We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a motel by it's external cover”
Review of Silver Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver Sage Inn
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Moab
brisvegas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't judge a motel by it's external cover”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had some trepidation pulling up at the Silver Sage after booking online. Ben behind the counter was extremely helpful and friendly and did everything possible to make our stay in Moab a good one. The rooms were really clean, a little dated but for the price was wonderful. Rooms had a bar fridge and microwave which as an Australian is usually standard but lacking in the US. Also had a coffee maker. The cleaners were AMAZING as the room was spotless when we returned after a day's activities.
The air conditioner was a little noisy but cooled us just fine in summer temperatures.
Honestly, if you are in Moab, spending time in a motel room is the last thing you would want to do so the Silver Sage was perfect for our stay and very reasonably priced.
A word of warning, there were several people trying to get a room after 8pm and it was all booked out. If you plan to visit Arches for sunset, make sure you book somewhere in Moab to come back to. Apparently September is crazy.

Room Tip: call ahead to book rather than relying on availability after a day in the NPs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soozebrizvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
33
105
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Weber, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a decently priced hotel during the high summer season. It wasn't fancy but it was clean, smelled okay, the AC worked fine and the people were friendly. If you don't book early for summer in Moab you don't have a lot of choice but this was a nice choice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurprisingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I (50 something) stayed here three nights while visiting Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. The room was extremely clean. The in-window AC had a remote so if you wanted to change settings at night you didn’t have to get up and fumble around. It is an older motel and the rooms were smaller than most chains, but it had a large closet, a dresser and table and chairs. The bed was very comfortable. The rates were far better than most in town and should be booked by phone or on their website if you want the best deal. Ben, the owner/host, was amazing. He was a wealth of information about the area and places to eat. When we booked he only had the a queen bed available for two nights and we would have to move the third to a double/double, but by the time the third night rolled around, he informed us we would not have to change rooms. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernonia, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I made a 2 night reservation based on reviews I'd read here. My husband and I arrived and were very concerned by the outside appearance, but didn't want to rush to a snap judgment.

Don't get me wrong, I don't mind an old motel, and actually booked several for this trip, but this was very sad. The halls are smelly and dirty. The room was musty and very humid.
I wasn't expecting a 3 star hotel, but definately not what was there.

I checked out , paying for the night, and moved to another hotel for the night and found yet another for our second night here in Moab.

They were kind enough to not charge us for the second night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As others have already stated, this motel is perfect as an affordable and centrally-located place to stay while you enjoy the area in and around Moab. We spent the majority of our time on the Jeep trails during the day and wandering the town at night, so we really just needed a bed and a shower. The rates were very reasonable and the customer service was outstanding. While the rooms are not fancy, ours was very clean and had nice amenities such as a mini refrigerator, microwave, and free WiFi (that was also fast and reliable). If you're looking for a good value with no frills and good service, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David80129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Let me start by saying if your looking for the Four Seasons, this is not the place.But if your looking for an affordable place thats located 2 minutes from downtown,10 minutes from Arches and a manager that bends over backwards to help you on your trip,then you found your place! The rooms are well kept,but small, but it has great A/C for the hot weather, a Frig and nice bathrooms. We could walk to several restaurants and stores.We were able to drive back and forth to Arches very easily,which was fantastic! And the icing on the cake was the manager Ben.He would do his best to answer any question you had,if he couldn't answer your question,he would do a search to try and help you! if you come to Moab,this is a great place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamicjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

"Perfect cheap comfortable accommodation for 2 days exploring the very close by Arches National Park.

The owner was very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. He gave us rags to clean our car across the street, and recommended some places for dinner etc.

The room was very clean and tidy, the bathrooms could do with a refit but everything worked, just looked a little dated.

One little moan was the air con unit, unfortunately during our stay we were in the middle of a heat wave, and the aircon unit was very very loud. bring earplugs!

BUT for the price, we were more than comfortable."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samdixey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#20 of 35 in Moab
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
1.1 mi away
Bowen Motel
Bowen Motel
#17 of 35 in Moab
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Virginian Motel
The Virginian Motel
#21 of 35 in Moab
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sage Inn

Property: Silver Sage Inn
Address: 840 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2961
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moab's affordable Inn located on Main Street and right down the block from the popular Moab Brewery. 5 minutes to Arches National Park and the Colorado river. 45 minutes to Canyonalands National Park and Deadhorse State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sage Hotel
Silver Sage Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing