We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coyote Land Tours

Coyote Land Tours
Ranked #31 of 61 Tours in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Covina, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

When we got into town and asked around for different tours to take, everyone said to call John at Coyote Land Tours. What sold me was that he said if we didn't like the tour, we didn't have to pay...who does that? Our family did the Hell's Revenge sunset tour and our age group was 4 years to 75 years old. John's dog Hasbro is a great straight man for John's jokes and stories (and John's pretty good on the harmonica too :). John & Hasbro kept our whole group entertained and while some of the ride was scary, it was scary FUN! We felt safe the whole time...I should mention that John's an EMT too so we knew we were in good hands. We got to see an amazing sunset, cool dinosaur footprints, and we found some Indian arrowheads. (How in the world does he know where to find them? Hmmmm.....) He timed the tour with the most incredible of the Moab valley and the Colorado River right at sunset...it was spectacular. We've already booked another trip for later this year. Thanks John & Hasbro! (Oh yah, and his promise to not charge us if we didn't have a good time? We paid, happily!)_

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not your normal tour...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

But then again neither is your driver/tour guide John and his sidekick Hasbro the Wonder Dog. Heck, outside of Moab, most people have never seen a Unimog, let alone a bright yellow Unimog! What's a Unimog? It's the truck John drives while he entertains you and takes your mind off the 45 degree incline you are climbing. By the end of your trip you will have learned quite a bit about the geology and flora arond Moab, not to mention laughing at some good and bad jokes. If you did not bring your own Rubicon to Moab, then John and Coyote Land Tours are the way to go four wheeling and see the back country! Great guide, great truck and good dog!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YargG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Taking a Coyote Land Tour with John and Hasbro is an unforgettable experience. You can't go wrong with beautiful scenery, experience, safety and adventure! You'll see Moab's incredible backcountry, beautiful views of the La Sal Mountains, and if you are lucky to do a sunset tour, stunning, colorful, views above the Colorado River and stars like you've never seen before. I am not a big off-roading fan, but this tour has something for everyone, and I have taken it several times with family and friends who come to visit. And the Unimog is such an amazing vehicle! I'm always amazed at what it can do. You'll find that John is extremely knowledgeable, fun, entertaining, and very passionate about what he does. He's very experienced as he has been off-roading for years, and designed and maintains his own vehicles. His tours are super flexible, as he will stop when someone wants a photo, or hang out if a group wants to stargaze a bit longer. He truly believes it is YOUR tour, and tries to accommodate folks as best as he can. You'll be talking about your Unimog tour for years!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ABSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best way to see the sunset over Moab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The evening sunset Unimog tour through Hell' Revenge with Unimog John is an exciting way to spend your evening and see some amazing views. John is not only very knowledgeable, he loves what he does and sharing his love with new clients. Oh and if you are looking for some new cheesy jokes to add to your repertoire he has you covered there too! Hasbro is a great scout insuring the trail is safe for our travels and is very good at adding his mug to everyone’s pictures. If you are headed through Moab I strongly recommend that you set aside some time to join John and Hasbro on one of their exciting Unimog adventures!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amaaaaaazing experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

If I was ever to visit Moab again, I would CERTAINLY take another trip with John and Hasbro. I had the time of my life and, even though I have a terrible fear of heights, I never felt at risk or unsafe. What a character John is, and Hasbro is the best dog EVER.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dWYEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Land Tours also viewed

 

Been to Coyote Land Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing