We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique property...well outside of town”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unique property...well outside of town”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent two nights at this lodge and it is a real treat. If you aren't a camper, this is a great way to feel a part of the spectacular outdoor beauty with all the comforts of a lodge. I was in one of the rooms overlooking a pasture (not the river) and it had the sense of a cabin (although the room was not standalone).

My room was quite large with a kitchenette, comfortable bed, small desk, high ceilings, great bathroom. It's really the location that is unique and just plain gorgeous...but be aware, it is not anywhere near the town of Moab (which can be "gritty" as noted by another reviewer). It is a solid 30 minute drive (and a beautifully scenic one) but I wanted to do sunrise and sunset photography at Arches National Park and Canyonlands so the extra time was a bit of a nuisance. I realize that this isn't a problem for many travelers, but it is one reason for the 4 rather than 5 stars. The other reason is I just think it's a little too expensive. Don't get me wrong, it is a beautiful and unique property, but I was sleeping in an attached room and the noises that come with that. Also, the indoor furnishings were nice, but the outside patio had cheap, plastic furniture - just not nice. Others have noted the spotty wifi and that was my experience too. For the price, I think those things should be noted.

Because the location is so far from anything, you'll probably take some meals in the restaurant. I had dinner and breakfast and both were tasty and reasonably priced and complete with a beautiful view. The breakfast is a buffet style (no menu options). I recommend advance reservations for dinner as it seemed every guest was eating there.

If you are looking for a value option in town (granted this is a totally different experience but definitely a good alternative if you are watching your dimes), check out my review for the Inca Inn in Moab.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    602
    119
    43
    10
See reviews for
940
1,286
70
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jjlalumi
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful Views, Lots of Activities, Great Location, but Many Things Overlooked

This property has many wonderful amenities, activities and views of the beautiful Utah landscape. Tucked away on rural route 128 this is a great place to chill out and unwind. Just when we thought we were on the wrong road/our GPS has led us astray, we came upon The Lodge and its sprawling views.

Pros:

45 minutes from I-70, 20 minutes from the town of Moab and the Arches State Park.

Family and pet friendly

Quiet and secluded location

The rooms (condo-style accommodations) are spacious, rather well appointed and many of them face the river. When reserving at this property be sure to request a unit that has a view of the river in the back. With the quaint patios a view of the river makes for a nice evening when you are enjoying a glass of wine while you take in the amazing views.

There is an onsite winery with wine tasting. The winery also boasts many neat snacks, souvenirs, non-alcoholic beverages, and reasonably priced, delicious wines. The Chardonnay was my favorite.

Cons:

Customer Service: As many others have indicated on Tripadvisor.com the staff at the front desk was not overly welcoming. They were pleasant, but not warm. I am not sure if they were attempting to be as efficient as possible, if they were over-worked, or if they didn’t want to be bothered, but we felt that we were being rushed out from the moment that we walked in. Furthermore, when a guest is checking in, it’s not good customer service to answer the phone and have a five-minute conversation. When a guest is checking in, and the phone rings, it is more appropriate to answer the phone and ask the caller to hold.

Additionally, the staff member tending to the winery and the wine tasting, also seemed to be put out by our presence. We arrived at the winery around 4:30 pm (wine tasting runs until 6:30 pm) and it seemed as if she had other pressing job duties that she would rather be doing than tending to customers. Again, she was pleasant, but she rushed us through the tasting and kept asking if there was anything else she could do for us, and if we were going to purchase anything. We bought a few bottles of wine, and some snacks, but we would have perused a little more and perhaps would have bought more items if we weren’t made to feel as if we weren’t wanted.

The Restaurant: Firstly, the main lodge and the restaurant area are very warm. It was evident by the temperature, even in April, that the lodge does not have air conditioning or climate control is not a concern for this property. During check-in and the two meals that we ate at this hotel, it was so warm inside the lodge that we were sweating while we were eating/checking in. I am all for conserving energy and being kind to the environment, but temperature control, for guest comfort, is a must.

Secondly, the bottles of wine that are sold on the property’s winery are sold in the restaurant at more than twice the price. I bought the Castle Creek Chardonnay at the winery at the price point of $12.95. That same bottle in the restaurant was $27.00. The distance between the winery building and the main lodge is roughly three minutes walking distance. It’s a bit of a stretch to charge patrons $27.00 for a bottle of wine that they can buy for $12.95 just a few feet away from the restaurant. What is even more infuriating is if you wish to bring in a bottle of wine that you purchased at the onsite winery, into the dining room you will be charged a $10.00 corking fee. My advice to my fellow frugal cost conscious travelers is to enjoy the wine from the onsite winery in your room before or after dinner. The wine is delicious but not worth $27.00 a bottle. I understand that dining establishments usually double or even triple the cost of a bottle of wine to cover the cost of shipping, handling, overhead costs as well as a plethora of other costs, but this pricing practice does not make sense for this location, and should be re-evaluated.

Lastly, the food at this location is not much above your average bar. We had supper at the lodge and we ate breakfast there once, as well. The meals were unimpressive, and rather expensive for what they were. Our server was attentive and she was really sweet, but the pleasantry of the dining experience ended there. The bad food coupled with the extremely warm temperatures made both the supper and breakfast dining experiences less than enjoyable.

Moving on to the accommodations:

The first thing that we noticed was that the bath towels were not soft; rather they were rough and scratchy, as was the hygienic paper for the toilet. While it is understood that the Red Cliffs is a rustic lodge, some things should be above bare minimum.

Secondly, while the room was surface clean, for the most part, our ceiling fan had cobwebs on it, and the dining set in our unit had jelly/jam on the chairs. When we moved in, I had to stand on the bed to clean the fan, and I had to clean the jelly off the dining table chairs.

The next thing that we thought was substandard was the housekeeping service. When our room was serviced, after us having left a favorable tip from the day before, we noted that our coffee was not refilled, and when the bathroom floor was washed there were puddles of water left in the large grout seams. We had to use a towel to dry the floors. Furthermore, the dining area floor was not cleaned/mopped. This should have been done, as there were dust prints from our shoes left on the floor from the morning rush to get out of the unit and our day started. I cleaned the floors, but again, not something a guest should have to do.

The Gym:
While it is understood that many guests who stay at this hotel are there to spend most of their time out of doors hiking and being active in the nearby parks, the gym facilities at the Red Cliffs are more of an afterthought rather than a functioning gym facility. The equipment is substandard, and there are no towels available for use, nor is there disinfectant available to wipe down the machines after use. This is a barebones gym, nothing more. While staying at this location, if you are an avid workout enthusiast, plan on getting all of our workout time in while you are enjoying the parks.

This lodge has the potential to be so much more than what it is. With a little more attention to the details and a slight more friendly first impression this could be a five-star property.

Room Tip: Ask for a condo unit facing the river, toward the end of the property. There is less traffic toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjlalumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel with great location and views. The staff is very nice and courteous. We did not stay at the hotel. We went Horseback Riding. Our guides were Jill, Tricia and Nicole. They did a great job of matching horses with riders. They were very knowledgeable, and kind. The Horse's facilities were very neat and clean. The Horses were healthy and well maintained as well. Nicole was exceptionally helpful, kind, and nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Red Cliffs lodge, ½ an hour outside of Moab, is a peaceful place to stay in a gorgeous setting. We stayed in a riverside cabin and found it to be quite clean and comfortable. The cabin is detached and has a porch facing the Colorado River. The living area has a small built-in desk, with desk lamp, telephone (free local and 1-800 calls), and an Ethernet cable; a couch facing a tv above a gas log fireplace; an eating table with four heavy chairs; and a kitchen counter with sink, mini-fridge, and cabinets stocked with plates, glasses and utensils. The bedroom also had a small desk with Ethernet cable; a Jacuzzi tub in one corner of the room; a free-standing closet stocked with two bathrobes and a safe; a heavy ranch sitting chair; and a comfortably firm king-sized bed. The bathroom was comfortably sized with bathtub, toilet and a single sink. Towel hooks are creatively constructed with horse-shoes. The cabin includes reverse osmosis water taps at both the kitchenette and bathroom sinks.

Our major complaint with the Red Cliffs Lodge is that they advertise wifi, but they really aren’t equipped to provide it. Wireless speeds are at BEST 0.3 Mbps, couple that with a lack of AT&T cell phone service, and our wireless devices were unusable as communication devices. The only internet connectivity we were able to use was the Ethernet cables overnight while people are sleeping or mid-day when most people are away from the resort for the day. As Red Cliffs Lodge is removed from the city, they rely on satellite service, which we found during our stay to run at a maximum of 1.5 Mbps if connected to the Ethernet cable. However, in the morning before people go adventure for the day, or evening after they return to the resort, the internet connection is essentially worthless as the system is overwhelmed with too many users. They just don’t have enough speed or bandwidth to accommodate today’s always connected (often on multiple devices) guests. While technically they do have wifi, practically speaking it doesn’t work when most people want to use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamboo_Orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Public Relations Manager at Red Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments, Bamboo_Orchid. We take our customers comfort and feedback very seriously and strive to improve based upon comments that we receive. Because of our location in the west as well as being 15 miles from Moab on a scenic byway we have fewer Internet service options at our disposal. Having purchased every Internet service that is accessible for us, we have a maximum Bonded T1 as well as a DSL line into the property. Unfortunately, there is nothing else available to us due to our location. We are acutely aware that most of our guests have various devices and cell services and that... at times, our Internet can be very slow. For that reason we do not charge any of our guests for Internet use. Cell towers have been restricted in this area, therefore there is nothing we can do for our guests that do not have Verizon. At best, even Verizon service can be sketchy. We are searching every day for additional options and we implement them as they become available to us. Overall it sounds as if your visit with us here at Red Cliffs Lodge was very enjoyable. We hope that you will visit us again in the future! Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate it. Rhonda Graham - Red Cliffs Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I recently completed a work event at the Red Cliff Lodge. The staff was extremely accommodating and always courteous. I can’t complement them enough on their hospitality, location, and the overall experience. It’s rare these days’ to experience genuine people who provide the level of service that Sandy and her staff provided us. I appreciate all the work they did and for making our team feel special. It was nice to see an owner so appreciative too. Be sure to try the wine.

Thank you to the entire staff!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the river. The view and sounds of the river just adds to the experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been to Moab about 15 times over the last 20 years and the experience in town can be a little gritty. I didn't pick Red Cliff property because of the views (which are excellent) but more because after a hard days mtn bike riding, or four wheeling, its nice to get off the beaten path and kick your feet up. There is nothing nicer than Red Cliff for hitting it hard and then having a cold one by the Colorado River without hundreds of people all battling for parking spots in town. i didnt mind the 14 mile drive in the canyon at all, but you should bring food as there is a nice fridge/kitchen set up. The restaurant is good food and they make a huge deal about early reservations even though it was never full any of the 3 nights we were there. Horse-back riding was awesome and worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brent o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Here we had one of the best dinner on our 4 week trip across Califona, Nevada, Arizona and Utah for a reasonable price and a nice view. The day special salomon and the ribs were great and a thanks to our server Chad G. for his explanations and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank std8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
726 reviews
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,338 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing