We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Va
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were on a Tralfagar bus tour of Arches National Park. This place is wonderful. We want to go back. The jet boat ride on the river was great too. I think it if family operated. The staff is friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebparks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,041
    596
    117
    43
    10
See reviews for
918
1,277
68
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swampscott
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an enchanted place. The magnificent sunsets melting over iridescent pink cliffs, the dreamy green Colorado River meandering by your room...a view so mesmerizing that if you let it, it will captivate you for hours and touch your soul in a way that no other place will. Sunrise or sunset, you'll find yourself communing with others from lands near and far, equally captivated, souls equally touched. Take the horseback ride in Professor Canyon lead by a real live cowboy named Joe, a young ranchhand profoundly committed to his chosen lifestyle. Listen as he imparts his passion for the range, the animals, the people, the art of cowboy poetry.... you'll never think about John Wayne or Brokeback Mountain in the same way again. .A beautiful vineyard attached to the property with a not so bad selection of local varietals and a pleasant wine tasting. A hot tub area to soak away your aches from hiking Arches and Canyonlands... and a lovely pool surrounded by an expanse so breathtaking and unique that it nicely competes with the beauty of my craggy New England coast ..OK so, be prepared for a Port Authority feel with the busloads of seniors coming and going..and be prepared for the yucky water, disgustingly stinky and tasting like salt...maybe you'll never feel clean there..but we learned there is a problem with the water in Castle Valley and as for the buses..get used to them, they're worse in Zion and Bryce..The beauty of this place makes up for the glitches. 'Red Cliff's owner, Colin, has created a masterpiece of a property, lovingly selecting his staff - Gloria and all of the gracious ladies at the front desk, ready to help, advise, listen to you complain... We ran around Moab so much that we forgot to eat at their dining room - it looked great and we wanted to ..but we had heady plans, opting for Sorrel Ranch, the glitzier resort down the street on 128 - a undeservingly pompous, bad food restaurant..our biggest mistake in two weeks in Utah where the eats were phenomenal in other locations. The trip advisor reviews hooked us into staying a week at the magical Red Cliff's Lodge - it was worth every sing penny. NO REVIEW can do this property justice...Just GO!! And takes lots of pictures on your phone so that when you're a little down or slammed by your work a day world, you can remind yourself that this place really does exist and you were there.

Room Tip: Colorado River side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doveydovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you spend time in the Moab area, you must stay at the Red Cliffs. The location is exceptional and the road to get there is almost as beautiful...

Rooms are very cosy and comfortable.

A great stay and a strong recommendation !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpent2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, CO
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at Red Cliffs Lodge Nov 16 - Nov 19 for a quick break, relaxation, hiking and peace and quiet. I found that here. I ate at the lodge for two dinners and both were good. The staff was very pleasant to me. I stayed in a king studio on the Colorado River and had deer running by my unit in the am. The room was clean. I could hear and see the river from my ample deck with lounger and seating for four. I also indulged in a spa day at Sorrel River Ranch, 5 minutes down the road. It was a quiet, off season type of feeling but I will definitely return with my family for the semi-dude ranch experience/ambiance without the $$$ of the all-inclusive type resorts.

Room Tip: If you are planning to bring a pet, call ahead, strict pet policy and only 5 pet-allowed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVogele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We began a new family tradition 7 years ago by spending Thanksgiving at Red Cliffs Lodge and enjoying the great Thanksgiving dinner buffet and haven't missed a year since. The food is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff does a great job. The rooms are always clean and ready at check in and they do a great job of keeping them up during the stay. We also enjoy the beautiful, remote setting and the quick access to Moab with all of the shops and dining opportunities as well as Arches, Canyonlands, etc. In our opinion this is the best base camp when visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dauntles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our third visit - this time a cabin with two bedrooms rather than a unit with two beds as we wanted more space and to ensure that we had a view of the river. There is nothing more I can say apart from it is magical - the location (and drive to it) is stunning, eating out on the terrace good food with good views, breakfast is friendly and varied, the accommodation is clean, rustic and well-appointed. Staff have always been friendly. The gym equipment is a bit dated but, to be honest, if you are there you really should be out enjoying other things than a treadmill! I will recommend again and again and again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mademoiselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

With a room situated right on the Colorado River facing the red-walled canyons, it's hard not to love Red Cliffs Lodge. We went horseback riding on the trails that John Wayne himself rode on in his many movies and visited the museum. They have an outdoor pool, hot tub, and a workout room. I highly suggest getting out of bed after midnight to look up at the sky. The stars are magnificent. A continental breakfast would have given this lovely place a perfect score from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VB_Local_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
716 reviews
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,325 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing