We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”
Review of Moab Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moab Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel was just what we wanted - reasonably priced, centrally located and walkable to main street shops and restaurants. The Moab Brewery and a grocery store are right across the street and the pool and hot tub were just what we needed. Updated rooms were nice and hotel room (facing the back of the hotel) was very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tjdunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    351
    167
    37
    29
See reviews for
261
309
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I've been staying at the Moab Valley Inn for years and have stayed at most of the hotels/motels in town. We often end up at the Moab Valley Inn because it's usually a pretty good value compared to others. We were pleasantly surprised by how the recent remodel turned out. Room was comfortable and clean, the fridge was a decent size and fit our snacks and drinks, and the room had decent space for everything. While it's not as conveniently located as the Best Westerns, it's still within walking distance of bars and restaurants. Service was very good as well and efficient. Our friends booked a Queen Suite room but it didn't seem they remodeled the sinks, etc as nice as our regular queen/queen room. We'll be more likely to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool can be loud with all the kids running wild below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here while in Moab and had a great stay. Room was very clean, overnight activity was very quiet, and front desk staff were very accommodating to us. Walking distance (about 3 blocks south) of what I would call the main downtown section of Moab. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayneticMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Moab Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your response. I am glad your recent stay met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Moab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The MVI is a newly renovated, clean, well equipped hotel, located near the center of busy Moab, Utah.

It’s within walking distance to several stores and restaurants, including the Moab Brewery (Recommended if you’re thirsty) which is right across the street. The facility includes an indoor pool, and hot tub, exercise room, continental breakfast, laundry rooms, and several vending machines. It’s two floors, and there are elevators.

But, during my week long stay, several minor faults were discovered. I will attribute most of them to the “Newly-Renovated” situation. Because the updating was just recently completed, some little things were overlooked. First, there were no chairs in my room, desk type or otherwise. Sitting on the bed instead of a chair for an extended period is not fun. I told the office right way, two days later, still nothing. The desk was also devoid of any type of lighting. Apparently my room was not unique. I saw maintenance delivering chairs and lamps on my way out the third morning. After returneding in the evening –still no chair. I finally took one that was sitting in the hallway. I had a chuckle when it was too tall to fit under the desk though. Also, there’s was a big empty corner in my room where an easy chair would fit. Alas, Nothing but empty space. Then there’s the bathroom door that refused to stay open. I discovered one of the hinge pins was not installed correctly. And my room had a toilet that trickled non-stop.

For the most part, these are minor annoyances. But then there’s the internet situation. The free in-room Wi-Fi was very slow, and signal weak. The “Computer” in the Business Office should be thrown in a dumpster. It’s an old XP Dell unit (Microsoft is ending support for XP machines in April –are we listening management?) that was so slow, and unresponsive, that I ran the already installed (But not updated) Anti-Malware software, and found viruses installed. Not a good situation.

It may sound funny as this point, but I would still recommend the Moab Valley Inn to travelers seeking lodging in Moab. It’s very clean, and reasonably priced. Most of the issues will work themselves out in time. Just watch out for that computer in the business office.

Room Tip: Lower floor means easy exits, but parked cars are close to your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Moab Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. I apologize that your room was missing lamps and chairs. As you stated, we have just finished a major remodel of the hotel and unfortunately the lamps and chairs had not arrived in time. I am happy to say that all the rooms now have desk chairs, sitting chairs and lamps and we are very excited about our new, remodeled rooms.

And your comment about the business center computer is spot on, I have a new computer on order so we can retire that old Dell.

Once again, I apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your patience with us while trying to finish up a winter long remodel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coloado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The fumes from the recent remodel are so strong that my eyes were stinging after only a few minutes in the room. We asked for another room, and were blown over by the fumes as soon as we opened the door. The young woman at the front desk told me that my credit card would be charged for two nights even though I was only there for a few minutes. We left anyway and luckily got the last room at the best western which is awesome.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoadoKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Moab Valley Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your response. I apologize that your experience was less than pleasant. We have recently remodeled our guest rooms over the winter and although we are very excited about our new rooms, I realize that some people are very sensitive to new paint and furniture smells. We do not charge any guest if they find the accommodations not to their liking upon check in and therefore your credit card was not charged any amount. Once again, I do apologize for your inconvenience. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the rooms. The suites that feature a small sitting room with a kitchenette are even better (ours even had a TV in the bathroom)! The hotel is located across from a great market where they have delicious sandwiches in addition to a good selection of grocery items. The Moab Brewery is also across the street and serves reasonably priced meals and the service is fast and efficient. There is an indoor swimming pool and a small exercise room. The Wi-Fi was free and very fast. There is a great complimentary breakfast with waffle makers, along with cereals, juices, yogurt, muffins, and fresh fruit. The rooms are currently getting a complete update, but 1/3 of the rooms were available as of mid-March, 2014. I definitely would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertPC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Our room was okay, walls could be thicker. We were only there for one day room was little old school. We had gotten a suite the bathroom could use an update.
Loved that the pool was open though, heated of course!
Also when we went in the morning to have breakfast the room was empty. Never in my life have I went to a hotel breakfast with no one there was quite nice!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank angiekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.7 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Moab
Sleep Inn Moab
#23 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.9 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moab Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moab Valley Inn

Property: Moab Valley Inn
Address: 711 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2967
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moab Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the scenic beauty of southeastern Utah at the Moab Valley Inn. Located in the heart of Moab, UT, our hotel is minutes away from some of the country's best hiking, mountain biking, climbing, rafting and camping. We have a variety of spacious, family friendly accommodations, and all of our rooms include free wireless Internet access and a continental breakfast. Whether you want to visit Arches National Park, go 4-wheeling in the desert, attend one of Moab's seasonal events or simply relax in our swimming pool and Jacuzzi, you will find everything you're looking for at the Moab Valley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moab Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moab Valley Hotel Moab
Moab Valley Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing