We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Must do”
Review of RedRock Astronomy

RedRock Astronomy
Ranked #33 of 96 things to do in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss your opportunity to view Moab and the surrounding area in its unique dark sky setting. SEE the stars & planets as you have never seen them before! COME ALONG with Alex as he shows you faraway galaxies, glittering star clusters, nebulae, & other breathtaking celestial sights with his high-powered telescopes and learning tools. Groups from 2-40, young & old alike, can share in this spectacular stargazing experience. Daytime solar viewing also available.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is a Must do”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I can not say enough about the wonderful tour of the night sky we had with Red Rock Astronomy. When you are on top of a Mesa and can see the night sky from horizon to horizon 360 degrees all the way around in its full beauty and the adventure of learning about the night sky hasnt even started yet... you know if is gong to be wonderful. Ale was Amazing! So very well spoken. You can truly tell that he loves what he does. His knowledge is amazing. He did fabulous teaching in a way that both the kids and adults could relate to. He was good with the people who already had a good knowledge of the sky and those that didn't. We saw nebulas and constellations, planets and galaxies, we heard interesting stories and left with a noggin full of information a vision full of beauty and a thirst for more. Moab may be full of many exhilarating fast paced dangerous activities that keep your heart pumping... but this will keep your heart and mind pumping for days. Go see Alex. You wont be sorry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clogan0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    16
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Alex awed eight of us last night with his presentation and hands-on night sky viewing just inside the Canyonlands Park. This inexpensive adventure would be great for folks of all ages. You will be affirmed in some things that you learned in school AND you will understand more deeply this vast universe in which we live. Give Alex a call...he is the real deal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
1 review
“redrock astronomy is awesome!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Alex Ludwig is so entertaining and so knowledgeable. We had so much fun and learned so much as well. His telesope (light bucket) is very high tech and made for a once in a lifetime experience. I hope to be a repeat customer on my next visit to moab. What a great guy. so funny! he is delightful! It was a cool night and the solar heated blankets were wonderful!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern area of PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alex is amazing and really draws you in”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Alex loves the sky and even better he loves to share it with his guests. Not your usual astronomy lesson, he shows and tells the stories between and behind the constellations. He shares some of his Native heritage with guests. Dress warmly! IIt can get cold even with the blankets that he provides.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rollerbladerover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was one of my favorite activies in Utah. Alex was extremely knowledgeable and eagerly explained what he knew. He did not explain constellations at all, but showed us other galaxies, nebula, planets and other interesting things. I was really bummed when it was over as I wanted to see more. I wholeheartedly recommend this excursion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RedRock Astronomy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing