We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spanish Trail RV Park
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This park is a few miles south of downtown Moab and is right on busy highway 191 so there will be constant road noise. The sites in back have much less noise but you lose the view, so it’s a tradeoff on what you want. A smooth gravel road leads to level gravel sites with grass yards, picnic tables, and a concrete walkway outside your door. Most campsites are long and wide enough to accommodate a big rig but you will have to unhook your toad. Tall Cottonwood trees are between each pull- thru sites making it challenging to get a clear sky for your satellite. Sprint phone and 3G work well as did the parks free WIFI. Bathrooms and laundry were very clean, staff was friendly and helpful. If you get in late there is a very nice restaurant you can walk to just across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 158 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

Location: Close enough to town to be convenient. Less than 10 miles to the entrance of Arches NP and about 1/2 and hour to Canyonlands NP. Easy on and off from the highway. Gas/Diesel conveniently available across the street.

Cost: a bit pricey but nice full hook up sites in a well maintained park (approx $50 per night). nice grassy area next to each site (except on the far east side where they appear to allow not only RV parking but also some day parking for trailers full of ATV/UTV vehichles). a tree and picnic table at each site.

Sites: gravel and relatively level. easy pull through even for a huge rig. grassy area and tree at most sites. picnic table at most sites. concrete walkway from back of site to front of site on entrance side helps keep dirt and gravel out of your rig. Space between sites is very small and i found this to make the picnic table pretty useless. it was, however, overcast, cool and windy while we were in town so it was no big deal for me.

Staff: great at check in and when making phone reservations. keep the area very well cleaned and are out several times per day picking up around sites.

Noise: we were in row 4 back from the road and road noise was not bad the first couple days we were there. the noise problem arose when Wednesday came bringing a huge number of ATV/UTV-ers to the area. upon further research it appears there was a rally of some sort in town the end of the week we were there. park management could have done much to reduce the noise problem these folks created. allowing the ATV/UTVs to enter and exit to their sites is fine, but the constant running up and down the rows to and from other's sites in this small park was irritating - as was the fact that this began early each morning and continued into late each night. additionally, we had neighbors arrive late one evening - 10 pm - who took a full hour to set up and hook up all the while slamming doors and yelling to one another. ugh.

Pets: Dogs are allowed but be advised that they do limit the breeds of large dogs allowed on site (their documentation says 'due to insurance reasons'). if you have a large dog you will want to check on these limitations prior to making reservations. Dogwalks are small in the back of the property but there also appears to be a larger field area in front.

Convenience Store: has everything you could possibly want or need for a quick grab. gas/convenience store (Shell) is just across the street as well and there is a well stocked City Market in town for your grocery needs.

We stayed here in 35 ft motorhome and would likely stay again if in the area. Checked out several others but they were all in town or between town and the Arches NP entrance with much more traffic.

Room Tip: if you can get a site a couple rows back (400 or 500) you get less road noise though the 500 row wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssbrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Positives: Efficient desk host. Showers/toilets seemed clean. Ample hot water. (But visitors to the West please take note: We’re in a drought and water is precious.) Grounds/grass/gardens well tended and pleasant. Many tall shade trees. None of the traffic congestion from being close to town. Pets allowed, but we'd left ours at home so can't comment on the experience. Negatives: Our picnic bench was rough with mostly peeling paint so we didn’t use it. Lots of noise from the highway. Generators are not permitted, yet every day of our stay a neighbor used one to power-wash his ATV very early in the morning. On his last day this lasted at least 20 minutes. Management should have sent him to a car wash. But the true low point was an encounter with the weekday male host as we were relaxing outside. He saw our Colorado plates and, as it turned out, was looking for someone who would agree with his political views. One of us escaped to the RV and the other tried to keep things neutral but to no avail: this guy just wanted to argue. We had traveled 8 hours to see the beauty that Utah has to offer and to get away from media and politics. It was a very unpleasant encounter for both of us and a sour ending to an otherwise awe-inspiring day.

Room Tip: If you’re sensitive to traffic noise, request a spot on the west side; maybe other RVs can buffer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shopper514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is an extremely well maintained park. Spotless bathrooms 24/7, very level pull-throughs and neat outdoor spaces. Easy pull-throughs even for long rigs. Nice people. Quiet even though the park is relatively close to the road. Also had good advice for motorcycle rides in the area. Only complaint is the sites are very close together.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a two-day reservation. But when I showed up on the appointed day, was promptly told I did not have a reservation, and that there was no room - though lots of empty spaces. Two days later, I was charged for one day, because I was a "no show". All efforts to clear matter up with the RV park failed. Park manager told me I either went to the wrong park, or just did not show - in effect calling me, my wife, and my 93 year old father in law... liars - and that they will not reimburse my charge. Have never been called a liar by a business before. Would not recommend this park to anyone - EVER!

Room Tip: Avoid this park!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heinz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Spanish Trail RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are sorry you felt you were treated unprofessionally. It is the Parks policy to try to resolve any problem in the most professional manner. You stated we had no reservation for you, nor did we have any sites. We did indeed have you in our computer system, and after the office closed we left a map on the door with instructions on how to get to your site. We would never send a customer to another park if we had sites available, and on this particular day we did have other sites available. Based on the information you gave us, you indicated a lady in her 50’s waited on you around 1:00 pm. This is the reason I asked the question “Is it possible you went to another park” based on the fact that the only employee on duty at the time was a male in his late twenties. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.
Thank You,
Janie Williamson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stay here in Aug on our way back to North Carolina. People at the front desk, I believe her name was Sheryl, was very helpful. She told us about the area and what to visit. She also put us onto some very good restaurant in the area not far from the park. It was pet friendly and had a walk for the dog. The sites were pull thru level, shady and lots of thick green grass, We ended staying 2 days using Passport America. Will definitely will return next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First the good news. The sites are adequate with some grass, picnic table and nice concrete walkway. Easy access even for larger rigs. There is definitely road noise from the highway but not overwhelming. Laundry facilities are adequate although it is like sitting in a sauna. There are signs all around that you can't walk your dog in the park. I'm okay with this since some pet owners aren't as courteous as others. There is a dog run but it consists of a short trail through fine red dust that will require cleaning your pet after each walk. There is a lot of junk in the back of the park that should be cleaned up. Overall, I would rate the park as mediocre.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank JediMaster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
3.4 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
846 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
3.9 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
756 reviews
3.5 mi away
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Trail RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trail RV Park

Address: 2980 S Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-3439
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range: $38 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Also Known As:
Spanish Trail Rv Park And Campground
Spanish Trail Rv Park & Campground Hotel Moab
Spanish Trail RV Park Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing