We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a room - and barely that”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Reviewed June 28, 2009

After being greeted by overflowing trash cans flanking the front door, I found the room to be tiny and crowded, the towels thin, and the whole place pretty run down. No amenities to speak of except coffee in the lobby and the pool and spa. It felt like a dorm, and only the suites have wireless internet in them (everyone else needs to use it in the lobby). Rack rate is over $100 a night, but this is at best a $40 hotel. You can do much better in Moab, at least until they completely overhaul it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SGTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2009

We offer different room types at the hotel. The room layouts are shown on website. Guests also have option to upgrade room type. We offer many extra amenities in guest rooms. Each guest room offers refrigerator and microwave, clock radio, hairdryer, 32"color cable tv, and all the other expected amenities from a nice mid scale lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 655 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

- I was waiting for 15 minutes in the reception to check in (there was nobody there)
- Very noisy, I could hear the street, other rooms and people in the corridor
- Very small room, they advertise a queen bed, but it's just a full
- Terrible mattress
- The towel was more of an old rag than a towel

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abeisert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Manager at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2009

Our staff prides itself to offer excellent service. Alike many places, we only have 1 desk clerk working during certain hours. Unfortunately, when there is only 1 desk clerk working, sometimes they may need to step away to help guests or to take personal breaks.

We offer several room types at the hotel, such as spacious two bedroom suite, regular and deluxe rooms with either 1 or 2 queen beds. We also offer standard rooms with 1 ueen beds. Room rates also commensurate with selected room type.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Staff was great! Room was confortable and clean. It was worth more than what I paid for, very nice staff( front desk). Coffee 24 hours and fresh! Fire place very nice. Location is right on the heart of moab, in town but away from the MAin st. Large parking lot for RV's. Smoke free!!! Very Cozy and welcoming!!! I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplenpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We booked the executive suite and were dissapointed. Very blah looking room, with a weird smell. The promised kitchen had very little to work with to cook breckfast. We arrived early I will admit, I checked with the front desk at 10 am and asked if some wild chance our room was ready. They said no, with out checking. Said rooms are ready for check in at 3. We went on a hike and checked back, mentioning we had a small baby inthe group and groceries in the trunk. We thought they might clean our room next since we were waiting. They said they just wait for the maid staff to tell them if a room is clean. So they made no effort for us. Finally checking at 3 the room was still not ready and they were aware we were waiting. Finally at 3:40 the room was ready. it was a dissapointment and the beds were aweful. I think we will camp next time. WiFi was sketchy

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimislc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

This is a newer hotel, close to the center of town. Our room was spare but clean, and in spite of the hotel being full, very quiet. No breakfast offered, but coffee is always available. Desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank andy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Just stayed here again for a long weekend in October, this time with our 17 year old grandson. This is our Moab favorite. There's no better value for what you pay and the location is great. We had a two-queen suite this time that was just fine for us, including refrigerator.

As I've noted before, you need to come here with the proper paradigm. For the price you pay here, you're not going to get luxury. We stay here 3-5 times a year and it's always the best price in town, good service day and night, clean and ultra convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TumbleweedandCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We booked the River Canyon for 3 mights as part of a 2 week USA trip. We specifically booked a large suite that had 2 bedrooms, a sitting room and a kitchen area as well as a balcony.

We certainly got the room we booked, but it lacked any character. There was only one picture in the entire suite on the wall and there was no low level lighting such as table lamps.

Housekeeping wasn't great either. Cofee cups were not washed or cleaned and the coffee machine had te used filters left in every day.

On the plus side, there was plenty of space for us to spread out (although the 2nd bedroom had no windows in) and the pool was set back from the road and very quiet.

We were looking forward to staying at the River Canyon, but came away feeling a bit flat about the stay.

Michael and Gordon

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 37 in Moab
878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#23 of 37 in Moab
865 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apache Motel
Apache Motel
#37 of 37 in Moab
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Moab
Super 8 Moab
#24 of 37 in Moab
1,897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Horn Lodge
Big Horn Lodge
#21 of 37 in Moab
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Address: 71 W 200 N, Moab, UT 84532-2328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Price Range: $71 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value in downtown Moab. Modern 3 story hotel with elevator located in the heart of downtown Moab. Hotel guests can walk to many restaurants, bars, art galleries, and native retail stores.We offer Free Wi-Fi, large pool and Moab's largest hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Canyon Hotel Moab
River Canyon Moab
River Canyon Lodge Inn And Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing