We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant run by two sisters. Friendly and attentive service”

Twisted Sistas' Cafe
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a lunch & dinner facility that offers fresh salads, homemade soups, tapas, wraps & burgers at lunch and main course plates at dinner. We specialize in a variety of fusion foods consisting of Coconut Shrimp, Flatbreads, Seafood Tom Yum, Fresh Fish and Beef Tenderloin, Vegetarian & Gluten free Dishes. Looking for something different in Moab...We are your place. Sharing is always recommended. We welcome our foreign friends!!
Southport, CT
Level Contributor
430 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great restaurant run by two sisters. Friendly and attentive service”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This new restaurant run by two sisters originally from Vermont shows a lot of originality in its cooking. We started out with a beet salad, onion soup, and a Cesar salad. All were delicious. I particularly liked the big chunks of beets mixed with pomegranates and goat cheese. The onion soup was salty, but that is because of the cheese topping. The mains of a seafood Angel pasta on a Tom Yum base was also well done with the pasta cooked perfectly- not an easy job given the fine ness of the pasta. Excellent home made desserts of a raspberry sorbet and a gluten free flour less chocolate cake. I highly recommend this restaurant- I am astounded by the overall excellence given that there is a single chef in the back preparing all. The decor is funky and humorous. Definitely worth a visit even if it is just for the warm welcome,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elaine3Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    232
    74
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Sistas" has a hit on its hands.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

During my five days using Moab as a base of operations to explore Utah's National and State parks we landed at Twisted Sistas' Cafe two nights - and it would have been more if they had been open the entire week.

The sisters involved run a creative kitchen with a lively atmosphere. It's a casual place where locals and tourists alike are welcome and immediately feel at home. There's a real pride of ownership, with one sister at the front of house and the other masterfully managing the kitchen.

For starters on the first night I had the curry coconut fried shrimp (came with 6 to a portion) and on the second I tried both the Roasted beet and pomegranate salad, and the spicy coconut shrimp bisque. The beet salad was fresh, the beets perfectly cooked so that they were still crunchy and full of flavour, with the pomegranate adding a hint of sweetness that was a perfect complement to the salad and crumbled feta cheese. The spicy coconut bisque with a parmesan crisp is inspired, spicy but not 'hot', with lots of shrimp.

The first night I had the Seafood Tom Yum, a mix of calamari, scallops and shrimp in a thai coconut broth that was aromatic and delicious. Served over angel hair pasta this is almost more of a soup, it was perfect for a winter's evening. It was spicy and yet didn't overwhelm the delicate seafood, but provided a perfect compliment. I was encouraged the finish the evening with the Chocolate peanut butter pie; made in house with their own peanut butter ganache this was another perfectly balanced treat.

The second night I had the almond crusted salmon with a nutty wild rice pilaf and asparagus. The salmon was cooked through but still moist and tender, the rice had a fantastic flavour and the vegetables were perfectly prepared. My friend had the seared tuna salad for an entree the second night, followed by the chocolate peanut butter pie again and a long conversation with owners Julie and Terri Gutterson who made us feel like family and not just patrons.

We had local craft beers both nights, great company, and some of the best food of our two week trip. A must in Moab.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Yummy sandwiches and soup. Wonderful food, great atmosphere. This eatery has not been here too long. I hope more and more people discover it for a satisfying, healthy meals.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great servcie on Thanksgiving Day!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were in search of a restaurant open in Moab on Thanksgiving Day. Twisted Sistas' was! We're so glad we ate there! The food was super-delicious and the service was great! I'd eat there again any day, not just Thanksgiving!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gem of a cafe in Moab”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had lunch here and the food was really special! Owned by two sisters who really know food and service. We loved it. Very charming decor also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twisted Sistas' Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing