We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good room for the price”
Review of Big Horn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Horn Lodge
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good room for the price”
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed at the Big Horn Lodge for two nights last November while in Moab to hike at Arches National Park. Our room was clean, quiet and the decor was simple and attractive. And the rate was quite low - $49 a night. We are going back to Arches again this November and I will likely book this motel again.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westernhauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    192
    111
    38
    11
See reviews for
103
179
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were larger than we expected and had plenty of room for our mountain bikes.

The room was clean and included a fridge and microwave.

The best part was the location. Near downtown and many eating establishments, as well as two local grocery stores.

There was some construction going on main street, but it didn't bother us much, as we were out of the motel early and didn't return until after the crews had gone home for the night.

  • Liked — Location to downtown and eating establishments.
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rik_mave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Nice motel in downtown Moab. Well appointed and spacious room, nice amenities, towels and very clean. Small pool but nice chairs and lot's of towels. Very conveniently located in Moab.

  • Liked — Nice location - reasonable rates
  • Disliked — Like every motel in town it's on the main street
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

While on our month long honeymoon roadtrip, us islanders really enjoyed Moab and this motel. As you can imagine a month long trip in which you shipped your own vehicle for usage can add up quickly so we were trying to make good choices in accommodations. I am naturally a bit leary of motels but this one totally served our purpose. We weren't at the motel much but the room we had was great. It had that lodge feel. It was cool, very important on those hot August days. The staff was nice. We'd go there again. The price was perfect. We were happy there was an inroom microwave.

We loved Arches. It was one of my highlights even now 2.5 years later. Arches is one of the best National Parks ever and the little town of Moab made the perfect stop after long days on the road. I cannot wait to visit Moab/Arches again and I would definitely put Big Horn Lodge on our list of places to stay, unless next time we go we can afford to splurge.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alohawahineMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

The Big Horn Lodge has always provided me an excellent room at highly competitive prices for Moab, Utah.

Even better than the quality of the rooms is the courtesy of the Big Horn Lodge's staff. Many hotel's are courteous while you're staying with them as is the staff of the Big Horn Lodge, but on 2 occasions, they have offered to put me on a waiting list when they were booked during the time of my desired reservation, and to my surprise, both times they called me when a room became available. I've only had a couple of hotels even offer to call me if a room became available, but none have ever actually done so because I believe it's too easy to appear courteous by offering to do so, but not follow through with the hassle of a waiting list when the hotel staff and/or management know they'll be able to book the room for probably more money on the day of the newly canceled vacancy.

Nice, clean, affordable, and ethical. A gem in Moab, Utah.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank csjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt lake city, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Big Horn was the cheapest place we could find on line and we certainly got what we paid for. I will for sure spot the extra money next time and stay at a better place. The beds were aweful. I could feel the springs just by running my hands over the bed with a small bit of pressure. I woke up with aching hips from sleeping on my side on their aweful mattresses. The place had very poor lighting and the bathroom was super super small. It appeared clean but when I let my 14 month old take her shoes off to walk around her feet were black within about 15 minutes. The carpet was so grose that none of us would walk on it without our shoes on. The room was also very smelly when we first arrived so we had to keep the door open for a while. We will not be back.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoy2travel2paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We stayed in Moab for one night in order to visit Arches National Park. The Big Horn Lodge was perfect for us. Here are the reasons: Friendly staff, clean and well-equiped rooms, decor that made us feel like we were in a cabin, AND reasonable prices.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
788 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.8 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
0.1 mi away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#24 of 34 in Moab
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Lodge

Property: Big Horn Lodge
Address: 550 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Lodge Located in downtown Moab, just minutes from Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The lodge features log furniture, rustic interiors with Mexican tile, in a southwest style, Coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators in every room. The heated Pool is open in season. Pet rooms are available. The Moab Grill Restaurant is on site, serving 3 meals, 7 days a week, with beer and wine service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Horn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Moab
Big Horn Motel
Big Horn Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing