We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak and salad at day's end”

Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole
Ranked #17 of 83 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
West Yellowstone, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steak and salad at day's end”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Zax is the place with the flickering pinyon lamp at the heart of town. On a busy Saturday night, we waited a good half hour for a table, but were happy we did so. I had a perfectly grilled steak and my own choices of sides via the salad bar. My family enjoyed burgers and pizza and local brews, all brought by a cheery waitress in spite of the crush. Loud, hectic, somewhat expensive, but satisfying, with a Pizza bar and salad bar for those who are picky about what they can have or desire. The best place in downtown Moab at the end of a long, hot day in the sun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,424
    1,298
    530
    101
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pizza Pizza did I say Pizza”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Pizza bar is the place to go if you have teens that need to eat. Every kind of Pizza you can think of and some you can not. All I can say is YUM!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2day4memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

So good we ate there twice in the 3 days we were there! Good selection of food and huge quantities and reasonable price!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Recommended to us, it was great!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed two pizzas, cheesy garlic bread, salad, and especially delicious blue cheese dressing. Awesome food, great service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharper924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Pizza was lacking”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My waiter did ok, but the problem was the food. I ordered a pizza with Canadian bacon on it,. maybe I was expecting too much but it came with diced Canadian bacon. It looked and tasted like toppings on a Totinos pizza. Sorry, just being honest.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avninjascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhhhMoab, Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
avninjascott REALLY? Totino's REALLY? You must get different Totino's in Vancouver! Our dough is rolled fresh daily and as you can see by other reviews, our pizza has been a favorite for many traveler in the past 10 years. We have fresh dough and fresh ingredients.

Thanks for the review and hope you give us another try.

Thanks

Team Zax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole also viewed

 

Been to Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing