We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical motor lodge”
Review of Big Horn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Horn Lodge
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Paris, France
Level Contributor
523 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Practical motor lodge”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a classic two-story motor lodge next to the main road. It has a few miles under the hood but works OK, without sparkles... Best feature is the outdoor pool which grown-ups and kids will enjoy after a hot day in Arches NP. The motel is also close to shopping and waling distance to a couple of family diners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate your review, we hope you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to Moab in the near future. We would love to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    191
    108
    38
    10
See reviews for
102
174
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The wood paneling gives a rustic feel to the place. Our room was located on the ground level and made it pretty easy to load and unload the vehicle. Comfortable room that provided a good sleep after a day of hiking at Arches. Hotel provide coupons for discounts at the adjoining restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Convenient location to restaurants and other services, and a short trip to Arches NP.

Room Tip: Stub wall separates the parking area from the ground floor rooms. The ledge was convenient for stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsnowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for the Big Horn Lodge. We are happy you visited Moab and Arches NP. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we invite you to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsgrove, nj
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - didn't spend a large amount of time in the room as we did long hikes - but were quite satisfied with the accommodations. We had a cat - so put in a "pet room" - but it was clean with no odors. We did notice a slight odor when we put the fan on - but think it came from outside as the area to walk pets was behind our room. Bathroom is VERY tiny! But the sink and vanity area not in there and is roomy! It is a little pricey for what you get (no breakfast or even coffee). Walls are thin, and you can hear the tv from the next room, but with the fan on - it was fine. The room is very rustic looking and goes with the area. If we got a good price, would stay there again. The front desk personnel were helpful enough - not overly so, but ok.

Room Tip: I would probably try to get a 2nd floor room so the smell from the "pet walk" area didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emplpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay while visiting Moab. We do offer discounted rates periodically through the season, when you visit again just ask us at the time of your reservation if we have a special and many times we do. We do offer coffee in our rooms and also at the front desk in the mornings, we are sorry to hear you didn't know about that service we would have be happy to help. We invite you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a popular place for Jeepers, 4 wheelers and bikers (motorcycles) to stay while they are in Moab so I thought it was going to be party central. However, we had a room in the center on the first floor and our first thought was that it would be noisy with all the people traffic. I was pleasantly surprised to have a quiet sleep both nights we were there. The rooms aren't anything special, but they have what you need and they are clean! If we need to be on the main drag where we can walk to most everything, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get an end room away from the busy entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlerMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We hope you will visit Moab again and we invite you to stay with us on your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Rooms were ok, but noisy. Smoking outside of the rooms could filter in. Walls were thin and we had to listen to neighbors talk and argue for much of the night. No breakfast, no coffee in the small reception area. Poor parking availability. Traffic could be heavy and it was inconvenient to go to the neighboring National Parks. Very poor value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay was not what you expected. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Your concerns are very important to us. Our lobby area has coffee and tea available in the morning from 6 am to 11 am and the restaurant next door does service a reasonable breakfast. We also have discount coupons for the Moab Grill next door for breakfast and Dinner. We appreciate your review and hope you will visit Moab again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We Stayed two nights at the Big Horn Lodge and can say, "it was not memorable." The room was fine. It was clean and large which is the most important thing in a room, but no frills. A couple of small spiders were found the second night, but we were there to hike and not spend time in our room. At the end of the day, it sufficed as a clean place to sleep.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an average room, you found it. There are some decend restaurants within walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertA931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay was not what you were expecting. We appreciate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you, we hope it will not keep you from visiting Moab again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My son and I were recently on a trip to the west. I made many of the reservations myself and also used the services of the National Park Service for reservations when we were able to. As it turns out the week-end we were in Moab, Utah it was difficult to find a room because it was the annual Car Show in Moab for the whole week-end. We stayed at Big Horn Lodge on Main Street in Moab - a reservation made by the Park Service. We were unable to stay there a second night because the hotel was booked solid for the week-end. I am really glad we could not stay there another night. Our room was on the ground floor (very noisy since people were up late and up early the next morning for the Car Show. There was no breakfast included. Cleanliness was average, size of room was small. I would not recommend this hotel and am surprised the National Park Service and AAA have this hotel on their list of acceptable places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are so sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. The Annual Car Show is a very busy time for all businesses in Moab it is always held the last Friday and Saturday Night in April. People from all over the country come to this event. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had. We hope it did not affect your vacation in Moab and hope you will visit Moab again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
1.1 mi away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#2 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#24 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Lodge

Property: Big Horn Lodge
Address: 550 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Lodge Located in downtown Moab, just minutes from Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The lodge features log furniture, rustic interiors with Mexican tile, in a southwest style, Coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators in every room. The heated Pool is open in season. Pet rooms are available. The Moab Grill Restaurant is on site, serving 3 meals, 7 days a week, with beer and wine service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Big Horn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Moab
Big Horn Motel
Big Horn Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing