We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place but horrible beds!”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place but horrible beds!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We really liked the setting, the pool, the room and the service. However, the beds were really, really terrible. It's impossible for two people to sleep toghether in one bed, because of the dip in the middle. We stayed in 17 hotelbeds during our voyage and never had such a bad bed.
What a pity for a pretty expensive place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mber1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,041
    596
    117
    43
    10
See reviews for
918
1,277
68
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our room was spacious, with a sunken kitchenette, and private patio, that looked up the little creek flowing through the property. The views here are beyond compare, from sunrise to sunset, and overnight looking at the stars. The staff was friendly and helpful, and were able to provide a number of suggestions for activities and outfitters. The little movie museum on-site is fun and funky, though blazing hot the day we walked through it. The horses were fun to interact with, even though we don't ride. The drive in and out of the canyon every day takes about 30 minutes, so be prepared to include that in your driving plans. We didn't mind, as the scenery doesn't get old there... The restaurant offers take-away, in insulated containers, which we chose as our primary option when we ate there. The food and drink is excellent, but the desert location, and the open nature of the restaurant meant that if you sat down in the restaurant to eat, you also got to continually wave away black flies. This wasn't a reflection on cleanliness of the facility, which was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful place, nice people, great food and spectacular views. Was a drive to get to Arches national park, but worth the ride.
Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and the dinners their were great. Try the bison!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanF354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and whisked we could have stayed a bit longer. The Red Cliffs Lodge is as the name indicated located amongst the red cliffs and along side the Colorado river. So if you have a room with a patio and an upstream view then you have the best of views especially at sunset. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, hotel has a nice pool our kids used a lot. Horse trails for beginners and advanced are also available. If you are there on a Sunday try the brunch it is really great. Hotel also has a small museum about movies shot in the area, it's worth a stroll. Be aware that the hotel is 30 minutes drive from Moab on a narrow road best driven in daylight! Above all it is the setting and the warm weather and welcome of the staff that made it a great stay..

Room Tip: Rooms with a patio and upstream view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, Usa
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have gone out on trail rides at several ranches and this is by far the best place to go to compliment your vacation. The staff tell you how to ride if you haven't in awhile, they provide saddle bags for water and belongings, and they give you time on the trail to take pictures of the scenery and your own personal photographs. They tell you about the landscape and it's history right down to the plants and animals that inhabit it. Since I my trail ride there, I have always been let down on other rides because they set the bar so high. If you can only go once make this the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wish we had two nights to stay at the Red Cliffs Lodge because it had a lot to offer, but we were staying there as a stop on a road trip to visit Moab and then heading west. If you are going west and just staying a night like we were I would advise staying in town closer to the Arches National Park. We made the mistake of going to the park on the morning we were leaving and we had to drive all the way back to the hotel to check out in time and then head back on the same road passing the park again. And there was roadwork being done (late June 2013).

The hotel staff is friendly, the restaurant food is good, check in and out went smoothly (and they were very helpful when I asked for a little later checkout so we could have brunch) and the views off the dining area were amazing. Our room had a very pretty view also. The little kitchen in the room was helpful since we were on a road trip. We had dinner and brunch at the restaurant. The food was good and the decor was simple. Unfortunately because the door to outside is opened and closed often the room was on the warm side with an occasional fly.

Would I go back .... yes .... but I would stay two nights for sure. Oh...and appreciated the Free Wireless and Parking since the price was not inexpensive to stay there.

I wish we could have gone on a horseback ride or used the swimming pool, but our stay there was short. The bathrooms could use an update and the lighting in the room could be brighter.

Room Tip: We loved our room that had a view of the river. I am sure all of the rooms there have good views, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Red Cliffs Lodge provided a fantastic base for exploring the National Parks around Moab. Our room opened up to a spectacular view of the Colorado River meandering through the red rocks. The room was well appointed for a family of three, including a comfortable king sized bed and a pull-out couch. The kitchenette was reasonably well stocked. We spent lots of time cooling-down in the swimming pool, which was a welcomed reprieve from the heat. We ate breakfasts at the Lodge. This was a basic but sufficient and reasonably priced hot and cold buffet.

Our only concerns were wifi and distance to of the Lodge to Moab. Wifi was very inconsistent, though I was told that they are 'working on it.' And it was actually nice to unplug for a few days anyway. Also, the distance of the Lodge to Moab is an important consideration. It is about 14 miles and takes 20-30 minutes. It is a beautiful drive, but gets tedious by the third day!

All in all, we had a great experience, would return again, and recommend to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Colorado River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
716 reviews
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,325 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing