We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Moab
SLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2006

This place is a quiet place in the center of Moab. The rooms was clean and the front desk people were friendly especially "Sydney". We stayed here for 3 nights and looked forward each night to sit in the lobby next to the fireplace with our coffee and chat with "Sydney". She made us feel "at home". We definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salt_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    205
    176
    58
    43
See reviews for
126
253
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2005

We reserved two nights at River Canyon Lodge based upon what we had seen on web sites. We were immediately disappointed upon arrival. The exterior is not at all what is pictured on the web. It's cheap never washed vinyl siding with very few balconies and more industrial than rustic. The hotel was remodeled within the past 6 months but our room was a joke. Carpet was frayed, light bulbs burned out, no bedroom furniture to even place an alarm clock on, light switches and cable/phone jacks not relocated (and over the bed with no connection), excessively noisy, poor window treatments that streamed in light, incredibly uncomfortable beds, the free Wi-Fi was inoperable. When we checked out early, no inquiry as to why -- completely disinterested staff (more interested in changing the channels on the lobby TV for their viewing than on interacting with guests). Paid $113+, moved to a much nicer hotel (Best Western Canyonlands Inn) for much less and a better room. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank azwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2005

My shoulder still hurts from the pillows there! The rooms are very small, but cleverly designed. The decor is pretty nice with southwestern style. The hot tub was a bit too cool.
No view. That picture they show with their description is definitely not the hotel, it is a picture on their sign. This is a converted microtel. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2005

I booked this hotel before reading the reviews on this website. I was nervous, at best. We pulled in and the other reviewers are right, it looks nothing like the picture. It doesn't look like a lodge at all.

Our room was a bit small, though I didn't feel cramped. The best part was the cleanliness. This was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. For the price, we thought it was well worth it.

It had a nice large hot tub and pool and the staff was accomodating. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerislc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2005

Great staff here, but rooms are cramped. There are no desks, tables or chairs in the standard room. Little floor space remains between beds, walls etc. if you have to open luggage there. It does have a fridge however.

Look elsewhere if you plan on staying more than one night...

Helpful?
5 Thank ralphguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, ME
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2004

I do not know why this hotel gets such a bad rap. My wife and I stayed at the River Canyon Lodge & Suites from 10/6 to 10/10/2004 and really enjoyed our stay. You could tell that the lobby had just been refinished by the smell of wood when you walked in.
We had a two bedroom suite with full kitchen on the third floor that had a balcony and we would spend the early evenings sitting out at watching the goings-ons. The decor of the room was a bit plain and could be made to give it a more homier feel. The beds tend to sqweak due to the metal foundation there on but this is minor. The full kitchen had an electric stove, small fridge, microwave and dishes, etc. The hotel is located just off Main St (Main St. i.e. Route 191 is very busy during the day) and is within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants (try Zax wood fired pizza). There's also a small bakery (Knave of hearts) across the street with excellent baked goods. The staff was very helpful when they were asked about the area. My wife and I were a bit worried before we got there due to some reviews we'd read but all and all we had a great stay. The only reason a gave the hotel a *** rating was the decor of the rooms, other than that I would of given River Canyon Lodge & Suites a **** rating. To sum-up this review my wife and I would definately stay here again.

Helpful?
10 Thank dhdinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2004

This hotel started life as a Microtel and recently became the "River Canyon Lodge." I've never stayed at a Microtel, but if the construction of this building is any indication, they should probably be avoided. It is apparently all wood construction, and with four kids on the third floor, I wouldn't want to be in the room below. Every step could be heard. That was the biggest complaint. Others are the smallness of the room, the relatively high cost, and the general "cheapness" of the furniture and fixtures in the room. Perhaps those will be upgraded as the renovations to convert it fully are completed (they were in the process of remodeling the lobby,) but it generally reminded of Motel 6 grade acoutrements.

On the plus side, the TV had lots of channels, the refrigerator, microwave, and sink were very handy, and the pool was nice. The staff was also very courteous. If I had paid $40/night, I would have probably thought it wasn't too bad of a place to stay, but for $70-$80/night, I expected more.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#21 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Moab
Sleep Inn Moab
#22 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowen Motel
Bowen Motel
#16 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Property: River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Address: 71 W 200 N, Moab, UT 84532-2328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value in downtown Moab. Modern 3 story hotel with elevator located in the heart of downtown Moab. Hotel guests can walk to many restaurants, bars, art galleries, and native retail stores.We offer Free Wi-Fi, large pool and Moab's largest hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Canyon Hotel Moab
River Canyon Moab
River Canyon Lodge Inn And Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing