We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$212
$199
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$242
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Cliffs Lodge(Moab)
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inca Inn(Moab)(Great Value!)
$145
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveler rating
472
446
134
48
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
446
134
48
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressarches national parkgranola barsoutskirts of townfire pitpool areacinnamon rollsfree breakfastgreat poolhotel is locatednorth sidethe breakfast areavery nice hotelsofa bedwould stay here againplenty of parkingfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
901 - 906 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2007

I'll begin by saying that most of the other reviews for this hotel seem very accurate -- on both the good and the bad ends. If you're the type of traveler who views your hotel as your "home away from home", then this hotel is probably not for you. The rooms are nice, but the service is squirrely.

But! If you're the type of traveler who just uses your hotel as a place to drop your stuff and sleep, and will mostly be out exploring Arches and Canyonlands National Parks, or any of the other public lands around Moab, this hotel is a GREAT option. It's on the North end of town, away from the craziness and traffic lights of downtown. It's less than 2 miles from the entrance to Arches NP, and a quick jaunt up the highway to Canyonlands Island in the Sky, and Dead Horse State Park.

The complimentary morning breakfast is extensive and good. We got everything we needed to fuel a day of hiking, and got great morning starts. We hardly ever interact with the desk staff at hotels (unless there's something seriously wrong), so any service issues here didn't really affect our trip.

There are a couple of seriously spooky things about this hotel though. First, ask to stay on the SOUTH side of the hotel, closest to downtown. The North side of the hotel has a huge leech field for the septic system, and it was definitely rather fragrant during the humid parts of the evening. Coming back to the hotel around 9 PM to the scent of waste was a bit unpleasant -- but the smell doesn't follow you into the hotel. So once inside, it's a non-issue.

The other scary thing is the fact that it's about a half mile from the UMTRA Project, which is simply the largest pile of radioactive Uranium tailings in the USA. I'm no physicist, but walking out the door to take in the scenery of a huge superfund site was somewhat unsettling... I can't imagine it's dangerous or else the government would never have allowed them to build a hotel there! Still, it's not the most comforting thing in the world...

But for price, convenience, and accessibility, this hotel is hard to beat. If you plan to be in the building exactly as long as it takes to catch 6 hours of sleep, put on your hiking boots and head out, then I'd recommend this place whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Darlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Driving through Moab years ago I was wondering what hotel chain properties were rising out of construction sites on the north end of town. Now it's Holiday Inn Express and Aarchway. The property is really conveniently located if you spend most of your time in the national parks of Arces and Canyonlads or along the Colorado river as you don't need to drive into town and don't need to put up with many traffic lights. However if you wish to be more in the center of all the (tourist) hustle and bustle, then perhaps this property is a bit out of the way. The property itself is in good shape which is no wonder as it is only a few years old. The guest rooms are spacious and nice, but perhaps lacking in furniture. The two of us stayed there for 2 nights with our carry-ons only, but found the room to lack some more shelves or an additional table to put your things on. The pool area is very nice as well. Staff, housekeeping and service is another story. It is true the hotel was fully booked, but this should not be an excuse for things not been taken care of properly or in a timely manner. Already when pulling into the parking lot I noticed the overloaded trash bin bursting with trash. When I used the
pool the situation repeated with the pool trash bin as well as the bin for used towels, which were piling up all around it. The pool area was full of empty cans, bottles, left newspapers and magazines. Whenever I needed anything from the front desk the service was slow and not always very friendly. Housekeeping was also not very consistent and extremely slow! They were still in the process of making up my room when I returned passed 4pm! Breakfast room was nice
and quantity and choice adequate, however again, they were uncapable of getting things back in order - e.g. somebody dropped quite some jam on a chair and none of the breakfast attendants noticed when putting the chair back behind the table.

It is a shame the management doesn't do a better job, because it could have been a great property, but with this type of management it is just a mediocre.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

In general, the hotel was very nice. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable, it had a great pool area, the continental breakfast was good and always well stocked. Our only problem with the property was the smoking policy. We had a second floor non-smoking room, but because we were only 3 doors down from the smoking rooms, our room smelled of smoke, and the hallway really smelled of smoke. Essentially, we did not have a non-smoking room. There are signs at all entry doors that state that smoking is not permitted "in the building" according to Utah state law. When my husband questioned the front desk staff about this, he was told that it was their understanding that there was to be no smoking in public areas of the hotel, but that rooms were considered to be private areas, so smoking is allowed there. We feel that if you have smoking rooms, they should be on a completely different floor, so that non-smoking guests do not have to put up with the smoke of smoking guests.
It is because of this, we would not stay at this hotel or recommend it to others.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tstewartfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

New hotel. Our room was clean and very comfortable. I saw some other reviews with complaints of maid service. We must have been lucky. We arrived at 5:00 PM. Despite the late arrival, the front desk was on a walkie-talkie scrambling to find a room that was clean and ready to be occupied. There was. Maids were leaving as just we entered. Room was clean. Hotel is popular with the senior citizen tourbus crowd because of the Holiday Inn brand and because most other hotels in Moab are mom-and-pop types catering to the hiker/mountain-biker crowd. A septic leech field is behind the hotel, but I smelled nothing.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bogistcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We were very happy with every aspect of our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Moab. We arrived with our two daughters following a long drive from Bryce and the very helpful receptionist checked whether there were any cleaned rooms available and was able to let us in to a room a couple of hours earlier than the check in time of 3.00 pm. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious and included a microwave and fridge which proved to be very useful. The beds were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast consisted of a good selection of cereal, bagels, pastries, fruit, etc. We used the pool once and there were only 3 other people in there. We were able to use the internet in the reception area whenever we wanted and most people observed the recommended usage time which was clearly displayed. We received some extremely useful local info from Richard behind the reception desk, in particular his recommendation that we visit Dead Horse Point and information on where to find rafting trips in Moab. We would definately recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volkswagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews