We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Monica Pope" in Moab!!!”
Review of Desert Bistro

Desert Bistro
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casually upscale gourmet southwestern cuisine. Join us in our intimate dining room or on the covered patio for fun & innovative food with friendly, attentive service. Visit our website to see our current menu and make reservations. Open Tuesday - Sunday at 5:30pm, Closed Monday nights.
Pearland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"Monica Pope" in Moab!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Those of you from the Houston area might recognize the title. While eating the absolutely perfect meal my wife and I both commented that it had a Monica Pope type of feel to it. If you don't know, google Monica Pope and you'll read what it was like to eat at Desert Bistro. The service ... The food ... The presentation ... The wine... Loved it all. While a little on the expensive side you really will not go wrong here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    168
    60
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Culinary gem in the desert”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food was excellent. Creative, delicious and beautiful presentation. I had the quail quesadillas, which were very good. The best part was the tomatillo salsa. Otherwise a bit too much cheese for my taste. I also had a pistachio encrusted halibut with a watermelon, cucumber, jicama and mint salad. After hiking to delicate arch in 100 degrees this was perfect. My only criticism was my table was near the kitchen and the staff was very chatty and loud, which hurt the ambiance. They should be mindful of dinners and keep their conversations down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsgcapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, allergy friendly”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Finally! A restaurant that understands food allergies and can cater to them perfectly. Typically I avoid eating out or am often disappointed, but not at the desert bistro. From the warm homemade bread through the amuse-bouche, tuna appetizer and bison main dish - the mouth was HAPPY! Be prepared to pay for the quality you get, but know that ever cent you pay will be worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blondeambition151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality food, amazing service!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spend only one full day in moab and had a full day of activities. Between the activities we had 45mins for dinner and really wanted to eat here since it is rated #1 on trip advisor. Wow, what a beautiful place, service was excellent! They knew we were on a time crunch and provided our food really quick. Food was amazing! I am a picky eater but this food was good! Healthy, delicious, quality food! Would eat at dessert bistro again in a heart beat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mochatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
1 review
“Girls Night Out”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best meal and service I have ever had in Moab!! Owners, Carl & Michelle, know what they are doing!! It was a pleasure to meet them and get their insight on owning a restaurant in Moab. We look forward to our next Desert Bistro experience!! Our server, "B", was incredible as well. Very knowledgeable. It was obvious that she had years of fine dining restaurant experience.
The ambiance on the patio was amazing.
Thanks again for a spectacular Moab dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachBabe726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing