We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for those who do not spend their vacations at their hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Stone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Stone Inn
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for those who do not spend their vacations at their hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I love this place. A no non-sense front desk attendant who got us checked in in no time. No charge for the pooches. We normally camp, but it was late and colder than we expected, so we drove through town seeking a non-chain, American-owned, mom and pop type place. Yahtzee! The Red Stone is awesome. We had a room with a microwave, fridge and counter. Comfy bed, awesome shower (who loves strong water pressure and hot, hot water after a day of hiking, climbing, and getting dirty? We do!). $45 is very reasonably for 4 of us (two furry ones). If you want some spa-like experience and seeking the hotel, not the grandeur, splendor and plethora of outdoor attractions, there are plenty of those. But if instead you seek simple amenities and a clean, comfy place--Redstone is perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CmAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    163
    113
    33
    21
See reviews for
81
203
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was the best deal on our trip. Friendly, clean, great price and nice staff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviette17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

I was last in Moab 20 years ago, and since then it has become extremely popular as a base to explore the Arches and Canyonlands National parks. Staying in now very overpriced Moab (in terms of quality versus price) is now a necessary evil, if one wants to spend a few days hiking these fabulous places. I was in a small cabin like room with basic amenities and average cleanliness. I understand the demand versus supply equation during peak season, so don't really blame the owners for the pricing, but might suggest a bit of a clean up and rennovation to justify the prices.Interestingly given its popeularity, Moab itself retains a small town feel and has many nice places to eat and hang out within literally walking distance of the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here because it was near my friends house, was cheap, and who really cares? I was out there to rock crawl, and spent very little time in the room, but it was a nice little place, nice little kitchenette, basic room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Book a room here for my wife and I during our Rockies National Park vacation. Room was as advertised, nice and clean although small. If you are going to spend a lot of time in the room look somewhere else, but for a clean quick place to sleep as you spend most of your time in parks go here. The price is reasonable. There is no breakfast but only a short walk to restaurants and groceries along main streets. Hiking in the park - stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMabe_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The rooms are small and "rugged" since they seem to cater to the outdoor crowd, so don't expect any sort of high end amenities or decor. They are akin to dorm rooms. But the bed was comfortable and there was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room and the bathroom was utilitarian. A good deal when compared to the other Moab hotels. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

the title of my blog slash review speaks for itself. this is the place to be critical the proud of however you there were no other options at the time. in general a prices in moab are expensive. the rooms are tiny, sorry, I know that I have no evidence that they are dirty you get that impression. there are very few amenities. I would not stay here nor would I recommend it. nothing personal to the staff or the owner but it just did not feel like a homie place to be.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighttimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Moab
Sleep Inn Moab
#22 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Horn Lodge
Big Horn Lodge
#18 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginian Motel
The Virginian Motel
#19 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rustic Inn
Rustic Inn
#15 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Stone Inn

Property: Red Stone Inn
Address: 535 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Stone Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Stone Inn in Moab is walking distance to restaurants, bars, theaters and shopping. Features include small kitchenettes with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and sink. Picnic tables with a BBQ patio, Hot Tub and Pet Rooms are available. Red Stone Inn is known as Moab's Best Deal and is a favorite with outdoor adventures who return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Stone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Stone Hotel Moab
Red Stone Motel
Red Stone Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing