We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, nice property”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great views, nice property”
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Nice hotel, very roomy. Comfortable and spacious, worked well for two nights, with 4 in party. Room was clean and housekeeping was there promptly in the morning.

Weight room has a lot to be desired. No free weights and only a few treadmills. Not for the serious pumphead.

Hotel is a long way from town. The drive down the river road is long if you are trying to get to different places in the Moab area and you need to stop back by the lodge. If you want easy access to restaurants, the movies, shopping, this is not the place for you. If you want solitude and beautiful views, this is it.

We ate the breakfast buffet which was o.k. Cannot comment on the restaurant food.

Property is self contained--pool, restaurant, laundry, tennis courts, horseback riding, vineyards and winery, museum, workout facility, etc.

Would stay here again and plan on visiting during the holidays.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Location from town
  • Tips/Secrets — You get a discount after you stay for the next time you book.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubleTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,078
    604
    120
    43
    10
See reviews for
946
1,289
70
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We had a great stay at this wonderful ranch.

We had a wonderful welcome, cookies at reception and wine tasting when we freshened up.

Yest there is a large car park, easy to park at the rear of your room. The other side of your room, there is a fantastic view of the Colorado River running by. We never tired of the view, the changing colours of the sky and shadows cast by the magnificent cliffs. The wildlife visiting the edge of the river, and the rafts bobbing along.

The room was suberb, we could lay-abed and still watch the view, sit at the table and still the view, curled up on the sofa, and that river still ran on by, or on the terrace watching a heron fishing.

The house-keeping staff were great, we met them a couple of times and they kept the place spick and span, and told us about places to visit. The staff in the main building were never less than great, making our break into a special time. the restaurant had a great steak, that was welcome after a hectic day. the pool area was fine, with a good jacuzzi.

The ideal place to unwind as we did after having a hectic busy schedule, we enjoyed the quiet and the peace.

Lovely place, making a special trip next year.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — notthing
  • Tips/Secrets — River view was fantastic
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

I had very high expectations about this resort, having read the reviews of others. The resort from the outside is quite disappointing, given that it has a very motel-like appearance. It didn't help that it was over 100 degrees when we arrived, with the rooms all looking out on a very dusty parking lot. The rooms, however, were very nice--quite roomy, and nicely decorated. We stayed there four nights, and enjoyed the large room, which was complete with a refrigerator and small kitchen area.

Downsides of the resort (in addition to an unappealing exterior) were somewhat spotty housekeeping (they never replaced any of the toiletries in the four days we were there, nor did they always take out all of the trash cans), plus its distance from town. I had thought given the way the place is advertised that it was truly an adventure center and that we could do lots there. However, they merely are a booking agent for other companies, most of whose tours start in town. Town is a relatively far drive if you need to go in frequently (which we did). It takes about 30 minutes to get there on a rather windy road. We went in to both book various activities as well as to eat at more interesting restaurants. I would recommend shopping around for tour companies, both for price as well as attentiveness. My impression of the Red Cliffs Lodge is that any tour that you would book with them would involve many others. We booked canyoneering, ATV and hummer tours directly with the folks that lead them, and got individualized attention (we were the only ones on the tours). This made for more enjoyable tours for us, given that we had the full attention of our guides. If you are adventuresome, I'd recommend all of these unique tours.

Finally, although we had a creek view, I think I would have preferred a river view. You actually can't even see the creek given the bushes, so I'm assuming the scenery would have been more spectacular on the other side of the motel.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

My boyfriend booked a trip to Moab for my birthday and we stayed at Red Cliffs Lodge for 3 nights. We upgraded to the new private cabins overlooking the Colorado river. The front desk did not go above and beyond to recommend things to do around town and I felt it was a pretty generic welcome.

The cabin itself had 2 separate rooms-
1) a living room/kitchen with a couch, table, desk, little fridge and a microwave, there is also a tv with a fireplace underneath it (although at 105F who needs it? :)
There was also an entry to the porch right from the kitchen.
2) The bedroom was very nice, TV, king sized bed, AC, desk, plenty of closet space, and a jacuzzi in the corner, but we heard it leaking so hopefully they will fix it.

We only had a couple of gripes about the Ranch. The first was that their shower didn't work too great and we requested a hand-held shower from the front desk, which they did not have so we wound up spending a couple of hours in town looking for one. Another thing is I felt that at the price we were paying they could have included a complimentary breakfast and maybe turn-down service-- these things go a long way!

Obviously, keep in mind that this is a ranch and not a 5-star hotel, so you should expect to find plenty of bugs in the room every night(we caught about 10 crickets each night).

Overall it was a great experience and we loved the scenic ride to/from the Ranch when exploring Moab.

P.S. We hiked up to Corona Arch, which we were told not a lot of people know about and it was so worth it! We were alone on top of the canyon and it was such a magnficent sight. Try to go there.


  • Tips/Secrets — Corona Arch!!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Luv2Travel247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

We stayed at the Red Cliffs Lodge as part of a family vacation in July 2006. If you are traveling to Moab without children, I would definitely recommend it over some of the hotels in town. The setting is beautiful (on the Colorado River, quiet and isolated), but as some others have pointed out, there is a "motel" type quality as far as the outer appearance of the buildings. Inside, our room was nice, with a roomy bathroom, kitchen and two double beds.

My biggest disappointment with Red Cliffs had to do with their pricing policy. I believe the base rate for our room was $169 per night, however, they charged us an additional $20 per night per child!!!! Only children under 3 stay free. So, if I understood correctly, despite the fact that we were using the same 2 double beds, same size room and same amenities as everyone else, we paid $60 extra???

I would also echo the comment about the front desk being indifferent. The Lodge was basically deserted while we were there, but when we asked for a late checkout (due to the fact that we were doing a morning river rafting trip, a trip they profited from due to their arrangement with the Moab Adventure Center), they told us the best they could do would be a noon departure (we were not returning from rafting until 12:15). As a result, the 5 of us packed all our bags and vacated the room at 7:30 am. Guess what, when we returned, the parking lot and lobby were DESERTED! Why not accomodate your customers when there is no cost or inconvenience to do so?

If traveling with children, I would recommend the Sorrel River Ranch...there are no extra charges for children, and although you'll pay about the same amount as you would at Red Cliffs, you will actually get much more beautiful accomodations and not leave with the feeling that the hotel charged you extra for no apparent reason.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — predatory pricing policies for families with young children
  • Tips/Secrets — consider Sorrel River Ranch instead
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Momof3boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We just returned from a whirlwind tour of the Southwest. We stayed 3 nights at one of the brand new cabins at Red Cliffs Lodge. The staff was extremely friendly at check-in. They answered all of our questions and offered each of us a fresh cookie to welcome us to the area. The kids were nervous about staying in a "cabin", but it was far from what most people think of when they hear that term. Upon entering our place we felt it was more like a beautiful mountain home than a cabin. We were overwhelmed with excitement as we entered the main living area. It was beautifully decorated, spacious and included a large kitchen area, fireplace, satelite TV and more. Both bedrooms were huge and offered comfortable beds, large TVs and plenty of space to stretch out. We walked out on the enormous deck to find two lounge chairs and a large patio table and chairs which provided us an opportunity to sit and watch the rapids on the Colorado River. Despite having 3 large TVs in the cabin we hardly used them. It was more entertaining to sit on our deck watch the kayakers and rafters navigate the rapids (see photo). There were several other small touches that added to our experience including robes provided in each room as well as beach towels for each guest to use at the pool. Our first thought was how could we ever leave here ?

We enjoyed the cool evenings of Moab as we listened to the rushing river pass by outside. The swimming pool/spa area was also amazing. The pool chairs were brand new and extremely comfortable and the pool itself was large enough to play in without feeling cramped by other guests. Our last night at the lodge included the wine tasting which offered us an opportunity to sample some of their local creations. We would recommend this resort to anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city, but still have all of the comforts of home.

As others have mentioned, the lodge is 14 miles from Moab and well worth trip. Downtown Moab is constantly busy with traffic including large trucks and construction vehicles. The drive down hwy 128 is beautiful and makes the trip in and out of town easy. With so much to do in town, it's nice to have a gorgeous retreat to go to each night.

The cleaning staff was also exceptional. The room was spotless each day upon our return. The cabin included some dishes as well as silverware for our use. In addition to cleaning any of their dishes that we used, they also washed and dryed items that we had used that belonged to us and fully expected to handle cleaning ourselves. If you get a chance to stay at one of the cabins it is definitely worth the trip and the price.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PamAnnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villavicencio, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2006

The Red Cliffs Lodge couldn't have been nicer. The "cheesy" photo they use highlighting the red and green doesn't do the place justice. This is a very nice lodge in an unbelievably beautiful location. The staff was very friendly, professional and courteous. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and great views in the river front rooms. The restaurant was a little pricey but what hotel restaurant isn't. The food was excellent and again the view of the Colorado River was amazing from the dining room. The lodge is 14 miles from downtown Moab but the drive has spectacular views that you don't get tired of. I would definitely recommend and will do again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaytonaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
728 reviews
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,339 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing