of 82 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sunset Grill is in the former home of Uranium King Charlie Steen. In the early 1950s Moab was a small farming community. Arches and Canyonlands were places only a lucky few experienced. In 1952 Charles A. Steen, geologist and prospector, put Moab on the world map. The Sunset Grill specializes in hand-cut steaks, prime rib, seafood, and other traditional dishes.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived from Arches NP right at closing time and the owner warmly invited us in. Staff was very professional and friendly to the late stragglers. It was too late to enjoy the view very much but the food was enjoyed by all. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank croasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    270
    112
    52
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Level Contributor
222 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great waitress, wonderful view and best dessert.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Our waitress Alisha was very good and very accurate and spot on with all her recommendations. The recommendation about the food and wine was excellent and very honest, so our expectations were met, even though the food was only average. The surprise came with the dessert, it was the best I have ever had. The chocolate mouse pie is a must and really compliments the view which saved this from getting a lower rating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Inviting, easy, beautiful view, and excellent service. John, Alisha is superb! We had a wonderful time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise5647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Amazing View; Fantastic Food; Grumpy Waitress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Located in the mansion of a Moab millionaire from the uranium boom, it sits on the side of a mountain overlooking the town. Speaking of overlooking, the chef didn't overlook a thing in creating a magnificent meal. Unfortunately the waitress overlooked good manners, but she was efficient and treated everyone equally poorly, so we didn't take it personally.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bear7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had been there 8 years ago and had to go again for the view. It was nice to see Moab from that angle. I had the special salmon topped with crab meat which was okay. My husband really enjoyed his bacon wrapped filet mignon and the second half was just as good cold the next day. We started with escargot on little puff pastry circles and came just short of licking the plate. I thought the prices were quite reasonable and our waitress did a nice job. The house is showing its age but since you spend most of your time looking out the window or at your food, it really wasn't a problem. It was nice to relax on the patio after our meal and watch the sunset. When I called for a reservation, the gentleman even told me what time was best to come. I think a visit here is a must when in Moab.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soc5mom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing