We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greedy management”
Review of Moab Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moab Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Greedy management”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

When I reserved my room a few months ago I was told I could checkout an hour late (so I would have time to shower after the half marathon) when I actually check in and remind them, the front desk (manager) literally laughs at me and says there is no chance. They can't have any late check out because housekeeping works till 3 as it is to make all the rooms ready.
The other front desk staff I talked to later actually showed empathy and offered suggestions, also stated they didn't know why the managers changed this because in years past they did allow it. There was also another guest there that forgot a toothbrush. Normally, hotels seem to have at least those really cheep brushes to give you in a pinch as a hospitality gift, but this lady was shown to a vending machine to purchase her own.
On a side note, I left my charger behind. Called the hotel at 1pm to see if they found it, and I was informed the housekeeping staff had already gone home for the day and to try back another time (when I was told the reason I couldn't have late check out was because they work till 3 anyway)
The hotel itself has paper thin walls, very creaky floors, and dated uncomfortable mattresses. Hope you weren't expecting a good nights sleep. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klif01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    360
    171
    37
    29
See reviews for
271
316
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Questa, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location. Grocery store and brewery with food across the street was really convenient. Hotel is on main road and an easy walk to down town. Trails behind hotel kept us entertained for hours in the evenings after dinner.

Attended small conference on site. Hotel was very accommodating.

Room was large and clean. Small refrigerator and microwave in room. Beds were very comfortable but had old fashioned bedspreads (yuck). Bathrooms had nice towels and good counter space.

Indoor pool was open during our visit but didn't witness anyone using it. Looked clean and small.

Traveled with coworker and would stay again.

Room Tip: Chose room on back side of hotel for quiet and view of woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca_ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during thanksgiving weekend. It was a very good stay located close to arches national park. The breakfast they provided was also good with different varieties. Also the moab brewery and restaurant that was located across the street from hotel was wonderful. We can just walk there and didnt have to worry about parking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My favorite hotel in Moab and they came through big time over Thanksgiving. Large rooms, pet friendly, loads of parking and a really great staff. We also used one of the HUGE and plush conference rooms for our stay and couldn't have been happier. A great BBQ place in the same parking lot or stroll across the street to the Moab Brewery, =excellent!

Room Tip: Anyone at the front desk can help you find the perfect room for your Moab adventure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Rooms large and functional. Breakfast starts early, is simple but unlimited, not to my taste but most guests seemed happy to tuck in. Popular with families and groups of cyclists, so sometimes facilities like the pool seemed overrun. The best bit of this hotel is the helpful staff. Its a hand location for several good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B210111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A little run down, but certainly acceptable. We only stayed one night. McDonald's is right across the street if you need quick food. We had a good complimentary breakfast with lots of choices and attentive staff. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauiJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijante mundial
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Basic but clean. Located at one end of Moab this Hotel is a littel bit outdated, furniture, beds and baths are worn out.
Continental Breakfast is not good at all, but you expect that of a continental.
Rooms are huge and clear, baths small. Price reasonable.
If you come for biking or hiking be aware that there are only 2 laundry machines (washer/dryer) and many people to do the laundry.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on a high floor and facing back to avoid noises from the main road just in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MigueAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
2.7 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 34 in Moab
1,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#27 of 34 in Moab
345 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moab Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moab Valley Inn

Property: Moab Valley Inn
Address: 711 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2967
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moab Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the scenic beauty of southeastern Utah at the Moab Valley Inn. Located in the heart of Moab, UT, our hotel is minutes away from some of the country's best hiking, mountain biking, climbing, rafting and camping. We have a variety of spacious, family friendly accommodations, and all of our rooms include free wireless Internet access and a continental breakfast. Whether you want to visit Arches National Park, go 4-wheeling in the desert, attend one of Moab's seasonal events or simply relax in our swimming pool and Jacuzzi, you will find everything you're looking for at the Moab Valley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moab Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moab Valley Hotel Moab
Moab Valley Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing