We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic..good for the soul”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I was here alone 3 years ago on business and returned last week with my wife for our aniversary. The place has grown, but is so well planned that even if it is full, you have all the privacy you want. The owner has improved on a very good thing. Our King Suite was located right on the turn of the river, it was clean and well presented. The staff is very accomodating and helpful. My wife is far pickier about such things than I am, and it passed every test.
The menu has greatly improved, and dinners there were wonderful.
The peace and quiet you find here is unreal. Even tho town was besieged by thousands of visitors for the annual car show, Red Cliffs is quiet and serene.

There have to be hundreds of acres here, all accessible to the guests. We asked if we could look at the new cabins, and were given keys to 3 different ones. The staff really wants to make the guests feel at home. National Geographic is correct when they say this is not mainstream or traditional innkeeping. You feel like you live here.

Moab offers all kinds of activities like Hummer rides, ATV rentals, boat rides, etc and the staff arranges everything so you don't have to sort all that out.

This isn't just a hotel, it''s an experience. A very good experience.

Plan to stay for at least a couple of days to really get the feel. My wife wanted to stay on.

We will return after Labor Day with friends, and for Thanksgiving with family.
One of my favorite places ever.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluelineMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,334 - 2,340 of 2,934 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2009

Though the distance from downtown Moab (14 miles on a winding road) gave us pause to consider this resort, we are very happy that we stayed at the Red Cliffs.

With so many things to do during the day (Arches National Park being the gem for hikers), being able to be out of the downtown area at night was perfect for us. The lodge has a great restaurant, and Sorrel River Ranch is also nearby so you actually have 2 choices for dinner. Red Cliffs also has its own winery, and we certainly took advantage of buying several bottles!

We stayed 2 nights in one of the resort's River Side King Suites at a "Hot Deal" price. The room is large and comfortable and had a magnificent river view. There is a small kitchen with dishwasher, microwave and refrigerator. So, bringing in groceries for a quick breakfast and packing a lunch would be easy for those wishing to do so. The bed "room" is terraced up from the kitchen/living room area so no matter where you are in the room, there is a view. The room also had a private patio which opened out to the grassy area in front of the river.

Every staff member provided the best of service. An interesting note: the resort continues to take and maintain all reservations and billing the "old fashioned" way -- by hand and not computer. Their reservations ledger is huge, all handwritten, and a true piece of nostalgia.

Would we return to Red Cliffs? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2tsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

A large group of us (about 15-20 of us staying in 6-10 rooms/cabins) stay at this hotel once or twice a year when we are staying in Moab. We stay here because its in a beautiful location up the canyon, and it is away from the crowds and noise of downtown. Every time we go we have issues with the staff. They all act like they are doing you a favor by checking you in, answering your questions, etc. Its like they know that there really isn't anywhere else to stay. The restaurant is mediocre and overpriced (although Sunday brunch is good). The rooms are outdated, the mattresses are lumpy and uncomfortable. The great thing about this place and the thing that keeps bringing us back is it's unbelievable location. We keep hoping that someday they will change things around and focus on their customers, or that somebody else will put a hotel up the canyon!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveling97654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

The concept and layout of Red Cliffs Lodge is nice enough and location to Moab is great. The staff in general seems very pleasant. The offputting items about this lodge are the overall cleanliness. The wall by the toilet was urine stained, there was enough dust and cobwebs around to make us comment about the conditions. These two probably led to the third item - roaches. We found a total of two oriental cockroaches in our room. When I went to the front desk - and mind you I was pleasant about it - the response was a disappointing, 'ho-hum', yeah the guys were here yesterday and sprayed, thanks for letting us know attitude. I guess if this were my place I would have offered my guest another room, a discounted stay, or a meal, etc, but that is just me.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klipper030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The room (a River King Suite) was very enjoyable, and right next to the river. The bed was comfy, the kitchenette was handy, and the large TV that swiveled for view from any position in the room was very useful.

There is a little lack of water pressure for your plumbing. The resort has done well, though, to install a drinking water system.

The outdoor lounge chair and furniture made for some peaceful relaxation.

When we drove into the resort it was quite dry and dusty, and my guess is that it is this way much of the year. (We stayed in early March.)

We got a great internet special for our rate by traveling at an off time.

the staff was very helpful and friendly, including on the phone a few times before we made our reservation.

We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars, but it may have been filled with too many chemicals, although they said they test it every day. It burned my skin the times I got in, and I believe it gave me a rash. What I should have done was thoroughtly shower with soap immediately after, instead of waiting a while.

It is a little far from Moab, but that is the way to get great views; we couldn't have gotten this in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OremTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This lodge is located 14 miles from Moab. The problem here is that you are captive there as far as eating places are concerned. There is nothing in the area until you drive back to Moab. The lodge itself is OK. Bungaloes strung out on the river. Very scenic and plenty of good walking trails. The dining there is quite expensive and they don't serve lunch because most people are sightseeing at that time. The visit was satisfactory but not worth the trip out there.

5  Thank Jiddodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

The Red Cliffs is a nice lodge sitting in the most beautiful valley in Moab I believe. The rooms are very nice with small kitchenette and sofa. We were able to stay on a last minute deal rate of half off which made it a great deal compared to other hotels in Moab. I think full price it would be way too much for the place. Our room was not cleaned the 1st night (beds not made, etc). I like the re-use of towels policy however. But they made up for it the next night and even did our dirty dishes! The staff at the front desk was very friendly. The king bed was very comfy and the pillows were fluffy however there was only a single thin blanket which on the cold nights we were there was not enough. The heater sucked! There is no thermostat and you can have heat/cold on high/low or off and the fan was noisy. Therefore we got up several times at night to turn the heat on then again off later, etc. The pool was also under repair while we were there. The hot tub was nice and warm however the jets didn't work. It is 14 miles out of town so that gets a little old driving to/from town and Arches Nat'l Park, especially at night. The winery and restaurant attached is convenient however the restaurant is expensive. The service at the winery was horrible. You only got to taste 3 wines and she didn't talk much about the wines and barely poured any wine into the glasses. Compared to other wineries that let you taste their entire selection, we were disappointed. I believe we were in and out of the wine tasting in 15 minutes! But the view more than made up for it all and would stay again give the 1/2 off rate! We were there 1st weekend in April and the weather was cold and rainy and snowy but it was still a great weekend getaway from Denver!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank subee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
756 reviews
9.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 35 in Moab
1,375 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
9.8 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $153 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing