We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole

Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole
Ranked #13 of 82 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This restaurant can best be described as average. Average food, average service, average dining room. Neither bad nor exceptional. The pizzas - which the hotel makes a big fuss about - are fine, but again, nothing to write home about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,332
    1,192
    468
    90
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The place was busy and had that TGI Fridays feel so my expectations weren't high. We had drinks at the bar while waiting for a table which were fine. There's some strange Utah law that you can't carry your drinks through the hall so they had to take then from us at the front desk and return them once we were seated. We ordered the hummus appetizer since it was late and we were hungry, thinking it would take some time for our main entree to be delivered. It was a nice appetizer and we only ate part of it because our Tree Hugger pizza came so quickly (waiter apologized for being so prompt!). The pizza was very good - light and refreshing. The service was excellent - friendly and attentive. We left feeling perfectly satisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2genes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitkin, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Italian and Diesel Exhaust”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We ate on their (crowded, I.e. jam-packed) patio. Food was good, not outstanding. Caesar salad one of the least flavorful I've ever ordered. Prices seemed reasonable, but add-ons were very expensive. Quantities were fairly small.

What we didn't anticipate was the ambience (or lack of) of trying to enjoy a meal with constant heavy traffic including noise and exhaust fumes, 12-15 feet away! That, and the very crowded tables, which included a couple screaming infants 3 feet behind us, did not make for a dining experience we would repeat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PitkinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ate here twice during our visit to Moab, and it was great both times! The service was excellent, fast and friendly! Had the pizza bar the first time, it was YUMMO - Lots of selection and variety. Had the Rueben when we went back and it was delicious as well - and I am picky picky about Ruebens. Can't say enough about this place, LOVE IT.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Freedom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a pizza which was lukewarm when brought to us. I sent it back and the pan was then hot but the pizza was still barely edible. I like my hot food to be hot which didn't happen at Zax so we won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb045919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole also viewed

 

Been to Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing