We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful lodge in a beautiful setting”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed three nights while exploring Arches National Park and surrounding area. The back patio of our room offered an outstanding view of the Colorado river and Two Sisters Mesas. We enjoyed the daily drive to Moab and the Arches National Park along the splendid Colorado river canyon. Because one of us was not feeling great, we fixed many of our meals in the room and housekeeping richly deserved a tip for keeping everything tidy, including washing dishes. The lodge restaurant where we ate one night offers great food and good service. Packaged lunch are available and a great convenience while exploring this beautiful area. The property is showing its age a bit but would still be my top recommendation in the Moab area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,859 - 1,865 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for our anniversary. Great views, very friendly staff, good atmosphere. Lovely grounds and great waterfront views. Surrounded by spectaculars red rock formations. A little out of the way but great if you want to really get away. WiFi available.

Room Tip: Get the riverfront view. It is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I visited Moab, Utah in May 2012. We stayed a couple of nights at the Hampton Inn in town (nice but typical chain hotel), and four nights at Red Cliffs Lodge. We both loved Red Cliffs lodge, had a river side room two nights and a creek side room or two nights. Both were lovely. It was nice to have a patio to sit out and enjoy the beautiful setting. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnieb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here one night as part of a coach tour and all 52 of us were upgraded to riverfront cabins which are fabulous! The cabins are all along the Colorado river away from the main part of the lodge so they feel quite secluded. The cabin itself was very spacious and comfortable, very large bedroom complete with a spa bath as well as a separate bathroom with shower and toilet plus a large kitchen/dining room. There is also a large patio area off the kitchen where you can sit and watch the Colorado river rush past and gaze at the beautiful red cliffs.

Free wifi is available in the cabin to catch up with family and friends while you are travelling. I ordered the Fillet Mignon and a glass of their red wine for dinner at the restaurant and it was my best meal on tour by far. The steak was tender and delicious. It is a big meal so I battled to get through it and no room for sweets.

Breakfast the next morning was very busy as I think there must have been multiple coach groups staying there. The layout seemed a bit disjointed and confusing but there were plenty of choices on offer and the staff did their best to try and keep up with the demand. I found all staff I came across, including the man collecting luggage who helped me get back into my room when I locked myself out, to be very helpful and friendly. My only regret was that we were only there one night and I would love to return with my husband one day and stay for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winelover045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the cabins along the river. It was quite a hike to the main lodge, bu the cabins were very spacious and comfortable. It was a little hot and we didn't have much time to enjoy sitting on the full sized deck looking over the Colorado River, but it would have been great another time of year.

We used the pool, went horseback riding, went rafting and hiking at the nearby Arches National Park. Loved the museum in the main lodge of the memorable movies filmed in the area. The scenery was amazing. The stables and staff there were awesome. We opted for a short ride and it was just enough fun. Love how the stable hands put us in the mood with hats, bandanas and riding packs for our water. The horses were well behaved and gentle.

Our meals were great in the main lobby. Dinner out on the deck was very nice, lunch near the river was fun and Sunday brunch was great! There were large private rooms our group used that were quiet and very accommodating.

I took a look around at the other room configurations at the resort and was very pleased. They were all suites with either a King or two beds on the level you entered and then there were a few steps down into a sitting area with a couch, table and chairs and a counter with a small refidgerator and microwave. Sliding glass doors opened to a nice patio either over looking a small brook or the Colorado River.

All in all it was a very nice spread out resort with family touches and hospitality.

Room Tip: If you want a large cabin, you will be away from the main lobby. If you have a car with you, this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sshaheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were genuinely impressed with our stay at Red Cliffs Lodge this spring 14 miles upstream from Moab on the Colorado River. The creek-side Queen suite included an ample bedroom and two steps down, a small kitchen area equipped with under-counter refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. Basic utensils were also provided. There was also a small patio facing Castle Creek that was remarkably private. The well water on the premises is extremely hard, so an extra faucet on the bathroom and kitchen sinks provided reverse-osmosis filtered water for drinking. The accommodations were airy and spacious. My primary criticism would be that the room felt very dark. All of the walls are painted in a bold color and perhaps even one white wall might have made the space a little lighter. Although WiFi is provided, we were unable to get out computers to connect and ended up using the hard-wired connection that was also provided. Because of our stay early in the season, the pool was not open and we did not try the hot spa.
Another person in our party rented one of the riverside two bedroom cabins. The two bedrooms were connected by a shared bathroom and the main sitting area had a gas fireplace as well as a kitchen arrangement similar to the Queen suites. The deck overlooking the Colorado River was spacious and relatively private. While sitting out there enjoying our morning coffee, we spotted three big horn sheep making their way down to the river for a drink on the other side before heading back up the cliff side. Unlike the Queen suite, the cabins were light and airy due to the large windows and sliding door out to the deck on the riverside. We also encountered no problems with the WiFi in the cabin.
In addition, the lodge has a restaurant on site. We approached the restaurant with some trepidation fearing that being a semi-captive clientele, there might not be a lot of motivation for providing good food. We need not have worried. The dinners we had were generally excellent. Among the appetizers, we loved the scallops. We requested extra rolls (excellent, fresh baked, even if not home-made) just to lap up the sauce. The lamb chops with a creamy mushroom sauce had a hint of chipotle that gave it an interesting zing. The various steaks we tried were juicy, delicious, and perfectly cooked as was the pork chop with the pineapple salsa. The fish we tried were not quite as successful: the tilapia needed something more to jazz up the relatively bland fish and the granola-encrusted salmon got lost in the granola flavor. For the vegetarians, the lasagna was stuffed with spinach, peppers, and zucchini, although the marinara sauce was a little pedestrian. We indulged in a few desserts including coffee flan, tiramisu, and Bavarian chocolate mousse. They were all excellent.
To round things out, there is also a winery on the grounds of the Lodge. All of the wines were eminently drinkable and reasonably priced in the ten-dollar range. Our favorites were the Chardonnay among the whites and the Outlaw Red (primarily a syrah) among the reds. Who would have expected decent wine in the Theocracy of Utah? We came home with two cases.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are a family of five and we stayed for three nights l'astre summer. The rooms are very confortable with a nice view on the Collorado river. We also tried the restaurant : a splendid terrasse where you can enjoy the view. You even can enjoy a wine tasting experience at the winery. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#7 of 37 in Moab
764 reviews
9.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,414 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $127 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing