We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very restful location, well appointed rooms and good food”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very restful location, well appointed rooms and good food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Setting is wonderful, alongside Colorado River, in a Canyon, with views over fields with horses grazing. Stayed there as part of our 2 week tour of the National Parks, we had planned to visit Arches and Canyonlands whilst in Moab, but only managed Arches, partly because of the 14 mile drive in each direction from Moab to the accommodation, which was the only drawback. The first night we had dinner in the restaurant, we were able to book a table when we checked in at 5pm. Food and service was good. I then spotted in the hotel information in the room that the restaurant did take-aways - the menu the same as their restaurant menu, and no extra charges for take away. 2nd night we rang through our order and they rang back when it was ready for collection, about 30 minutes later. It was packed in 2 bags designed to keep food hot, on the restaurant crockery and included bread rolls and butter which we hadn't ordered. Main courses were still piping hot when we had finished our salads. Can recommend this option as we were able to sit on our patio and enjoy the view whilst we eat. Sunday breakfast was a brunch and a little expensive for what was available, but the breakfast on Monday had almost the same selection and represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,007
    591
    117
    43
    10
See reviews for
901
1,260
65
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Can I say anything more in praise of this place than the fact that I have already booked our vacation here for next year? Nestled among red sandstone cliffs, this gorgeous resort is amazing from the get go. We got one of the queen rooms, and boy, were those rooms big. I can't imagine the size of the king rooms. Their breakfast ( brunch on Sunday) was excellent, and the best part is that they don't price gouge you...since there's nothing else within 30 mins driving distance. All meals are fairly priced and delicious. The lodge itself is well built, open and offers panoramic views. Our room had a patio and a balcony that we loved. Super courteous staff and the scenery make this a perfect getaway. It is located about 30 mins from Moab and arches but the drive is scenic and worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I found this thanks to TripAdvisor and went sight unseen my first time. Had no idea what a beautiful drive it would be from Moab down the Colorado River....amazing scenery. My mom and eight year old loves this place equally. Mom loves the scenery and the pool, while my 8 year old loves the swings, horseshoes, and pool. It is a great place to spend a few nights, but be aware it definitely is outside of Moab. It is approx. 25 minutes to get to the closest restaurant or store, which makes it hard to take a large family. I have friends that have gone as a couple, but won't go back with their three kids either. The little kitchenette area in the rooms is great, but only has a microwave and toaster, which makes dinner options hard. We are able to keep lunch meat in the little fridge, though, so we do pack picnic lunches when heading out for the day. That helps with expenses, because the onsite restaurant is not cheap. When my stepkids are with us, it is too much to have three kids get all cleaned up and ready to make a dinner reservation at the on site restaurant, as well as too expensive for us.

Their carry out service is excellent as an alternative, and they package everything up really nicely and call for you to come pick up your insulated "picnic" bags, and we eat out on our private back patio by the creek which is very relaxing. Horses have often come and stood across the creek watching us eat! My stepdaughter loved taking a horseback ride from the onsite stables as well.

This really is a great place, and I can't even say the location is a drawback even though it is so far out. That's kind of the whole point of this place! Be aware it will take about 30 minutes to get to the entrance to Arches, and almost an hour to get to the entrance to Canyonlands. For the price, however, I do wish the pool was heated, and that there was a little cooktop or something in the rooms similar to our other favorite place, the Cliffrose Lodge outside of Zion. Cliffrose actually has some outdoor grills and firepits as well....that could be a simple addition for Red Cliffs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volkl156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Red ;Cliffs Lodge is perfection. Beautiful rooms, terrific service, friendly staff (who also know and like each other) and the most incredible views, especially riverside suites. Restaurant is very good and convenient,which is great because drive to town can take 30 minutes -- but be sure to make dinner reservations early in the day because it fills up fast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel was great. Rooms clean and on the river. nice deck with green lawn. The pool and hot tub great

We went for drink at restr. outside bar on river all great service and food 4:30pm.

Back for dinner 8:30pm and ok service but food [Steak was under cooked and sent back 2x.] still not right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8084P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Situated in a beautiful location. Be sure to take time to walk through the museum, which shows movies that were filmed in this area. Rooms are nicely laid out; ours had a nice patio which looked upon the red cliffs. The drawbacks - first, you must make reservations for dinner. Second, charging for breakfast that was cafeteria style. Third, distance from Moab, which then involves lots of back tracking if your destinations are Moab.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spooner_rooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice place with a beautiful ranch and views of the cliffs and the Colorado River. The food in the restaurant is very mediocre, and they charge for breakfast in the morning, which many other hotels have gotten away from over the past 5 years. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable.
While we enjoyed our stay here, I would probably opt for a hotel in town next time, as every trip to Moab involves a 20 minute drive on a road that literally closes for construction every night from 11:30pm-5:30am.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krtangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 34 in Moab
1,294 reviews
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
703 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
9.8 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing