We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I stayed there for a month.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Irkutsk, Russia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wish I stayed there for a month.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Another great place in our trip! We drove in at night and when we woke up we saw a tremendous surroundings! What a place! We really loved every corner. Thanks to Tripadvisor we got the place we wanted! All went great. If RC staff reads it, I would suggest the following: - to add a reagular cooking plate and a bigger fridge too!

Room Tip: hhmm.... diffucult to say. I would suggest to stay closer to the main building although. if at all p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,933
    581
    115
    43
    10
See reviews for
882
1,215
64
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location and "ambiance" are just amazing. Right next to the river, amazing red cliffs. Main lodge has wonderful views and good, decent food. Staff is delightful, friendly and helpful. Rooms are like cabins -- lots of room, an outdoor patio. Wish we had gotten a room on the river. But we arrived after dark and I didn't realize that was an option. Many wonderful family activities -- rafting, hiking, horse back riding. (horseback riding was cancelled the day we were there due to high winds. Don't know if this is a regular problem.) Highly recommend for couples and families with kids. the surrounding scenery is well worth to cost ... which seems very reasonable. About 20 minute drive to main Mohab center. No contest between Red Cliffs Lodge and all the totally mediocre hotels and motels in Mohab. Everyone should go there at least once. We stopped on our drive from Denver to Las Vegas.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our honeymoon, and we could not have been more pleased. The staff managed to accommodate a last minute change of plans that had us arriving at Red Cliffs a day earlier than our reservation had indicated AND (knowing that it was our honeymoon), the staff placed us in one of the more remote rooms, at the far end of the parking area that serves the River King mini-suites. Perhaps not everyone would appreciate this, but we were grateful -- the pool and laundry facilities were a short walk, and we were spared the feeling of being surrounded by tour buses and the families with children that were also staying at the resort. (This is not to say that the place feels overrun by kids or tour buses, we were just more sensitive than most people would be…understandably, I think!)
Our room (a River King mini-suite) was very nice. Although none of the furniture was brand-spanking-new, I wouldn’t say it was worn, either. Everything was very clean, well kept, and in good working order. The room itself is well-represented by the photos on the Red Cliffs website and by the ones posted here by other folks. The high ceilings make the room feel very spacious, and the split-level set-up (bed, TV, etc about 4 steps above the area with the couch and kitchenette, leading to sliding glass doors out onto the patio) gave the feel of having a true multi-room suite. The windows/sliding doors (plus the patio) gave an immediate connection to the breath-taking scenery surrounding the resort. Very often, even nice rooms can feel like a non-descript box, leaving you with the feeling that you could be anywhere in the world, without regard to the setting outside the door. Not so at Red Cliffs. The whole place had a character and décor that made you feel connected to the natural beauty outside while having all the comforts of a nice resort.
As other reviewers here have noted, the resort is 10-15 minute drive outside of Moab, down a twisting road that can occasionally be slow-going if you get stuck behind slow-moving traffic. Depending on where you are going in Moab, it might take upwards of 25 minutes to get there. That said, achieving some distance from town is, in this case, entirely worth the trade-off. The scenery during the day and the starscape at night were enough to leave us awestruck every time.
We didn’t take advantage of the corral or the other adventure services, but we did visit the winery (very nice). We also didn’t visit the restaurant, in part because we had breakfast supplies with us – one more reason to love the kitchenette – and in part because there are many better options in Moab at the same price point or lower. In the end, Red Cliffs was THE premier lodging on our trip, which included stays at historic National Park lodges and top-end Vegas hotels. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and I would say you are doing yourself a disservice to pass it over if you are in Moab.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aspen266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil/Suiça
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

About 12 miles outside of Moab, on Hwy 128, the "Lodge" offers excellent cabanas, full equipped, luxurious, in an unbelievably impressing landscape, in the Colorado valley. The hotel is expensive, the service is good, the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exp_Trav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time a the Red Cliffs Lodge. We visited during the off season (Dec. 4) and we almost had the whole place to ourselves. The room was wonderful and a great place to come back and relax after a long day hiking in Arches National Park. Soaking in the hot tub, watching the stars and hearing the racoons fight along the Colorado River was a treat. The staff was great and they even relayed the bag we left in our room back to our home town of Grand Junction, CO. We will plan on returning again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King suites (king size bed) townhouses along the river - very nice and best deal pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Va
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were on a Tralfagar bus tour of Arches National Park. This place is wonderful. We want to go back. The jet boat ride on the river was great too. I think it if family operated. The staff is friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebparks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swampscott
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an enchanted place. The magnificent sunsets melting over iridescent pink cliffs, the dreamy green Colorado River meandering by your room...a view so mesmerizing that if you let it, it will captivate you for hours and touch your soul in a way that no other place will. Sunrise or sunset, you'll find yourself communing with others from lands near and far, equally captivated, souls equally touched. Take the horseback ride in Professor Canyon lead by a real live cowboy named Joe, a young ranchhand profoundly committed to his chosen lifestyle. Listen as he imparts his passion for the range, the animals, the people, the art of cowboy poetry.... you'll never think about John Wayne or Brokeback Mountain in the same way again. .A beautiful vineyard attached to the property with a not so bad selection of local varietals and a pleasant wine tasting. A hot tub area to soak away your aches from hiking Arches and Canyonlands... and a lovely pool surrounded by an expanse so breathtaking and unique that it nicely competes with the beauty of my craggy New England coast ..OK so, be prepared for a Port Authority feel with the busloads of seniors coming and going..and be prepared for the yucky water, disgustingly stinky and tasting like salt...maybe you'll never feel clean there..but we learned there is a problem with the water in Castle Valley and as for the buses..get used to them, they're worse in Zion and Bryce..The beauty of this place makes up for the glitches. 'Red Cliff's owner, Colin, has created a masterpiece of a property, lovingly selecting his staff - Gloria and all of the gracious ladies at the front desk, ready to help, advise, listen to you complain... We ran around Moab so much that we forgot to eat at their dining room - it looked great and we wanted to ..but we had heady plans, opting for Sorrel Ranch, the glitzier resort down the street on 128 - a undeservingly pompous, bad food restaurant..our biggest mistake in two weeks in Utah where the eats were phenomenal in other locations. The trip advisor reviews hooked us into staying a week at the magical Red Cliff's Lodge - it was worth every sing penny. NO REVIEW can do this property justice...Just GO!! And takes lots of pictures on your phone so that when you're a little down or slammed by your work a day world, you can remind yourself that this place really does exist and you were there.

Room Tip: Colorado River side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doveydovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing