We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible scenery!”
Review of Castle Valley

Ranked #16 of 96 things to do in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This valley has some of the most famous and best views in Utah.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Incredible scenery!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went through Castle Valley while driving the La Sal Mountain Loop. Just more fabulous red rock views! No services here but a great drive and cooler temperatures than Moab. To appreciate Cathedral Valley I highly recommend you travel on the road to La Sal Mountain where there are numerous turnouts to view this beautiful valley!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dunn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    52
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent adventure! We have ridden at other national parks and this was the BEST. The wranglers ensured a safe ride while providing the most entertaining adventure. Our two 8 year old grandkids had never ridden before and they had the adventure of a lifetime. I am 70 years old and I had a great time without any aches and pains. Ride the same hills that John Wayne rode!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rednrudy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Took a leisurely drive up the valley and over the La Sal drive and back to Moab. As someone pointed out, it's like a mini Monument Valley. In any other place this would be a major tourist attraction in itself, but right up against Canyonlands, Dead Horse and Arches, it's just another pretty valley but from a different perspective! Would love to be 50 years younger and on the Kokopelli bike run!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank yonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grootschermer, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful red rocks but too many tourists”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

No doubt about it, Highway 128 from Moab is a beautiful scenic drive.
There are the huge red rocks, there is the wide but not too wild Colorado river.
Try and go there when the sun is shining because with the sun out the red rocks are so much more brighter than they are on a cloudy day.

I hadn't been there for 15 years and I was surprised by how much things had changed.
Where first there was solitude and you had to ask the locals where to find the good hikes and the best spots to drop a canoe into the river, you will now find signs and parking places and camping spots galore.
The trail to Negro Bill for instance - once you had to really watch out where that started.
Today I noticed a parking place which had room for 30 to 40 cars - and they were already parked.

If this doesn't bother you - go out there and just enjoy the drive.
If you like things a little less touristy (like me) you can still see how beautiful the rocks are.
But you may find the whole experience not as thrilling as before 'they paved paradise and put up a parking lot'....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JDm452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome drive to Castle Valley.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We had no idea this drive along the Colorado river to Castle Valley village would be so amazing. The cliffs, river views, colours of the soil were amazing.
Make a stop at the Castle Creek Winery on the way back if you return the same way and don't do the full loop road. The wines are good and well priced ($13) and the server said that all grapes are from their own vineyard or within 90 miles.A nice short drive from Moab.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyJo_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing