We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food-Busy Restaurant”

Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole
Ranked #16 of 83 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food-Busy Restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had just finished a long day in Canyonland NP and Dead Horse Point State Park and wanted a restaurant where we could get a good meal and relax. Based on prior Trip Advisor reviews, we went to Zax's and we were not disappointed. While there was a wait in the main dining room, we were able to sit at a booth in the bar area right away. Angel was our waitress and she was great! My wife had the salmon (which they said was flown in fresh...don't know for sure, but she said it was good), and I had the Fettuccine Alfredo with shrimp which was very good. There is a delicious, very large chocolate chip cookie (warm from the oven) with ice cream for dessert and good coffee! By the time we left, the restaurant was really busy and the wait much longer, which tells how popular a restaurant this is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlb9230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,408
    1,274
    518
    97
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goddard, Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Downtown Moab”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Mediterranean Pasta was wonderful! The pasta (noodles) are made in Utah - combined with a nice variety of vegetables with a light oil based sauce. We had this dish twice in the 5 days we were in Moab. Service was also very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnightHawk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, attentive staff”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I lead photography workshops for Muench Workshops - we used Zax to cater pizzas and some italian food to our hotel one night last week. The owner was great to deal with over the phone, ahead of time, and the staff that showed up at our hotel was attentive. The food, especially the pizza, was amazingly good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awmuenchworkshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ordinary food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate here upon the recommendation of our inn clerk (they had given us a coupon to use as well, but we noticed later that the waitress, although taking it, did not give us the discount). The food was meh, as were the drinks. Loud patrons, who were probably travelers like us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mapaklenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Ga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place to eat in Moab”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our hotel gave us a coupon that we could use at Zax so we gave it a try. The first time we had a terrific pizza! YUM! Good service! Good prices! So we went back again the next night. We had the nightly special and it was lasagna and was very good. You can sit in the sports bar or restaurant or outside where there are ceiling heaters. Everyone who assisted us was very pleasant and friendly. I would eat here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lou_louRome_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole also viewed

 

Been to Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing