We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the two best restaurants in Southern Utah”
Review of Desert Bistro

Desert Bistro
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casually upscale gourmet southwestern cuisine. Join us in our intimate dining room or on the covered patio for fun & innovative food with friendly, attentive service. Visit our website to see our current menu and make reservations. Open Tuesday - Sunday at 5:30pm, Closed Monday nights.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the two best restaurants in Southern Utah”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a creative, high-quality, professional restaurant in every respect. It would be an asset to any city and it is, at the same time, entirely comfortable and consistent with its very special locatoin, Moab.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerylV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    168
    60
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Moab”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a superb restaurant, excellent food and service all around. From starters to desert it was all excellent. My only regret is that our reservation with them was for our last day in Moab, or we would've eaten there again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wtravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best in Moab; however. . .”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Our dinner at the Desert Bistro was planned weeks in advance of our arrival in Moab. It was selected on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews which praised this fine dining restaurant as the best in Moab. Rightly so--in general the creativity, presentation and execution was excellent, with one exception. We shared a steak that was described as a Wagyu-style New York Strip cooked medium rare. The accoutrements were wonderful, but the beef was tough--seriously tough. When it was called to the attention of the server, the manager stopped at our table and discounted the meal and waived the split fee. Although the steak was a disappointment, the Desert Bistro gets high marks for trying to make the situation right. I suspect that our experience was an aberration; everything else that we tasted was excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gravygourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique Cuisine”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Easily the best restaurant in Moab for a unique and tasty dinner.The appetizers were amazing
(rabbit sausage for one) and they had some interesting venison selections,burgers or chops.
Both were fantastic ,nice waitstaff and a good wine list.Not a cheap night but a great reward after hiking the canyons>

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfaggella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“For a special occasion”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

At the end of a Moab vacation, we took the family here. It was a great place to dine for our last night before returning home. All the items are very fresh, the environment is very welcoming and quiet and the service is prompt without being intrusive. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Desert Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing