We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Easy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Apache Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apache Motel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap & Easy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very old motel rooms desperately in need of repair and updates. However, it's probably the cheapest you'll find in Moab w/o being a total nasty dive. If you aren't picky and can get past bathroom doors that don't shut quite right, loose shower handles, and years of built-up dust in the nooks and crannies, this is your place! I found the bed to be too firm, but to each his own.The front desk staff was very nice and helpful in finding good restaurants and attractions. The outdoor pool was refreshing but needed to be treated w/ chlorine. I think the housekeepers did an excellent job with what they had to work with. Their claim to fame is that John Wayne stayed there...I can believe it...and can also believe that some of the dirt from his boots is still in the carpet (ha ha ha).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BelleFemme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    72
    39
    30
See reviews for
66
102
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

In a residential location right off the 191 this place is perfect for home base to your outdoor Moab adventures
Rooms are pretty "motel" standard but clean
Heated pool and free light breakfast
Pet friendly too
It was perfect for us

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDF2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed out stay at the Apache Motel. It was somewhat dated, yet very clean and comfortable. The location is convenient to shops and restaurants. The motel as easy to find and driving in and out was easy. It is on a quiet street. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geokugle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I hate leaving negative reviews (as you'll hopefully see from all my previous reviews), but I really struggled to think of anywhere I've stayed that was in poorer condition than the Apache.

Room, although cleaned and serviced by the nice, friendly maid daily, has a really strong musty odour that we couldn't shift, shower taps were literally hanging off the wall, loads of different coloured paint/stains on the walls and the mirror still had the wee love notes from a previous visitor clearly visible whenever we took a shower - it clearly hadn't been cleaned for a while, which doesn't inspire much confidence in the rest of the upkeep.

Location is good, it's a short 5-10 min walk into the heart of Moab (which is great), and is in a quiet part of town.

Breakfast we didn't bother with and instead nipped to the several local bakeries and caves in town.

The fridge in the rooms was handy, and appreciated but overall the place is really in dire need of a good scrubbing and a great deal of TLC to bring it up to standard.

It was mobbed every night we stayed, so it's not as if they're short of business either...

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay here, upstairs rooms were quieter, but really - I'd look elsewhere, I really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

Iowa
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

You won't find any cheap deals in Moab Utah, at least in late May! Even the OLD motels/hotels from the 1950's charge $95 to $110! Not what I'd expect. The room was dated, by far, and need some TLC. The pool ended up being fine, again some TLC and some new chairs and paint would help a lot. Friendly kind staff and the place got quiet early enough. They say John Wayne stayed here while doing filming as did other actors. Cool old sign outside, its off the main drag on the 'old' highway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGluvsMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The romantic notion of staying where John Wayne stayed...pass on it. Only update to this place since Duke camped out here is the AC/Heat unit, which was good. Worn, dirty orange(!) carpet, queen headboard on king bed, mismatched furniture made to provide chest of drawers. Expensive also, although I suspect Moab properties offer no value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enondoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Maybe this motel wouldn't be for everyone, but we loved it. Yes, it is an older motel but the room was large with everything we needed, including microwave, refrigerator, and a clean comfortable bed. The location was within two bocks of the main street but on a quiet side street. We would definitely return. Our only complaint is that coffee isn't available until 7:00 and there was no coffee pot in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadydomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.6 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Landmark Inn
0.3 mi away
The Virginian Motel
The Virginian Motel
#22 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#27 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Horn Lodge
Big Horn Lodge
#18 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silver Sage Inn
Silver Sage Inn
#25 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apache Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Motel

Property: Apache Motel
Address: 166 S 400 E, Moab, UT 84532-2628
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Apache Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Apache Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apache Hotel Moab
Apache Motel Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing