We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty rooms, cold pool, poorly maintained ... a big disappointment”
Review of Big Horn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Horn Lodge
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms, cold pool, poorly maintained ... a big disappointment”
Reviewed July 30, 2007

One of the dirtiest motels we have experienced ... ever ... and we're not hypersensitive. The carpet was inexcusably filthy -- brushed my hand on the carpet and it came up coated with a black grime. The bathroom was in disrepair. The drapes -- I didn't even dare get too close to them as they looked like they hadn't been cleaned since being hanged in the '80s.

OK, so we tried to keep a good attitude and went with the kids to the "heated" pool. Cold, un-heated pool, not especially clean.

Bright spot -- the staff was very friendly -- but that could not overcome the poor condition of the motel. I am surprised this is AAA approved.

  • Liked — Nice staff
  • Disliked — Unclean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenevaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    191
    108
    38
    10
See reviews for
102
174
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

The Big Horn Lodge was exactly what our party of three active adults needed for four full days of intense sports in Moab: inexpensive, clean, well-located and with very friendly/helpful staff. There is an
excellent breakfast restaurant next door and a sports-gear store across the street. This is certainly not a luxury hotel, but it should fit the needs of most on-the-go visitors to Moab. The Big Horn
was recommended to me by two people and I have already reserved a room for another trip later this year.

  • Liked — Value, cleanliness and staff.
  • Disliked — Rooms could be better lighted, but...who stays in their hotel room in Moab?!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western N.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The room itself was standard and very acceptable although the bathroom was tiny. Very clean. Our particular room was noisy. The icemaker was outside the room and we heard every bucket of ice that was filled. The customers in the room above us partied with loud music until the wee hours of the morning. The room was a little difficult to keep cool as the morning sun hit the room full force and the temp rose to 104 each of the three days that we were there. However, the price was right and the fridge and large TV made it worth it. Would not stay there again. Would try another option.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmomWesternN_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We arrived in Moab on a very hot morning in June. The temperature was 101 degrees and we were having trouble with our car's air conditioner. We saw the Big Horn Lodge and pulled in. The lady at the desk was very sympathetic and told us we could check in immediately, even though all the rooms had not been cleaned. She assigned us one of the clean rooms, and we went in. It was wonderful! They had set the air conditioner on high cool, had the overhead fans running, and had placed an extra fan in the room! The room was spotless. We had the convenience of a refrigerator so we could put some drinks in to cool. The lady was very knowledgable about the local activities and the places we needed to go. She also advised us on useful ways to combat the heat. If we ever go back to Moab, we will surely stay at the Big Horn Lodge!

  • Liked — Helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We happened upon Big HOrn by chance and almost didnt get a room. Then they had a cancellation and what a great exp. I have a crawling little one and the place was SO CLEAN from top to bottom. Simple, perfect for overnite, whatever! Polite staff, best place I ever spent, better than some resorts!!!!!

  • Liked — Clean clean clean clean clean
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Very nice hotel. The room size was bigger than the average hotel. Prices were reasonable. There is a good restaurant next to the hotel which made it very convenient.
Perfect location-close to Arches National Park, Canyonlands and many more outdoor adventures. Cleaning service was good except for the one day we did not have any. Overall I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank adrenlinejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Big Horn Lodge the nights of 5/2-5/3. We found the accomodations very nice and the rooms were clean and fresh. We also enjoyed our breakfasts at the resturanunt. At both the lodge and resturanunt the employees were cheerful and cooperative. One person really stood out and that was the front desk girl Katherine. From our booking over the phone through our arrival and departure she was great! She is a great asset to your business because her interactions with customers give a very good first impression. I should know about customer relations since i taught business and marketing in addtion to running my own business.Keep up the great work.
Larry

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryHDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
1.1 mi away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#2 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#24 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Lodge

Property: Big Horn Lodge
Address: 550 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Lodge Located in downtown Moab, just minutes from Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The lodge features log furniture, rustic interiors with Mexican tile, in a southwest style, Coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators in every room. The heated Pool is open in season. Pet rooms are available. The Moab Grill Restaurant is on site, serving 3 meals, 7 days a week, with beer and wine service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Big Horn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Moab
Big Horn Motel
Big Horn Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing