We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center of Moab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Medan, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“In the center of Moab”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel during my spring trip to Moab. This hotel is located in the center of Moab but not at the Main Street which was full of traffic noise. It is at the side road but you can easily reach the center in just 5 minutes walk. Very quiet at night and safe. You can not find any restaurants inside the hotel, but they offer you a coupon for breakfast with discount. The breakfast restaurant is two and a half blocks from the hotel. Just at the corner you can find Wendy restaurant. Some small restaurant and cafes are in the Main street and it is just 10 minutes walk. This hotel has a smallish swimming pool which was not attracting. Just for a reminder, this is a pet friendly hotel and if you have certain allergy with pet fur, then you have to think twice. At lobby area, the coffee and tea making facilities is available 24 hours. And the drinking water fountain is there too. The room is very nice and quite spacy. The bathroom is big but it is quite cold. The water pressure is big and the hot water is running very well. For the price I paid, I would said this hotel is very good.

Room Tip: For more privacy reason, try the upper level such as level 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    224
    195
    62
    49
See reviews for
146
280
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We did a 10 day road trip through the canyon lands and stayed at a different hotel every night which were mostly great options. Our hotel in Moab however was a little bit disappointing. Given how many hotels there are in Moab, we were hoping River Canyon would be a little better. The staff was very friendly of course. But the rooms are too tiny borderline claustrophobic. To fit two adults and luggage in the room, it felt that we were staying in a small box. The rooms are very old style with historic looking microwave and fridge and a CRT TV that was sitting on the edge on top of the closet. I am not sure if we will return to this hotel next time we are in Moab.

Room Tip: The price is good, but our room was very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

Montana
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

There's nothing luxurious about this hotel, but then again, the price isn't luxury level either. There's no breakfast, and no coffee pots in the rooms. There's no closets framed into the rooms, but rather there's an inexpensive free standing one attached to the desk as a free standing unit. The mattress was actually quite good. The room was clean. It's a good place to crash, but offers little more.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location within easy walking distance of downtown coffee shops, restaurants, etc. We stayed here one night after the Motel 6 that we had booked online that same afternoon through Booking.com didn't have a room for us when we arrived around 7:30pm. We were told that it was a problem with Booking.com continuing to book rooms after the Motel 6 was already booked. My understanding is that the Motel 6 and River Canyon Lodge share the same ownership or some type of partnership, so the River Canyon Lodge was fortunately able to accommodate us and they did so graciously. They were also nice enough to honor the price that we had booked online in spite of the fact that they had very few rooms left. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. Although the lobby area was quite nice, the room really needed an updating. The furniture, bed linens, and old CRT TV really gave it a dated appearance. There was a microwave and small fridge in the room, but no coffee maker, the item that is one of the most important amenities to us as we travel with our own French press and coffee and use the coffee maker to get the hot water to brew our own. They had coffee in the lobby, but we didn't try it, instead heading out to a coffee shop downtown in the morning. The wifi was inconsistent, working adequately at times and practically not at all at other times. There wasn't a lot of counter space in the bathroom either, something that hopefully would be addressed with an updating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I really did not think the hotel was as bad as most of these reviews. The hotels in general in Moab are all overpriced and more budget than normal. I think the location of this hotel really makes it ideal...you can walk to restaurants, shopping, etc very easily. They have free 24hr coffee and water which is handy. Lisa at the front desk was extremely helpful with our check in. The rooms need a renovation very badly but at least were clean. I find it annoying that if you want extra towels you have to go down to the front desk but other even that was not too bad. We needed a roll out bed and they charged us $10 and we had to go down again and pick it up ourselves. Overall the hotel is cheaper than most and while not the nicest rooms by any means you should not spend time there anyways...Moab is way to beautiful to be inside!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We leave this morning disappointed. I have just read the reviews and more important the management responses. Customers who are expected to clear the hotel's plumbing system being blamed for plungers in hall ways sums up our own experience. The cheery welcome is easy .. It is how management respond to reasonable complaints is the true measure to a well managed guest focused team. First the junior suites are sub standard so be warned. Second .. the response to a simple request for basic cutlery was met with 'cutlery is only provided to customers booking the executive suite' so I did. However this room was not serviced and the reason given, previous customers were blamed for stealing from the rooms! and then it took 24 hrs to be corrected with no sense of urgency or apology given. Whilst a 10% discount is offered (but only for the first night) holidays are about good service and good experiences. There are sound reasons why this hotel is ranked so low and relying on a good location to compensate for poor service is in my opinion an unacceptable response from what appear to be reasonable observations and complaints from previous paying customers :-(

Room Tip: Read the management team responses to reasonable reviews and then choose a room in a guest focused h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev_Les79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Kev_Les79,

Thank you for sharing your experience and your concerns. We rely on guests' feedback to help us see the areas in which we can make improvements, and your input is much appreciated. We regret that you were not entirely satisfied during your stay with us and are taking a closer look at the operations of this property to determine what we can do to eliminate these issues in the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I tried to book this hotel online since their website claimed there are rooms. Upon taking my credit card information it informed me that there are no rooms on the date I am interested in. No confirmation number, no confirmation email. So I went and booked Super 8 for the same night. Upon return from the trip, I found a charge on my card. Talking to them brought no result, their management claimed I was "no show" for the hotel I didn't know I booked!!! Instead of looking into their website glitches they prefer to charge almost 200$ per night. I call that STEALING. I am disputing the charge with a credit card company now. Please, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#22 of 35 in Moab
833 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Moab
Motel 6 Moab
#31 of 35 in Moab
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowen Motel
Bowen Motel
#17 of 35 in Moab
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Property: River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Address: 71 W 200 N, Moab, UT 84532-2328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value in downtown Moab. Modern 3 story hotel with elevator located in the heart of downtown Moab. Hotel guests can walk to many restaurants, bars, art galleries, and native retail stores.We offer Free Wi-Fi, large pool and Moab's largest hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Canyon Hotel Moab
River Canyon Moab
River Canyon Lodge Inn And Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing