We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Desert Bistro

Desert Bistro
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casually upscale gourmet southwestern cuisine. Join us in our intimate dining room or on the covered patio for fun & innovative food with friendly, attentive service. Visit our website to see our current menu and make reservations. Open Tuesday - Sunday at 5:30pm, Closed Monday nights.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

After reading reviews of how good this place was my boyfriend and I decided to go while we were in Moab for one night. Overall the food and service was amazing!

We ordered the specials for the night (July 21, 2013) peppered Venison rack with Yukon Gold potatoes and vegetables and the Bison tenderloin with garlic mash potato and vegetables. Both meals were cooked perfectly and the flavors were great.

The only (small) downside was the rabbit sausage appetizer we ordered was overcooked. Other than that the flavors were great.

When we are back in Moab we will definitely stop back here for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dash0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    163
    60
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem in Moab”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This restaurant is a real find. It is small with reservations necessary. The staff is very knowledgeable about all aspects of food preparation and is extremely helpful. The menu is quite unique, with appetizers like cheese stuffed dates wrapped in bacon, fried scallops in a chipotle sauce, main courses of excellent steak or elk, excellent fish selections and delicious deserts. We were in Moab for 5 days and ate there every night, with every evening delightful. Expensive (for Moab) but worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard_baringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott,arizona
Level Contributor
306 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Classy oasis in Moab”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our second visit, the first being about 2 years ago. Wonderful experience both times.
Yes it is expensive, but you get what you paid for- an excellent choice for a special occasion...or any occasion for that matter. Server was knowledgeable, friendly, attentive and efficient. Excellent menu choices (including a kid's menu) and very nice wine list. Food was perfectly prepared- entrees included lamb, beef tenderloin and seafood with generous servings. Atmosphere is excellent and we were not rushed spending several pleasant hours dining.
Be sure to get a reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sueprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Upscaled Dining in the Desert”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have eaten here before, twice on this trip to Moab. It continues to be a special place to dine. This is a must for a special night out in Moab. Great food and great service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rbsandusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Food Oasis in Moab”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We arrived at the 5:30 PM opening and boy are we glad we did! Since it was a beautiful April evening we elected to dine on the patio and missed the gathering crowd in the restaurant when we left.

Our server, Karissa, was very knowledgeable and accommodating. Just to preface the below, the presentation of the dishes is spectacular!! In our personal opinion, dining at Desert Bistro is on par with any foodie restaurant you may find in California’s Sonoma or Napa Counties. If only the Bistro had a wine and food paring selection for dinner!

The starter for the evenings dining was a warm and delicious bread loaf served with a trifecta of olive oil infused with herbs, a delicious olive tapenade and an herb infused butter.

For an appetizer we selected the evening special, seared Ahi-Tuna rolled in black and white sesame seeds, served stacked between crispy flour tortillas with a side of wasabi, shredded radish and a sauce mixture that I cannot remember the ingredients of. All just delicious!

My wife and I split the Chipotle Cesar salad with cornbread croutons. We found the salad more than enough for two when you order an appetizer too. The cornbread croutons were a different but wonderful twist to an already great tasting Cesar salad.

Entrée’s; for my wife it was the pork tenderloin in a reduction sauce, accompanied by mashed potatoes with a shredded potato garnish. Both of our entrée’s came with their own individual vegetable medley. Not always the case when you dine out! I selected one of the “game” specials, a smoked and bacon wrapped Bison tenderloin (medium rare) served on a bed of mashed potatoes surrounded by a reduction sauce and accompanied by a grilled vegetable medley. The Bison was yummy and a change from beef.

Overall, the dining experience this night was memorable and I would recommend this restaurant to those that are willing to spend a bit more for great food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danodude1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing