We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great People”
Review of Big Horn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Horn Lodge
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great People”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had an extremely nice stay at the Big Horn Lodge while in Moab. Friendly staff, clean rooms, clean pool. Great Diner next door. Close to all of the excursion locations. Loved Big Horn and Loved MOAB. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We are so happy to hear you LOVED your stay and and your visit to Moab! We hope you will be back soon and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    192
    111
    38
    11
See reviews for
103
179
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Got into Moab as the temperature in our car read 116 degrees. Was greeted by 2 very pleasant young ladies who took care of my reservations efficiently, giving me a map of the area and told me to make sure to come back if I had any more questions. As soon as I opened the room, a blast of cold air hit me, which was a welcomed relief! The thermostat read 60 degrees and felt wonderful after a such a long drive. The room was on the small side for the 3 of us and would have liked to have more room for our suitcases but that said, we weren't in the room all that long-mostly just to sleep. The bathroom was small, just a toilet and tub but the sink is outside of the bathroom so we just took turns getting ready.
Our rate was very reasonable compared to the chain hotels in town and the location is right in the middle of town on the main drag. For a small family or a single traveler, these accomodations are very appropriate. The place was clean, location was excellent. My son and granddaughter enjoyed the pool in the late afternoon. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie_Hech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing the positive experience you had with us. We appreciate your efforts to post a review for us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in Moab. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stopped here on route to Park City for a conference. The staff are welcoming, the room was spotless as was the bathroom. There was no smell anywhere - even the smokers who smoked outside on the landings weren't a bother. When I checked out I realized that my AAA discount hadn't been applied, so the receptionist took care of it and I actually got some money back! I would definitely stay here again and warmly recommend it to anyone who needs a reasonably priced, clean and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the pool. There are fewer parking spaces there and therefore less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janziff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy you had a good experience when you stayed with us, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have been staying at the Big Horn Lodge in summer for several months at a time over the past several years. My room is clean, comfortable, and if there are any maintenance issues they are
attended to promptly. The staff is very friendly and attentive. They watch over me like family. The location is perfect: After one returns from the desert, one can walk everywhere in town and leave the vehicle. And if you have your bicycle, you can ride down Kane Road on the Colorado River, and leave your vehicle in the parking lot again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. We have really enjoyed having you. Hope you get to come visit again next summer. See ya then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Big Horn Lodge July 2-5 and it was a very comfortable place to stay. I'm an uptown girl who likes to get away from it all and have rugged adventures. I'm picky about cleanliness, convenience etc in hotels so listen up....all the negative reviews about the Big Horn in Moab are bogus. The room was nice and clean, with no weird hotel odors, and conveniently located in the heart of Moab. It is the BEST value in town!! I am accustomed to staying in 5 star hotels but when you go to Moab, you don't exactly need 5 star accommodations. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzettestokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for all your kind words about our motel. We appreciate the time you took to write a review about your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I'm a happy camper if the room is clean, comfortable and close to other attractions. Big Horn Lodge fit the bill nicely. The refrigerator was a VERY welcome feature for keeping drinks cold during the hot summer weather. Didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it looked inviting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hpvrace323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review, we really appreciate it. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Big Horn Lodge and also your time while in Moab. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have been to Moab multiple times over the last few years. I prefer staying at locally owned motels that are more on the cheap side. I have written reviews for 2 other motels in Moab that I really like. I can now add Big Horn Lodge to my list of places to stay in Moab. I read some of the previous reviews before booking, and they seemed kind of harsh. Yes, one of the walls is an entire window, but we didn't find that off-putting or intrusive. Yes, the air-conditioner is in the bathroom area, but it still cooled the whole room great (it was close to 100 degrees outside when I was there). One unique feature is the ceiling fan. It was awesome! We didn't even have to have the AC on during the night. Yes, the walls are a little thin, but the motel was completely booked and we weren't disturbed by anyone all night. I loved the interior decor, the bed was really comfortable, and there was plenty of room. We checked-in and checked-out with ease and the front office staff were really helpful and nice. All in all a great weekend trip!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JillieBean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and added us to your list of hotels to stay in while visiting Moab. We hope your travels bring you back to Moab and the Big Horn Lodge real soon. Thank you again for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.8 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
0.1 mi away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#25 of 34 in Moab
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Lodge

Property: Big Horn Lodge
Address: 550 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Lodge Located in downtown Moab, just minutes from Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The lodge features log furniture, rustic interiors with Mexican tile, in a southwest style, Coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators in every room. The heated Pool is open in season. Pet rooms are available. The Moab Grill Restaurant is on site, serving 3 meals, 7 days a week, with beer and wine service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Horn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Moab
Big Horn Motel
Big Horn Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing