We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at Red Cliffs Lodge”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2008

I attended a conference at Red Cliffs Lodge and it was well worth the fourteen mile trip up highway 128. A few miles further up the highway is were Forrest Gump decided to quit running. If you saw the movie you can get a good idea of the scenery.

Pros:
Rooms are directly along the colorado river
Incredible views
Great food! Try the prime rib.
Museum in the basement of the lodge of movies filmed in area
Secure storage are for people with bikes
Family oriented.

Cons:
I could easily of stayed there for a week.

Other Thoughts:
Plan to take the family down next spring break. Horse back riding, four wheeling, boat tours, bike rides....

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank poole4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,399 - 2,405 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2008

The actual scenery is even better than on the hotel's website. The hotel is on the left after 14 miles on a scenery road along the Colorado and Red mountains. It really looks like a ranch when you arrive.
The room was huge with a king bed upstairs, and after 3 small stairs a sofa bed and kitchenette, table, chairs, and a nice window opening on the river side. You really feel in the middle of nature. At night, it is so dark and quiet, you cannot hear any cars but the ones from the hotel customers.
Restaurant is OK although nothing special. Nice buffet for breakfast, not too pricey ($8.95 per adult and $4.95 per kid, all you can eat, we have seen much more expensive than that).
The only problem was that there are many flies inside the rooms, this is due to the horses they have I guess.
They also produce their own wine, there is wine tasting every afternoon.
I have no idea what the Sorrel River Ranch can do better, they are just 2 miles further but are twice more expensive than this one. We went to their restaurant which was a bit disappointing for the price, especially the desert. If you want to try a nice and original restaurant, try the Desert Bistro just at the entry of Moab.
Highly recommended for the location!

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank ZorglubWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Unbelievable views, cabins, and service. We enjoyed every single thing during our stay. Rooms were clean and spacious. We also loved the restaurant at the hotel and loved their wine. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Carera123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Outstanding, we couldn't believe the beauty we had in front of us. The hotel is pretty new, and the rooms are just unbelieveble. I strongly recomend to reserve a river looking room. Just amazing!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GustavoyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We have just returned from the Red Cliff Lodge in Moab, Utah. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice. It has a rustic feel but lots of nice amenities. The Bath and Body works shampoo is a nice touch. We went with our two boys, 6 and 11. We stayed in a Queen creekside room.

The beds were comfortable and the room also had a sleeper sofa that our 11 year old enjoyed. It has a kitchenette area that came in handy to fix quick meals. The kitchenette came with some dishes and some cutlery but it was quite sparse. They could have used some paper towels and a few more utensils. We ate dinner at the lodge the first night - really good food. The wine tasting was fun and the gentleman that helped us was very knowledgeable about the local wine. The dinner is a bit expensive- but overall good. The brunch was average during the week and a bit expensive.

The Easter brunch was really good with lots of variety. While we had a coupon for our stay - which saved us quite a bit, with the rates as high as they are, I don't think that it is necessary to charge and extra $20 per person, per night. Especially when it's kids! It adds up in your overall stay. The museum that is in the building is really fun. My kids enjoyed it as well as the adults.

It was fun to see what movies were filmed in the area. The area is really beautiful and well worth the drive (15miles) from Moab.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lovethewest_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Ideal setting, above average room size and quality. The restaurant staff were friendly though the reception staff are cold and very unhelpful. We had a hire car but if you don't you are a little stranded as it is 14 miles from town.

2  Thank herbie0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

The Red Cliffs Lodge in Moab, Utah is amazing. It's down a long, windy road several miles from town. You feel like you've stepped back in time, into a cowboy western, as you drive up to the lodge. Our family of five had a very large room, two levels, on the Colorado River. We had a large bathroom and a little kitchenette that we didn't need to use. The scenery is truly breathtaking. The pool is great. You just swim and look up at incredible red rocks or red mountains all around. The hotel offers breakfast and dinner. Both very good. You can't eat lunch there...but it isn't an inconvenience. You can grab packed sandwiches to take with you from the hotel for a minimal cost. We chose to always eat in town. There are many great little restaurants. The parks in and around Moab are incredible. There are Indian drawings to see, and dinosaur tracks that are inbedded in an ancient, former riverbed to see. There is so very much to see there. There is also an old ghost town called Thompson. If you go right through and keep on the dirt road...you will come to an old abandoned miner's camp. You can see some Indian drawings there too. The Red Cliff's Lodge is really helpful with any plans one might like to make. Truly, an amazing vacation for our family and could be for yours to. Go to the Red Cliff's Lodge in Moab!

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TallieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
756 reviews
9.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 35 in Moab
1,372 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
9.8 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $152 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing