We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hike”

Ranked #7 of 96 things to do in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Had not read about this trail prior to our trip but found it to be one of the best hikes outside of Canyonlands NP.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    132
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hike with a good reward at the end”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The hike is pretty level for 95% of the way, you do climb a little right at the end before you reach the bridge. You will need to make a few (I didn't count) crossings of the creek that flows down the middle of the canyon. The hike is a little over 2 miles long...go do it!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dasdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful stream, trees, flowers, and natural bridge”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I agree entirely with the preceding (Aug. 18) reviews. I would emphasize, however, how unusual these beautiful trees and flowers are in mostly-desert Utah. (It's similar in my memory to Zion National Park.)

You have the flowers (even in mid-August), the trees, the wonderful gurgling stream, and, at the end, the spectacular Morning Glory Bridge (also known as Morning Glory Arch), which, at least in the morning, is a completely shady spot. The morning we were there, there were several people rappelling down the side of the canyon by the bridge.

The hike is difficult enough to discourage the many people who don't want to walk more than 30 minutes. You should probably allow 4 hours round-trip rather than the 3 some mention. I'd say it could be a problem for kids under 10 years of age.

I was tempted to wear sandals or watershoes because of the numerous stream-crossings, but am glad I didn't. Some parts of the trail are quite rocky, and others have slanted rocks slick with dust (/mud when wet), and require either hiking shoes or tennis shoes with good tread.

We saw only about 30 people total on our August-Monday-morning hike.

The canyon is described at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negro_Bill_Canyon .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank specht3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hike Outside Arches”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a nice 4.5 mile hike [round trip] with shade trees along the way. The high canyon walls on either side provide some shade as well which makes this a good hike for the afternoon when it's normally too hot to hike in summer. At the end of the hike is a Morning Glory Arch. It's a fairly rigorous hike, although our teenagers and us all enjoyed it. There is a creek that we criss-crossed on the way up and back that kept things interesting. There are a few rock formations to scramble up and down as well. Also not as crowded since it's outside Arches National Park.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Hikes outside Arches NP and this is one of them!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We got this hike recommended to us by Maggie from Solfun biking -- and the locals have it right! This was a really fun, unique hike in Arches. First, you hike along the river for a long period of time, which provides GREAT shade on a hot day in Moab. You cross the river several times and then work your way up hiking into a canyon area. There is an arch at the end of the trail. My husband and I did it in the early morning and it was peaceful and beautiful We enjoyed waiting and watching the sun crest over the canyon wall and hit the arch -- as we waited for this we enjoyed the sun hitting other parts of the opposite canyon side and all the birds, squirrels, chipmunks wake up and actively start their breakfast searches and visiting for the day. If you like this hike you'll like Corona Arch and Devils Garden also -- best hikes in Arches!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lvvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negro Bill Canyon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Negro Bill Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing